We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dining Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Truluck's Restaurant

Truluck's Restaurant
2584A East Sunrise Blvd, Apt A, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
(954) 396-5656
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Truluck's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 1,126 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: We invite you to escape to Truluck's. A getaway for the senses. Come savor the freshest Crab, direct from our own fisheries. Delight in our fresh-catch seafood menu or select tender, juicy steaks prepared to perfection. Then complement it all with delicious wines by the glass and bottle.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were traveling to Ft Lauderdale and found Truluck's on TA. We made our reservations on Open Table and easily got the time we chose the day before. When we arrived, we found they had their own valet ($6 or 8). We arrived a few minutes late and were sat immediately. About half the tables were empty but filled throughout the evening. Our waiter, David, was excellent. He knew the menu well and spoke at length about several wines we were choosing from. The food was amazing. They focus on sustainability, which is a big deal to us. The calamari was the best I've ever had. Both entrees were exceptional. We cannot recommend this enough. Dinner prices were right about what you would expect from a restaurant of this quality. The desert tray was insane, although by the time we got there there was no room left.

One of the oddest, and most unexpected things: the next day around lunch time, the manager called my wife and asked to make sure we enjoyed dinner. That tells me exactly how much they care about providing the best experience possible. Thumbs up, Mr Manager.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    126
    33
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sedona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Got there during happy hour, sat at the bar as all the tables were taken. Had great live entertainment, we had the shrimp cocktail - great, the lump crab cake - also great and the ceviche topped it off. Then onto a delightful dinner. Good wine choices and top shelf alcohol. Great experience all the way around.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“4.5 Stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The ambiance and food get 4.5 stars; service would be 3, mostly because the server accidentally bumped a glass of water on the table, which trickled onto my husband's leg, and he didn't seem too concerned about it, didn't offer to bring a towel to wipe off; so my husband used his napkin and then server forgot to bring him another one; good thing it wasn't wine and we are very laid back people! I should have told this to the person who called me from the restaurant the next day to ask about our experience but not looking to get the guy fired or anything. Piano bar musician was excellent, and she blended in so well (not overtly loud) that I thought it was music through speakers. FOOD: We had the crunchy and hot shrimp; well prepared, fresh; The rainbow tartare tower was very fresh, would have loved more of the dab of sauce they put on the side to give it more of a flavor punch. I had the broiled halibut entrée and my husband had the sesame seared tuna; both were fantastic, good portions; the restaurant accommodated my husband's request for white rice with his tuna instead of potatoes; I had the Spain vs. Italy wine flight which gives you a taste of 4 wines at a glass and a half price. The key lime pie was the tartest I'd ever had, but phenomenal. I would eat here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh seafood but not spectacular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We visited on a Monday night for dinner and enjoyed our appetizers and some drinks at the bar during their half off happy hour. We then moved into the dining room for dinner. The fried shrimp entree was70% french fried and 6 large shrimp on top. I've had better. My husband enjoyed his local stone crab entree but don't bother gettingthe unlimited deal as he did unless you're prepared to eat at least 12 pieces. If you eat 8 like he did, it's just cheaper to order them off the normal menu. Overall a good meal at a chain, but nothing spectacular.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orovada, NV
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great Seafood and Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We loved our meal there! My guy had the broiled scallops, he said they were sweet and tender. I had the trout amandine. and enjoyed every moist and flavorful bite. My daughter had the small beef filet, and said it was seasoned and cooked perfectly. We had Key Lime Pie and Carrot cake for dessert. Those portions were HUGE, and tasted just as fabulous the next day. Our waiter was friendly and accommodating. We will definitely return!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Truluck's Restaurant also viewed

 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 

Been to Truluck's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Truluck's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.