We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a bad location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 State Road 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #27 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a bad location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The hotel is new, the room is large, the free airport shuttle is convenient, the free internet is fast. I have nothing to complain about the hotel itself, except the location is far from the shopping and restaurants.
I booked the hotel from price line's name your own price for "fort lauderdale downtown" area. Well, this hotel's location can not be qualified as downtown as there is nothing going on near it. If you don't rent a car, you are pretty much stucked.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Jon W,

Thank you for your feedback, and recent stay. I'm sorry you were not fully satisfied with the location of the hotel, but am pleased to see you enjoyed the facilities and service of the hotel. We are always working to be the best we can be, and the feedback we receive will help us to accomplish this. We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    219
    87
    20
    15
See reviews for
157
244
40
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, OH
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
294 helpful votes 294 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This was one of our shortest hotel stays ever. We checked in and out within a 6 hour period. We won this on Hotwire for around $100. It was rated 3 1/2*, near the airport, with a 95% recommendation rating. We called for the hotel's shuttle to pick us up. They said they'd be there within 15 minutes, but it was at least 30 minutes before we were picked up, at around 11:30pm. We were not charged for shuttle service, but I'm not sure that standard. The hotel is new and very nice. I love the contemporary design and decorating. Unfortunately, we arrived hungry and there were no restaurants within sight. The nearest restaurant is at least a 15 minute walk. One of the two desk personel handed us a menu for an Italian restaurant that delivers. That worked out great and the food was actually good. The morning shuttle only ran every two hours. Unfortunately that meant we had to take the 5am shuttle for a 7am flight. The shuttle left on time, making a stop at the Holiday Inn down the road, and then the airport, 10 minutes later. This place is fine for short stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We chose this hotel after an evening flight and late arrival into Fort Lauderdale. The shuttle was prompt, and its a quick ride to the hotel from the airport. Our room was large, very clean, and nicely decorated. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The pool area was quite nice. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomons
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I have been a Platinum Holiday Inn member for many years and selected this hotel primarily for the free parking offered to Platinum guests and the proximity to the cruise port. Check in was a little surprising because there is no "lobby" as in most hotels. You enter through the parking entrance and there were two podium desks and people to check you in. With no lines, check in was quick and we were shown to a very nice room offered as an upgrade. While the short distance to the cruise port was an advantage, if you are there as a local tourist the local area did not appear to offer much nearby. For our purposes it was fine - a small bar/restaurant, adjacent convenience store (including good cookies and muffins in the morning) and a nice pool deck with view off the port. The hotel will arrange shuttle service to the port or the airport, which proved efficient getting to the ship. On return, the easiest option was the long line of waiting taxis as we left the ship and customs area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband is from Fort Lauderdale and we are very picky about where we stay. We tried this hotel because we decided to arrive a day early. What a great hotel. Very modern and clean. Pool was a nice little area with a patio for drinks connected. Parking was convenient ($10.00 charge, but worth it) Room was clean and spacious. Could not have asked for more!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here pre-cruise....comfortable room, good breakfast, clean and modern room. Nothing really within walking distance but a very efficient shuttle service to the cruise port.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed here following our cruise. Updated modern rooms and design of the hotel. The room and entire facility was clean. Nice pool area. The staff was very accommodating as they allowed us to use the pool prior to our room being ready, as well as before our late flight the next day. If you are using the hotel following or prior to a cruise, make sure you have transportation from the port to the hotel...was misleading, but a cheap cab ride from port to hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port

Address: 455 State Road 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#23 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fort Lauderdale's newest vibrant urban full service hotel! The Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port is modern, elegantly designed, chic, and centrally located to all Fort Lauderdale's South Florida events and attractions. Ideal for corporate or leisure and the most discerning traveler. The Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port is located at the entrance of Port Everglades Cruise Port and less than a mile from Fort Lauderdale Int'l Airport (FLL), Broward County Convention Center and 2 miles from Downtown Fort Lauderdale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.