We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bonnet House Museum and Gardens

Bonnet House Museum and Gardens
900 North Birch Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)
954-563-5393
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Art Museums, Gardens, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Ponds with bonnet water lilies and tropical gardens surround this historic 35-acre 1921 courtyard style waterfront home, whose artistic and innovative owners, famed artist Frederic Clay Bartlett and his wife Evelyn, made equally beautiful inside.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“A must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Finally saw this attraction after countless trips to the area. Very interesting and historical! The original owners were very creative and unique people. The gardens are gorgeous. Would love to see the upstairs. The staff is pleasant and very informative. John made the tour extremely fun! We made a purchase at the gift shop and the volunteer ladies went out of their way to box and wrap the item. Don't miss this piece of Ft. Lauderdale!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    162
    36
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Our tour guide provided us with many interesting details of the lives of the Bartletts, and how they went about constructing and decorating their house. The gardens are lovely. It is a pleasant oasis in an unexpected place.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This museum is a marvel. Paintings, sculpture, gardens and right on the beach. My very favorite item is a marble bust of a woman with a veil covering her face. It is so lifelike. I am amazed at the skill it took to create it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We visited the Bonnet House not really sure what type of tour it would be. As we bought our tickets, two racoons walked right up to the glass doors we were standing at and looked in. It was amazing. They only turned and left when other people approached. The tour was excellent and it was amazing to think you were in Ft Lauderdale while touring around this beautiful property. Our tour guide was excellent giving us all of the information about the house and the family that built it. After the tour we wandered around the grounds and were fortunate enough to see the spider monkeys that still live on the property. Great tour and I highly recommend it!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Thrilling glimpse into unique world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

What can I say? If you love art, history (especially FL history) and botany this place is a must-see. We were very impressed with our tour, which lasted almost 2 hours - with the extra "tram" (large golf cart) tour of the grounds ($2 extra per person, but you should definitely do it). We saw 3 of the 5 squirrel monkeys that still live there. Our guides, Fran and Rita, were wonderful. I loved all the art and plants. One thing I will say is this is NOT for kids, unless your children have an affinity for the arts and are over 12 years old. Otherwise go and you will enjoy it immensely.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonnet House Museum and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Bonnet House Museum and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonnet House Museum and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.