We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food - indifferent to rude service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of sea watch

sea watch
6002 n ocean blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-2320 (Lauderdale-by-the-Sea)
954 781 2200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
sea watch is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #194 of 1,126 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Lauderdale-by-the-Sea
Cross street: Commercial Blvd
Description: Sea Watch On The Ocean located on the beautiful Atlantic Ocean in Fort Lauderdale is perfect for any occasion. Whether it's business, pleasure, or any other special event we offer private dining rooms, an enclosed patio or our main dining room, all with beautiful water views to maximize your dining experience. Operating for over 34 years our menu selections range from a wide variety of the finest seafood and steaks.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
1 review
“great food - indifferent to rude service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

bad receptionists followed by nasty hostess.
waitress change after initial greeting
inattentive service.

great food
fresh but boring bread
tower appetizer
lobster
shrimp
great frozen margarita
will give it a second try

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    196
    74
    53
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort lauderdale
1 review
“Average. No carrot cake???”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

I was looking for a great place to take my babygirl out for our anniversary and our neighbor recommend we try Seawatch. She raved about ambiance and views so of course I wanted to check it out because my girl deserves nothing but the best. We rolled up on a subday night and was immediately greeted by a rude hostess who clearly didn't understand my request for a table with a great view because she walked us to a dark area in the back of the building haunted by kids screaming and tiny corridors. If im going to be dropping over a hundred dollars on a meal, I better be looking out at the ocean-not at a messy toddlers face. We kindly asked to move and by the look at the hostesses face you would have thought we told her that her cat was ran over by a lawn mower. She finally got the idea and lead us upstairs to a beautiful loft area with a table that looked right out to sea.

The food was average at best. The calamari was actually pretty freaking tasty but the fish was average-good but average. We probably wouldn't come back unless they decide to put carrot cake on the menu. Any establishment that doesn't have carrot cake on the menu is clearly ran by Satan.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Family friendly, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

4 adults and a 2 1/2 year old for early dinner. The service was great as was the food. Great value! Great view! Nicely accommodating to our grandson. Definitely will return.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“disappointing experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The setting for this restaurant is wonderful but the food quality did not match the ambience
The service was good, but the grouper was not the flaky fish I am used to eating, but something hard maybe from being overcooked. You actually needed a knife to cut it. It also did not taste fresh.
This place deserves better food!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced, very average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This place seems to be here for the sole purpose of giving pretentious retired people a place to feel special about spending way too much money on very average food. I ordered a small filet mignon ($29) that didn't come with a side. The steak was a plain, unseasoned cut but was good. However it was served on a sizzling skillet that continued to cook the steak past what I ordered. Everything was rather bland. My girlfriend ordered a seafood soup for the same price. It was decent but I've had the same dish better for half that price. The decor is very nice and upscale and you can't beat the view.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed sea watch also viewed

 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 

Been to sea watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage sea watch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.