We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   999 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th Night is Free!
Ranked #38 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Satisfactory stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Great welcoming arrival and check-in. Nice well-renovated room. Nice that all rooms have ocean view. Think was on superior floor with floor to ceiling windows as noticed different layout on other floors.

They did the best job they could with the pool area, but it is severely lacking in comparison to other area 4 star hotels. Long wait to check-out with more unpleasant morning shift.

Did the breakfast buffet and it was quite well presented. Found it odd that charged extra for tea after being asked if I would like coffee or tea with breakfast, while the coffee was included.

The hotel met my expectations and would get a solid 3 1/2 star rating but not a 4 star, unless design is all that counts.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    524
    197
    87
    44
See reviews for
316
620
68
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I stayed a B ocean for a week this July for business I had in Fort Lauderdale and was more than satisfied! Front desk was friendly and eager to help with anything I needed, food, entertainment, ect... Saia, the in house sushi restaurant was to die for. I ended up eating there 3 times during my stay and my hat is off to Chef Chenkosorn, Manager David, and bartender Maxanne. Make sure you try the tamari scallop and the ocean blue roll. I stayed in a single king room on the 6th floor and was greated by the sunrise over the ocean every morning, no obstruction. The B is right across the street from the beach so a daily swim was necessary, with it being July in Florida. I also found that bang for your buck this place won hands down. Similar statured hotels were going for almost twice the money. The only thing I found difficult was the bell staff, they seemed unorganized and sometimes took a while to get your vehicle, but it is a relatively new hotel so give em a break!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We wanted a nice hotel, and so we got! The view from our room was beautiful! We thought that the room was generally of high standard, and the only thing we missed was a fridge. The beds were comfy, the bathroom was very nice and the shower was better than most American hotel showers...

The people working at the front desk were very helful and friendly. We arrived a few hours earlier than expected, but still we got to check in right away. Everybody was welcoming and friendly - even the chambermaids and the people working on maintenance greeted us politely in the hallways.

The hotel is quite new, so the overall standard is high. We found it clean, chic and modern.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

The customer service at this hotel was OVER THE TOP!!!!! The first class service started as soon as I stepped through the front door. Each and every employee's performance within this hotel was STELLAR. The hotel is very clean, chic and colorful. Every room within the hotel has an ocean view! The view of the ocean from the beautiful picture windows in the rooms were EXTRAORDINARY!

Kindly,
Karen Sawyer

P.S. One minor improvement would be to place a mini fridge in each room and a bonus would be to include a microwave.

Room Tip: Ask for a mini fridge for your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

After reading the reviews online and looking at the hotel website, I was very excited to stay there. To say that I was disappointed after arrival is an understatement. The hotel apparently is a refurbished Holiday Inn - what this means is that while the rooms may appear nice and luxurious the same can't be said for the noise. You can hear everything and I mean everything - from the toilets flushing to people talking in the room next to you. Second, the front desk employees are very rude - if you have an issue, comment, question etc. they stare right through you and you just know that you're speaking in vain. Room service, valet, etc. are very helpful though. Third, the pool looks amazing in the pictures - it's not so in real life so just stick to the beach which is just across the street. The restaurant SAIA is nice, but extremely overpriced so if you're looking for a good seafood place go somewhere else. Overall, this hotel tries to be upscale but it's really not. You're much better off staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOceanGM, General Manager at Sonesta Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear Karolinka13,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am very sorry that your experience was not to your satisfaction. My team and I take your feedback serious and are committed to addressing the issues you pointed out. I would very much appreciate if you would give me a call or send me a note regarding the date you stayed and what room you were in so I can address the issues promptly. As for the Restaurant, we frequently update the menu based on our guest feedback. I will ensure your comments are considered with our current menu presentation. Lastly, I am extremely disappointed that your experience with our guest service staff was not outstanding. I will share your comments with my team as a training opportunity. I hope you choose to come back and stay with us again and look forward to hearing back from you. I wish you safe and fulfilling travels.

Kindest Regards,

Joel Darr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

My Husband and I stayed there for a week to celebrate our one year anniversary, we loved the B ocean Hotel and we will differently go back for every anniversary, the rooms are very clean(new) modern style, the staff are very nice and professional!!!!!! the location is great. i will highly recommend it

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

The B is a beautifully done hotel, and their staff was exceptional. The rooms were gorgeous - the beds are Beauty Rest and very comfortable - the view is amazing!! The only downside was in the junior suite - the bathroom was very small with a very narrow shower. The safety rail was right in the middle, and there was hardly enough room to turn around. However, the bathroom in the standard room was much larger. The pool is a nice size; the first-come-first-served cabanas were a very nice touch. The bar was convenient as was the fitness center, and the beach is right across the street! We had the breakfast buffet in the B'stro, and the food was hot and fresh. Free coffee! Jim, the B'stro manager, is very engaging and accommodating. The Valets were friendly and full of great ideas and accurate directions. We highly recommend the B and would love to stay again! Loved the B... marketing theme.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Fort Lauderdale

Address: 999 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#23 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#31 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the ocean and the beautiful Fort Lauderdale beach, Sonesta Fort Lauderdale offers you a sensational experience among Fort Lauderdale hotels: oceanfront hotel accommodations, unique restaurants and lounging areas, indulgent spa suite and a variety of excursions for those guests looking to explore Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. Our ballroom and meeting rooms on the penthouse floor overlook the Atlantic Ocean, presenting a special setting for business meetings and social gatherings held at this Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Sonesta Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b Ocean Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.