We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check the tips you have signed for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 State Road 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #28 of 134 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Check the tips you have signed for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

A convenient hotel for Port Everglades and downtown. There is a free shuttle service from Ft Lauderdale Airport, but the hotel did not inform us that you have to call them to arrange pick-up. We presumed this service was operated like other hotels' shuttles, ie the buses come at regular intervals, but we found out this was not the case after giving up and getting a taxi. The rooms are a good size, clean and comfortable. However, restaurant service leaves a lot to be desired. Some of the waiters do not speak good enough English and we had problems getting our correct breakfast order in a reasonable amount of time. One big warning - make sure you check that your food bill correctly shows the tip you want to give. We signed for our breakfast to include a tip we considered adequate for the awful service we received. When we checked out of the hotel we found that the bill total differed from what we had signed for. The original chit was found and we discovered that the waiter had altered the amount of the tip to a larger amount after we had signed it. Dishonesty in staff not a good feature.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Sharon S,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. It is nice to know that you found our room accommodations to be comfortable for your needs. However, I sincerely regret that your stay was negatively affected by the service received at the restaurant. I have taken note of your comments and I will relay this to our staff to ensure incidents like this could be avoided in the future.

Again, many thanks for your feedback and I do apologize this situation impacted your stay with us.

Regards,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    232
    88
    20
    19
See reviews for
164
257
41
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights in February prior to cruising. It is convent to the cruise terminals. The shuttle that was arranged to take me to the port was on time and well organized...Now to the hotel itself....When we arrived we were dropped off in what I thought was the basement of the parking garage, only to realize it was the main entrance to the hotel lobby! So, not a good first impression! Staff was friendly and check in went smoothly. They do to run air conditioning the hallways, or in the fitness center and they are miserably hot!! The room was nice and spacious. The bathroom is nice but very small. The room was clean and I had no problem with the bed. The on site restaraunt was pricey for they type food you get, service was sloooow. I was originally told when booking that there are several places within walking distance...this is not the case. Be mindful, the staff recommend things to do and will arrange shuttle service for you telling you it is only $8 to go to the beach boardwalk and back...Uhm it's $8 each way per person! So make sure to clarify this. Overall, it's ok for a 1 night stay if not paying full price, but for longer stays I would probably choose elsewhere.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Celeste P,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. Please do accept our apologies for not being able to deliver an exemplary service. I have taken note of your comments regarding food and restaurant service. Thank you for bringing these to our attention. We will address these with the proper department to improve the quality and service that we offer to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Very convenient to the airport and the port. I had a rental car and was able to go down to the beach for dinner with less than a 10 minute drive. The parking garage is a bit cramped. The room itself was nice and service was fine. The bathroom was very cramped and the shower doors were so heavy that I could not slide them to close completely. The loud muzak playing all around hotel became extremely ignoring. There was NO quiet place to escape it other than sitting in your room, which is less than ideal if you're on business travel. I noticed several others walking around attempting phone calls and appearing annoyed. Kiwis restaurant had friendly and quick service but nothing special. Overall, I agree with the previous poster - good for one night but that's about it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Ncgeodc,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so glad you liked the convenient location of our hotel and the service you received. Please accept our apologies for the issues you had with your bathroom and our parking lot was less than satisfactory. We also apologize for the experience you had with noise which affected your stay negatively. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

If all you want is a nice bed in a clean room before or after your cruise, this hotel is very close to Port Everglades but has little else going for it besides a generic pool / pool deck. It is a "tweener" location" with limited offerings nearby. They have a promo on the desk in the room about a wake-up call guarantee or your room is FREE but our wake-up call never call came. When we mentioned it at check-out, we were told it was not in their wake-up call log so it was not their fault and they were not liable for the guarantee. Having to leave to make out flight we asked the hotel to have the GM call us but you know darned well he/she never called. All in all I would not go back even though the room & sleeping arrangements were decent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear kgems1,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Very convenient location for a hotel. Problem though is that the check in starts at 3 p.m. The staff was friendly and accommodated me by 1:30 p.m. though.
The room was huge and there were 2 queen size beds in the same room with enough to put another single in between. On one side there was a recliner decorated with a hanging overhead reading lamp. The middle board was fitted with a i-dock for music. There was a big LCD showing a lot of channels. A fridge, a microwave and a coffee maker were adoring the walls on other side. The bathroom was spacious and clean. The amenities were good.
Free wi-fi through out the premises was great.
Food and drinks were on 5th floor in Kiki's Bar. Regretfully they had a set menu and no changes. One must try the fillet of Grupo with shrimps in a creamy sauce. The Bar Manger Carlos takes rounds of the tables personally to help guests.
There is a shuttle service which can be availed by prior arrangements with the reception desk. The entry to the pool and business center are controlled by you room key.
Check out becomes hectic around 11 o'clock on cruise ship day. So if you have a flight to catch come down early and be prepared to stand in the queue for 25-30 minutes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night prior to flying out of Fort Lauderdale airport.

After getting a great rate on Hotwire, we have no complaints about the hotel although I might have been more critical had we paid full rate !!!

We dropped our rental car at the airport and waited no more than 5 minutes for a free shuttle to the hotel. Check-in was quick and efficient and the person we dealt with (Carl) was very attentive and professional. He even phoned our room about 5 minutes after we went up in the elevator just to check everything was to our satisfaction - it was.

The room we were given was spacious and clean, with two beds and a lounger as well as a desk with wired internet access (or you could use wifi). It also had a small nook where there was a fridge (as opposed to a mini-bar) and a microwave. This proved convenient for the next morning as we would be leaving before breakfast was being served and meant we could chill some juice and heat up a quick snack before heading for the airport. A couple of small plates and some rudimentary cutlery near the microwave may have helped though as we did have to go down to the lounge and ask for those .... but that no big deal.

The lobby has a terminal where you can check-in for your flight and print off your boarding pass, this was also convenient and saved a few minutes at the airport. We booked an early shuttle the next morning and it was there on time and got us to the airport in plenty of time.

We didnt use any of the other facilities (Pool, Business Centre, Fitness Centre, Restaurant etc) so cant really comment on those, although the outdoor pool on the 5th floor roof did look quite nice ... You get a glimpse of it from the glass fronted elevator as it ascends to the guest rooms which are located on floors 6-11 (floors 1-5 are lobby, parking and other facilities)

All in all a pretty good hotel, all the staff we dealt with were friendly and polite, and we had no issues.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Nice hotel, close to airport and really close to cruise terminal, but charging $4 pp for the airport shuttle is really insulting when everyone else offers it for free.

The air conditioning units are very noisy as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port

Address: 455 State Road 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#23 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fort Lauderdale's newest vibrant urban full service hotel! The Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port is modern, elegantly designed, chic, and centrally located to all Fort Lauderdale's South Florida events and attractions. Ideal for corporate or leisure and the most discerning traveler. The Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port is located at the entrance of Port Everglades Cruise Port and less than a mile from Fort Lauderdale Int'l Airport (FLL), Broward County Convention Center and 2 miles from Downtown Fort Lauderdale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.