We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT thick burger!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gilbert's 17th Street Grill

Gilbert's 17th Street Grill
1821 Cordova Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2198
+1 954-768-8990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,122 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Gilbert's 17th Street Grill is a family owned and operated restaurant that serves up great burgers, ribs, wings, home made soups, and salads. Daily blackboard specials include Pan Seared Tuna, Chinese Roast Pork on Garlic Toast, Havarti Burger Served on a Toasted Garlic English Muffin and The Hottest Burger in South Florida. Also has some great homemade desserts including Mrs. Gilbert's Rocky Road Road Cookies, Oatmeal Raisin Cookies, Key Lime Pie and NY Style Cheesecake. The Gilbert family has served South Florida for the last 10 years and has over 40 years experience in the food service industry. A family member is always on site and happy to open up their kitchen to you, treating your family like family!
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“GREAT thick burger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Do you want real Angus beef burger?? Then this is the place to go. It is a family run place where everyone takes GREAT care of you and the combinations for the burgers are awesome. I was privileged enough to meet mom, dad and son, and can say this is a MUST place. The burgers are amazing and I took home a chocolate chip everything cookie which was outstanding. This place does exactly what it says on the tin, great burgers, perfect service and comfortable setting! So definitely recommend you stop by.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    621
    172
    46
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Burgers.Super Friendly Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

When you first walk in,you get a friendly greeting and explanation of all this restaurant has to offer.The friendly person at the door is Mrs.Lenore Gilbert-(co-owner).I proceeded to the line(the place was packed for lunch-still got a table)the smiling gent took my wife's and my orders.Turns out he is Bob Gilbert-(co-owner).The two owners just seem so proud of their establishment-and they should.They have an extensive menu-home made soups,steaks,salads,home cheesecake-etc.The staff(they bring the food to you and cleanup your table)were great.I highly recommend this FAMILY place.They are not a chain! You will not be dissappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewJersey
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“You call that a Burger?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Seems all they do here is dress the ground beef, or as they put it angus beef. I really can't even call them burgers, since they don't taste like a burger. Taste more like a large beef patty on a bun. I had tastier burgers at McDonalds for a much cheaper price.
Don't know why they are # 1 here. I will say that they are very nice people, but clearly they need to learn how to make a "TASTEY BURGER", just because you use angus beef doesn't mean you will have a great tasting burger. It all about what you put into the angus beef to make it a delicious burger. Very Disappointed here and it was not cheap either :(

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had already decided to eat here based on other reviews we had read. We were standing outside reading the menu and the owner came out to talk to us and describe the food. If we had actually been undecided about where to eat, she would have closed the deal. How nice it was to feel appreciated and wanted as a customer! It was a bit pricey, but the food was delicious, service was great and was worth the every cent! We had burgers, wraps, salads, and fish sandwich. It was all excellent!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“family ran, and made part of the family!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We came across this restaurant by searching this web-site for restaurants near our hotel. This restaurant was the first that came up , so since we were in the mood for delicious burgers we thought we would check it out especially after reading the great reviews. First off when we arrived at the restaurant this very friendly women who was the owner, expressed to us exactly how things worked from the ins and outs of the menu to how it's family run and how they keep food simple the way its suppose to be . I think that the way the restaurant is situated works very well , you place your order then have a seat, simple which takes away from relying on the middle person . The male owner later came over after and chatted with us a wonderful conversation about his life and how he came to this restaurant design which with his years of experience figured out an easy and great way to make the restaurant function . Anyways , when our food arrived , i was very impressed , i hate buns i find that many restaurants have these big huge buns and little patties, here its the total opposite. I ordered the havarti bacon burger on a garlic english muffin it was extremely satisifying. The burger was beef, pure and simple wonderful beef no fillers, no added breadcrumbs beef the way it's suppose to be . I also had the sweet potato fries which were extremely delicious and crispy which many restaurants can't seem to figure out . Anyways i could go on and on jut go it's great ,affordable, delicious and the owner make you feel like your apart of the family and knows and remembers everyone who comes through the door . Again, what a wonderful eating experience with a wonderful atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilbert's 17th Street Grill also viewed

 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 

Been to Gilbert's 17th Street Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilbert's 17th Street Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.