We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still exceptional...after all these years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of sea watch

sea watch
6002 n ocean blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-2320 (Lauderdale-by-the-Sea)
954 781 2200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
sea watch is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #190 of 1,126 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Lauderdale-by-the-Sea
Cross street: Commercial Blvd
Description: Sea Watch On The Ocean located on the beautiful Atlantic Ocean in Fort Lauderdale is perfect for any occasion. Whether it's business, pleasure, or any other special event we offer private dining rooms, an enclosed patio or our main dining room, all with beautiful water views to maximize your dining experience. Operating for over 34 years our menu selections range from a wide variety of the finest seafood and steaks.
Tempe, Arizona
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Still exceptional...after all these years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

An old Florida institution that maintains its reputation, deservedly so, in 2014. Others have noted that in the recent past this restaurant was not up to its former high standards, but it seems to have recovered by the new year of 2014. My sister had her wedding here in December 2013 and everything was exceptional. Then in January 2014 six of us went to dinner and everything again was exceptionally good. The service was especially efficient and attentive, the seafood very fresh, the preparation artful and tasty. Nothing was disappointing. Yes, the prices are on the high side but you are paying in part for location--right on the beach--and for the quality of the seafood. If you want to have a taste of the best fresh seafood south Florida can offer in an elegant but not pretentious or stuffy atmosphere, this is a good choice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    196
    74
    53
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
527 helpful votes 527 helpful votes
“Great For Special Occasions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Sea Watch is a beautiful mega-mansion which sits on the beach and was turned into an eating establishment. Growing up, this was the place we always came to, to celebrate special occasions. It is still that type of restaurant today.

We came here on New Year's Day. We did have a reservation, but we did have to wait for a table.

Once we were seated and able to drink in the ocean blues before the sunset, our waitress was constantly looking over us and fulfilling our needs. The service was excellent.

We started off with conch fritters, which were absolutely delicious! Not to spicy and especially not greasy at all.

Bread was also placed on the table at this time, which was fresh, filled with grains and goodness, and definitely homemade.

For our main course, we ordered: The salmon (roasted with Kalamata olives, sun-dried tomato, garlic, red pepper flakes), which was delicious. The Orange Roughy (light and delicate and served with a roasted dill tomato half, hard-cooked egg, capers, anchovy and Dijon mustard). This was excellent as well. The Grouper also served with a roasted dill tomato half, hard-cooked egg, capers, anchovy and Dijon mustard. Very good. And lastly, the slow roasted prime rib served with Creamy horseradish sauce, au jus and Yorkshire pudding. A huge chunk of meat! Everything is a la carte. Out of all the side dishes, don't miss out on the red skillet corn bread...HEAVEN! I've never tasted corn bread so amazing.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant for special occasions or romantic dinners. It is perfect, but it is pricey nonetheless.

PS - If this review was helpful, please remember to click the YES button. Thanks! :->

Last word of advice: If you are with others and are splitting the bill, pay close attention to the tipping section. Their suggestion is based on the total bill for everyone, not the split. You end up paying double the tip if you take their suggestion on your half.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“We Wanted to Like This Place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Since moving to Fort Lauderdale we had many people share with us that, "You have to go to Sea Watch!" So we did and we are impressed. It is expensive, too big for any sense of an intimate dining arrangement, and the food is average at best. I don't get it! I had bouillabaisse and it was served luke warm with only a few pieces of fish floating in the broth. Others at our table were also disappointed with their entrees. The place was packed with, I'm assuming, seasonal visitors who seemed to be enjoying themselves.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be, and thats not possitive.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have been going to Sea Watch for many years and always enjoyed the food and experience, until they changed their format. About a year ago they changed to what they think is a more upscale restaurant. They made their menu very limited, and the choices are now absolutely Boring! Not only that the food is tasteless. I recently went there twice and will never go back again. The service was good but the food was awful. Save your money and go elsewhere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“On an upswing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We used to dine here quite frequently, but felt like the attention to detail and overall quality of food had declined so started tapering our visits. We went back with family this past week for "old time's sake" and had a wonderful experience. Everyone's meal was excellent--from pasta to seafood and our server was charming. We look forward to returning. Hoping this is a start of an upward swing! We'd love to see this restaurant return to its former glory.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed sea watch also viewed

 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 

Been to sea watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage sea watch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.