We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5100 N. State Road 7, Commercial Blvd & N State Rd 7, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33319   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #118 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Charlottesville, VA
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2006

We were skeptical about this hotel from reading all the bad reviews on this site, but decided to give it a chance. We had stayed in a hotel in London which got mixed reviews from Tripadvisor, and that turned out to be great.
The outside of this hotel needs a lot of work. The pale red that Ramada paints their hotels shows age very well, and the sign on the building was in disrepair. The lobby is very nice with a computer with high speed internet for our use. The front desk personnel were very helpful and friendly.
Aside from the outside, the hallways were the other negative about this hotel. A coat of paint, some air fresheners, new carpet and more lighting would go a LONG way here. When we arrived, we saw the outside, checked in, and then got to the hallways and were very disappointed.
The rooms however are very nice. It seems as though the hotel is beginning it's renovations in the rooms. The beds were clean with new mattresses. Coffee maker in the room as well as nice clean showers and bathrooms.
The pool area is definitely the highlight of this hotel, as evidenced by the pictures submitted by the hotel. This was the first pool-side tiki bar that I have ever seen actually be open. The pool was clean, as was the spa, and there were hammocks throughout the area.
Overall, the hotel is really what you pay for. It is not a resort by any means, but you can only expect so much. I definitely do not think all the negative reviews are warranted.

  • Liked — The pool area
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    101
    162
    144
    297
See reviews for
199
271
42
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2006

was one of the many who was suckered into a "luxiorious" vacation for a "great price". The package sucks plain and simple. If you want to read up on that, basically, everything everyone says in the other reviews is true. It is extremely expensive and you're better off booking on your own. You pay a lot for a piece of crap if you go through them. Not to mention, I kept getting bit on the cruise by bugs and had to wind up going to an urgent care clinic while on vacation. I just found out they were bed bug bites and I brought them home with me unknowingly so now have to pay another $300+ to get rid of bed bug infestations!

As far as this particular hotel itself goes, vacation package and rip-off prices aside, it smells. The staff was friendly, and the pool was decent, however, that was about the good things I can say about it. It smells TERRIBLE!. I dry heaved many times whenever I'd walk off of the elevator (the first floor doesn't stink but the hotel room floors do). The rooms are very very VERY moldy. I stayed in two different rooms and they were both discusting. The food vouchers they give you may sound like a good deal when you're booking, but the food tastes like crap and you wind up paying tax and tip for the same price you could have gotten decent fast food for. The yellow water is true, but in all fairness it is all over Ft. Lauderdale and is not just the hotel.

To sum it all up. I'd strongly recommend booking somewhere else!

  • Liked — It had free internet and a friendly staff
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Tips/Secrets — Money is best spent elsewhere. But if you have to stay there, bring bottled water and never turn off the AC or the mildew smell gets worse. Read up on bed bugs and how to check your room or cabin!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2006

this hotel was very good. They were clean and for the most part pleasant. They have food on the premices. Also a pool, indoor and outdoor bar, hot tub, fitness center, pool tables, evern coin-op laundry. They also were very helpful with finding attractiona or generally things to do and giving directions. They also called a car rental place and set everything up for us. They were a little untimely with bringing us fresh towels as there were 4 of us in one room. But over all i would definately at least give them 4 stars if not more!!

  • Liked — how close we were to the beach, and how easy it was to navigate!
  • Disliked — the fact that we neer had towels :(
  • Tips/Secrets — bring your own towls (laugh)
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2006

No where near as bad as the reviews. You get what you pay for! For $48.00 a night, the place is bound to have some problems. I have definitely stayed in better, however the place was not that bad. There is a sports bar/restaurant with pool tables, a hair and nail salon, game room and indoor play area for kids to run wild, outdoor pool with hammocks, a tiki bar (was not open while I was there, but the sports bar has a entrancec on the pool side), kids under 12 eat free at the restaurant, tennis courts and free internet. I did see some ants in the room. Once I found the candy that my kids spilled on the floor and we stopped laying our wet clothing around the room (instead of hanging them up), I did not see anymore. The water was yellow, however we were having the same problem in Cleveland (for almost 2 weeks),so I was not freaked out. You get more than you expect for the money. If you want anymore than this, spend more money and go somewhere else!

  • Liked — Kids eat free
  • Disliked — Rooms need updating
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale

Address: 5100 N. State Road 7, Commercial Blvd & N State Rd 7, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ramada Plaza Resort Fort Lauderdale
Ft Lauderdale Ramada Plaza Resort
Ramada Plaza Resort Ft Lauderdale
Ramada Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.