We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite Italian restaurants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of D'Angelo Pizza,Wine Bar, Tapas

D'Angelo Pizza,Wine Bar, Tapas
4215 N Federal Hwy, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-5532
+1 954-561-7300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
D'Angelo Pizza,Wine Bar, Tapas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 1,150 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Tapas, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 42nd Street & US1
Description: Italian Cuisine
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of my favorite Italian restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I wish I lived closer to D'Angelo but then again I'd probably weigh a lot more. If you are a Italian food loving foodie grazer, i.e. love to share a lot of small plates, great Italian delicacies, this is the place for you. Although the pizza is very good, I would rather go with some friends and have 10 or 12 different small plates such as the Veal and Pecorino meatballs, Buffalo Mozzarella with Parma Prosciutto, Eggplant Rollatine, Sauteed Clams and Mussels, Arugula and Roasted Peppers, Crispy Fontinas. There is usually only one pasta dish, a special, and one or two meat/fish specials in full plate size. You MUST try the gelatos, they are amazing, chocolate, hazelnut, coconut, make sure to save room for that. There is a large selection of mostly Italian wines with several dozen by the glass or 1/4 litre and many more by the bottle. Italian travel and cooking videos play on the TVs. There is a large bar and outdoor seating. Valet parking only. Angelo's ingredients are the finest quality and may not be appreciated by those who are happy with Olive Garden.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo E, Owner at D'Angelo Pizza,Wine Bar, Tapas, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your support! Not sure if Weston is closer to you but we recently opened our second D'Angelo Pizza, Wine bar, Tapas there. It is in the Country Isles Shopping Center.

For more information on new restaurants you can contact Lindsey at Lindsey@casa-d-angelo.com

Thanks!

Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    37
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I chose D'Angelos based on Trip Advisor as well as a write up in a travel book. We were not disappointed. The service was excellent! We had 2 children(almost no children in restaurant) whom the waiter happily cajoled and catered to. We were not rushed despite throng of diners at the door when we left around 10 pm! All courses were delicious (Florentine steak, fish special, seafood pastas). Do leave room for dessert which is wonderful.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft. lauderdale, florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Consistent well prepared Italian fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Been here several times and always enjoy wonderful service and delicious food. The carpaccio of tuna and beef are wonderful, as is their frittattas that are served in a piping hot iron skillet. Pizza is well done also. Pedro is a delight and very knowledgeable about the food and always recommends a great wine, whether it's a carafe, a quartina, or a glass. Nice to have options.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Pricey but excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Numerous visits here and this was perfect ! We had pizza, wine and zucchini flowers. The zucchini flowers were superb but pricey. Great bread before the meal and wine was fine. Pizza is PERFECT! This isn't Dominos! It's a perfectly cooked thin crust crispy with the appropriate topping. I LOVE this restaurant. Parking is valet only right off a very busy street. Inside is relatively quiet and you hear lots of Italian which is perfect. Very flavorable food. Pizza is perfect but entrees will be only fine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, NJ
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Love every dish here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We love this casual restaurant and go here at least once a week. Decor is casual chic and the food outstanding. The standard menu contains a number of our favorites, the meatballs, the eggpalnt, the frittata and who could forget the pizza. Also suggest that you pay attention to the daily specials as these are also great. The other day I had the pork with roasted potatoes, thought it was wonderful.

The inside restaurant can get a little noisy since bistro style, so we usually take a table in the bar area if available. I like the outside but there is a lot of traffic noise as you are on a busy road. The valet parking is very convenient.

Overall, a great experience, highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D'Angelo Pizza,Wine Bar, Tapas also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, FL
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 

Been to D'Angelo Pizza,Wine Bar, Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D'Angelo Pizza,Wine Bar, Tapas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.