We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low Budget Place in High Price Market” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Oasis Motel to your Saves list
Oasis Motel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1200 Miami Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316   |  
Hotel amenities
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Low Budget Place in High Price Market”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

One of the few sub-$100 hotels available in mid-March 2013. Friendly and helpful manager. Reasonably clean.
Basically a '60's era motel. In our double room there was no closet and nowhere to hang up any clothes. No luggage stand so suitcase was on the floor. The beds definitely need to be replaced as they seem to have been in continuous use since the '60's. Beds sagged badly, offered no support, creaked and squeaked and mine made a loud "boing" whenever I got up from the side of the bed. Your roommate will know it when you get up to use the bathroom!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a new bed, a clothes rack and a luggage stand
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    21
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
21
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed two nights here in mid-March, en-route to a cruise. Very difficult getting any reasonably priced accommodations in Ft. Lauderdale during cruise season. Nelson, the manager, was very friendly and accommodating. Room was basic, but clean. Beds were way to soft, and mattresses need replacing. Nowhere to hang clothes in the room. Location is not prime, on main road with little of interest nearby. However, it is a short taxi ride to downtown, and the ocean front.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I moved to Fort Lauderdale Florida and stayed in this Hotel for one Month and a week.
Location very nice as well as the property manger and other service people.
I traveled with many bags and personal items and thought everything i owned would be safe in my room. But..... I was wrong.
I finally found an apartment to move to and gave notice, packed my things and left. when i moved to my new location i began to unpack and found that i was missing several items. Clothing, jewelry, and a few sentimental pieces.
I called the hotel and left word several times on voice-mail and never was returned my phone calls about my missing things.

I would think if they cared about the reputation of this hotel that at least they would call and speak with me, but they did not.

Lastly if you would like to stay at this hotel I recommend it but don't bring anything with you or if you do, do not leave in your room.

I am very unhappy about my missing property and would at the least like a phone call even if this is all it would be.
BEWARE!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This motel is quite the little gem! We were only in town one night and our flight didn't land until after midnight so paying over $200 or more at a chain hotel was ridiculous. I stumbled upon Oasis through a review of a different B&B/Hostel on Trip Advisor which recommended Nelson at Oasis. There happened to be one double bed vacancy left for only $105 which worked perfectly for our party of four. The room was clean and cool, we slept well and there is a Walgreen's and Starbucks within a stone's throw. The next morning Nelson called us a cab for the cruise port. Cab ride from the airport was about $12 just as Nelson told us it would be and the cab ride from the motel to the port was $12 as well. We were all able to pile into the cab with 4 large luggage bags and 2 carry-ons, no problem. I would highly recommend Oasis Motel and Nelson's outstanding service to his customers. Fantastic little motel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I've had the pleasure of staying at the Oasis, several times now and can only say it's always a great experience. Rooms are always very clean and the warm, diligent attention the manager, Nelson provides is one of a kind, definitely keeps me coming back. Thank you Nelson, for your hospitality, grateful traveler.

Elaina Os.

Room Tip: Rooms on the rear quieter .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This place is so close to freeways and the airport. Its waaay affordabe. Save high end hotel expenseand splurge on a rental car. I enjoyed Fort Lauderdale and Miami Beaches, Eateries, Shopping and Everglades. Public buses are also a cheap quick way to the beach. Tom Jenkins' BBQ next door is screamin'. Across the street: Starbucks, Walgreen, Ihop, Pizza Hut and JJ's Sandwiches (yum-yum to enjoy at the beach). Manager Nelson M.Da Cunha was so accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Oasis Motel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Andrea J,
Quaint, quiet, quick....what a great way to sum up the Oasis! We're so happy that you enjoyed the hotel, and all of its nice qualities!! (sorry couldn't resist using another q-word) We are looking forward to your next visit. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Nelson is very pleasant,approachable, and quickly met our requests. It's a $15 cab ride to airport or port. A 20 minute walk to Harbour Shops (for groceries, Total wine) and a SunTrolley to drive (hop on and off) along beaches to Galleria Mall (cost 50 cents one-way or $2 day pass). The Walgreen is close to buy last minute items..sunscreen, toothpaste, wine. We were early to arrive from our cruise and the room was ready. I found other close hotels pricer during cruise season ($250) and Oasis was great value. Definitely on our list to stay again and recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Oasis Motel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
prumar,
Thanks so much for staying with us. Your review was perfect, very informative and detailed. You're right, the rates at the Oasis are very affordable and much lower than the surrounding hotels. We are looking forward to your next visit. Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oasis Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Motel

Address: 1200 Miami Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oasis Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oasis Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.