We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and nice but farther north than we expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galt Villas Motel

Save Saved
You added Galt Villas Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Galt Villas Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3621 North Ocean Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Clean and nice but farther north than we expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed April 1, 2013. The owner is extremely nice. We came off a cruise and arrived at 10am and he got us into our room right away. Large room with kitchenette. Free Wifi but it is hit and miss. Close to beach but not "across the street". They can give you a good map. Pool is at hotel next door - no big deal. Cab from cruise ship terminal was $25 (4 ppl), to airport was $50. We wished we had spent more on a hotel closer to the cruise ship terminal and used their free shuttles and been further south. No shampoo or conditioner supplied.

Room Tip: Room 256, upstairs, large with kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    61
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
48
42
17
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill, Ia, Usa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I cannot say enough great things about this place!! It was super clean, the beds were comfortable, everything worked well, the location was perfect! The best part was that I was hit with the flu right before we had to check out and they let us stay for a late check out, which made my day a little easier!
I read several reviews before staying here and I don't get how anyone had anything negative to say. The motel is within walking distance to the beach and great restaurants are close. Check in was super easy and the staff was great!!
Not one single bad thing to say! 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bulgaria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We arrived on March the 4th at about 9.30 pm , after a long flight from England, We were met by Mark, who was so helpful, No problem's checking in Straight up to our room's They were very good, and spotless clean , I check the bed to fined it perfect not a mark on the mattress, Sheet's also the same, The towel's that were changed every day were the softess I have ever used, and so white, Coffee and cream there every day and more if we asked, If Anything need's changing it would be the decor, a little outdated, , But other than that I would visit again, It was first class and would say look them up and share your trip with them, Great location , Great Pub a cross the highway , local supermarket's, parking good, outside sitting, staff helpful enjoy.

Room Tip: check them out first
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Unpleasant, acrid smell in one of the two beds in the room. Otherwise clean and well-kept museum piece. Terrific shower, but bring your own shampoo/conditioner. Wifi laughably inadequate. Pleasant staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

And there is a larger parking lot to the side. Modern mattresses are really comfortable. Friendly staff, especially Lonnie and housekeeper Forrest, who were interested on our progress birding the area. It is across the street from the high-rise places which block the view of the beach, but access down the street if you lack the confidence to march through the lobbies of huge hotels & condos which have maximized THEIR use of land by building from property edge to edge & making it impossible for free Americans to get to the sandy edge of our country!! The pool was next door; we spent our time looking for specific birds instead, but kids staying there used it & were happy. Everything on Ocean Blvd.is crowded together, but this U-shaped courtyard is landscaped and surrounded by flowering tropical plants in pots (kept up by a helpful & enthusiastic, middle-aged blonde guy who's name I didn't catch). We stayed in an efficiency for $110 for several nights after one night in a regular room for $85. With nice & well-stocked CVS drugstore & a Wyn-Dixie grocery almost directly across the street (an easy, pleasant walk, too), we had everything we needed to maintain ourselves and our pleasant activities without the interruption of expensive & time consuming restaurant stops three times aday. MacDonalds has breakfast within walking distance, the egg McMuffin a moderate-carbohydrate,protein-balanced choice for fellow Diabetics. Plenty of seafood, chains, and better restaurants nearby for WHEN YOU CHOOSE to eat out. We walked and respectfully birded the neighborhoods behind the Galt without excessive security concerns. Interestingly, there were across our street two traditional(not sure if Hassidic or Reform type) Jewish temple buildings, with family dedications carved into the cream marble. We often saw a beautifully silver-haired man, in black hat and white shirt,walking there before sunset, surrounded by younger women & girls in flowered long dresses and men in suits chatting away with each other like songbirds. This added to the sense of a safe, established area. "Sunshine," the huge blue macaw, is now kept caged behind white trellis in front of the owner's quarters. Twenty-five years old, visitors reportedly couldn't resist feeding her unhealthy stuff. Peek in diagonally to see and talk to her; she is an intelligent beauty who makes eye contact and respond to company, sometimes talking. It would be worth the investment to build an elevated cage in the courtyard for this interesting and interested bird. Just don't be prompting her to cuss-it's just not that type of place! And that should keep her cooped up again- not funny and no fair!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Very clean, bigger rooms with a kitchenette. Easily accessible to beach area with restaurants in walking distance. Quieter than main area in Ft Lauderdale. Front desk staff very nice and helpful. Great deal for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here one night pre-cruise. We had a rental car, but parking was very tight with an over flow lot behind the motel. This is an older motel, but is very clean and well kept. The area was nice with many restaurants fairly close by.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Galt Villas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt Villas Motel

Address: 3621 North Ocean Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#19 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#31 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Galt Villas Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galt Villas is located in sunny Fort Lauderdale, Florida within walking distance to Fort Lauderdale Beach. The Galt Villas offers both rooms and efficiencies. The guest rooms feature mini-microwave, compact refrigerator, in-room coffee maker with complementary coffee, in-room phone with voicemail and wake up service, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, free internet access and cable television with over 70 channels. The efficiencies have the same amenities as a room but with the added bonus of a fully equipped kitchen. As well as being located within walking distance to Fort Lauderdale Beach The Galt Villas is only a few steps to restaurants, night life, drug stores, the grocery store and the bus line. Some of the property features are a pool, free parking, guest coin laundry and complementary internet station. The Galt Villas is convenient to the Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, Port Everglades and many of the attractions that Fort Lauderdale offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Galt Villas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt Villas Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galt Villas Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.