We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding menu, great service, food did not disappoint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 3030 Ocean

3030 Ocean
3030 Holiday Drive, Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Central Beach)
+1 954-765-3030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 1,064 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $28 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central Beach
Cross street: A1A and Holiday Drive
Description: For more than a decade, 3030 Ocean has been a high watermark in the South Florida fine dining scene. Renowned for sophisticated seafood and rustic American cookery, 3030 Ocean features a creative contemporary selection of fresh seafood, prime meats and locally-sourced ingredients, passionately conceived and elegantly executied. We invite you to dive deep into the menu and explore the flavors, textures and techniques that have made 3030 Ocean a favorite among diners from near and far.One of the region’s most beloved culinary talents, 3030 Ocean Executive Chef Paula DaSilva is known for her farm-to-fork philosophy and ceaseless commitment to sourcing the finest local ingredients available. A native of Brazil, DaSilva’s passion for cooking was ignited as a child when she learned all aspects of the kitchen at her parents’ Brazilian restaurants. A graduate with a culinary arts degree from the Art Institute of Fort Lauderdale, DaSilva first began her career here at 3030 Ocean where she honed her skills and secured a reputation as one of the region’s rising culinary stars. A star turn on Gordan Ramsay’s reality cooking show Hell’s Kitchen garnered the savvy young chef national attention for her talent, dedication and coolness under fire. Now, Chef DaSilva returns to where it all began at the helm of 3030 Ocean, bringing with her a diverse, acclaimed culinary vitae and her signature soulful cooking style.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Outstanding menu, great service, food did not disappoint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The menu and wine list is extensive which is why we went with the Chef's tasting menu including wine pairings. The prices are not for the faint of heart but the flavors, pairings and service was outstanding. Our server described in detail every course and the thoughts behind every carefully selected wine pairing. A cold appetizer (mini raw seafood platter), a hot appetizer (amazing clam and bacon creation), a delicious salad, followed by a small portion of their signature halibut and finally the filet cooked to perfection. The cheese course just before dessert was a nice surprise followed by a sample of five varied mini dessert selections. My favorite part of this tasting menu was the wide variety of flavors, something for everyone, the food portions were small enough so you could pace yourself through this multi course feast but not too small so you could really enjoy the flavors with four or five good bite size portions. The wine pairings were also generous and sized to match the pace perfectly. If you want to splurge, you cannot go wrong. The only reason I did not give this the top rating were for atmosphere which is admittedly a very personal opinion. Families just off the beach having dinner at large tables in shorts and tshirts, crying babies, men at the bar cheering on a local sports team, all distracted me from the elegance and fine food being presented before me. Still worth trying your best to ignore all that background noise and enjoy the amazing gourmet and created courses being set before you. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    64
    29
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Restaurant and Sevice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had dinner at 303 Ocean last evening which happend to be our wedding anniversary. Our meal was fantastic and our server Dennis was great,friendly and attentive. The hostess Kimberly was outstanding,great personality, great smile and polite. Kimberly started out our evening and she also let Dennis know it was our anniversary. She was just so kind and polite that she alone would be one of the reasons to go back to 3030 as well as Dennis. The only thing I would like to see some more beef dishes. Very limitied on the beef and really no steaks which I would like to see. Great evening. Thank You Kimerberly and Thank You Dennis for making it a great evening. We are still talking about it and letting all of our friends know. We live in Fort Lauderdale so we will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewJersey
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Had a wonderful dinner and the service was top notch. Yes, they are pricey. I purchased a $25 certificate off of restaurant.com which came in handy.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food... but don't go.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

It's a shame that Dean Max's bold and creative cooking is happening at such a poorly run restaurant; if your experience is like ours, you'll make up your mind long before the food hits the table. There was rarely anyone at the host stand, and we were kept waiting nearly 40 minutes for an 8:30 reservation (we were on time), always being told it would be "just a few minutes." (Another party of four waiting over an hour for their 8 p.m. reservation.)

The hostess was unprofessional, complaining about the groups that were still on their dessert. The rest of the staff seemed to be hiding from angry patrons, avoiding eye contact. We've all been in this situation on both sides, and a good restaurant will try to clear the table by offering the earlier group complimentary drinks or dessert in the bar, or else buy a round of drinks for the group that's being kept waiting. We were just shuffled off the shabby hotel lounge, where the chipped formica coffee tables and worn furniture remind you you're basically eating in a Marriott lobby.

When we were finally seated, the floor under the table was covered in food. I don't expect a sweep-up after every group, but clearly a child had been sitting there and thrown lots of food on the floor.

The waiter visited our table a few times before we ordered - bringing wine and bread, etc - but never mentioned that one of the entrees was out until we went to order, forcing a few of us to change our plans. Not to worry, he told us, he would've steered us away from that dish, anyway. (It was the butterfish, so apparently you don't want to order that.) He was polite and pleasant but didn't seem to well-versed in the menu.

The food was ultimately quite good - lots of heavy herb and spice flavor, with unique preparations. The tempura wahoo was wonderfully briny, with a sushi-like raw center (that's a compliment and was explained on the menu). Tuna tartare was spicy and earthy. The scallops were well-prepared but felt a little too salty. The menu does NOT do justice to the fried chicken dish, which is described as just Southern-fried thighs without explaining that it's stuffed with a mousse of breast meat, as well. Delicious, with a potent hit of thyme. Really, almost everything was quite delicious. Too bad we'll never go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food and even greater service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We went there for dinner and the dishes were suggested by our waiter, Tim Miller; great suggestions (we started with clams BLT, mussels in broth and we each had a wonderful halibut with lobster ravioli). Atmosphere is great as well. The service provided by Mr. Miller was the best ever. We sure plan on going back and will absolutely ask for Tim to be our waiter the next time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 3030 Ocean also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, FL
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 

Been to 3030 Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3030 Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.