We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our chef went above and beyond!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Da Campo Osteria

Da Campo Osteria
3333 NE 32nd. Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
954 564-4400
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Da Campo Osteria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 1,111 restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 34th Street at A1A
Transit: Come and Enjoy Dinner at da Campo Osteria via the WaterTaxi. We are now listed as a stop and pick up point. Visit www.watertaxi.com for more information!
Description: Experience one of the most inspiring restaurants in Fort Lauderdale. Experience da Campo Osteria.Picture an Italian kitchen where family gatherings are about the table. We authenticate the feeling and flavor, the absolute essence of Italy. Immerse your senses in layers of delicate and immediate flavor where a seat at the Chef’s Table requires a passport. Open your minds and prepare to embark on a culinary port of call to Rome, Tuscany, and Florence.Cozy and genuinely welcoming, we invite you into the warmth of an Italian kitchen where delicious meals are prepared just for you. Picture window views from our Fort Lauderdale restaurant overlooking the sparkling Intracoastal Waterway, making you recall a romantic evening on the banks of the Arno in Florence or even hint at a summer day in Cinque Terre. Casually elegant but never formal, da Campo hums with lively conversations, easy laughter, and light music. Our open kitchen and tableside preparation of freshly pulled bufala mozzarella celebrate the fact that enjoying authentic Italian cuisine – la cucina Italiana – begins with a visual feast of the finest ingredients in the hands of talented and enthusiastic chefs who tell the story of Italy plate by plate.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Our chef went above and beyond!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We recently hired Steven Acosta, executive chef at Da Campo, to cook for my 50th birthday party. We had been to the restaurant before and were totally blown away by the food. By working with both Rebecca, in sales, and Steven directly, we agreed on a plan and they executed it brilliantly. Our evening started with Steven teaching my dinner party how to make homemade mozzarella. It was both educational and thoroughly enjoyable. He then fixed us a delicious salad and then followed it up with homemade pasta topped with their famous jumbo meatball. Steven's attention to detail and passion for cooking was in every bite. We recommend to everyone who reads this a chance to experience Steven's cooking and Da Campo Osteria's dining experience. Thank you Steven and Rebecca for giving me a 50th birthday I will never forget!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    144
    31
    14
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great job Chef Steve!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were staying at Il Lugano and really wanted to try the restaurant because of the excellent reviews. We ended up going on our last night and we were very glad we did! We sat at the "Chef's Table" which enables you to watch the cooking while you're eating. As all prior reviews have stated, the pulled mozzarella done tableside is a must. Chef Steve recommended the veal cheeks which was not something we would normally eat (nor had ever heard of), but it was fantastic! The meatball appetizer was also great as was the ravioli and Veal Saltimbocca. This is a chef who clearly knows what he is doing and goes the extra mile with his ingredients to set himself apart from the rest. Whether you are staying at Il Lugano or anywhere else in the area, I highly recommend you try this restaurant. You won't be disappointed!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We made reservations at this restaurant because we knew that our flight would be late and it would be convenient. What a nice surprise to discover that it was not only convenient but delicious. The chef even came to our table to talk about the dishes. The huge meatball in my dish was so moist and even the Italian at our table said it was one of the best ever, as was the Mozzarella cheese. The service was impeccable and friendly. I would definitely recommend this to others.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We finally went to Da Campo Osteria. Excellent Italian food and the mozzarella preparation was entertaining, similar to other reviewers. In addition to great service and great water views -- most of the dock slips in front of the restaurant are available if you want to arrive by boat. Our server told us you simply have to phone ahead.

The location is a bit tricky though. Since moving to South Florida full-time, we've heard about a "great Italian restaurant located in one of the hotels by Galt Ocean Mile". Only thing is, we could never find it just driving along Galt Ocean mile. Turns out, it's actually on the intercoastal side and in the Il Lugano hotel, which is a bit removed from the beach. However, we were able to take a short walk over to Blue Jean Blues to enjoy live music to round out our perfect evening that started with some great Italian food at DaCampo.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fish was excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I am picky foodie but the service and fish was excellent. The decor is old and it felt a little dirty but it may have been the colors.
Wine selection is average but adequate. Any place at this price point should be able to make a good latte, I had to tell them how to make it and it was wonderful but should I have had to tell them? Who knows, the result was good and they were very positive. Overall, I didn't expect it to be great and I was surprised.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Campo Osteria also viewed

 

Been to Da Campo Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Campo Osteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.