We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like home than home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palm Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palm Plaza to your Saves list
Grand Palm Plaza
2.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   2801 Rio Mar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly Palm Plaza Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
clearwater
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“More like home than home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Thanks again Steve and Ron. This was my fourth visit and it just keeps being wonderful. We stay in the downstairs suite as my best friend is legally blind and finds this very easy and accessible. He is so comfortable that we would live in 13 if possible. The pool is lovely at night and the guests are drama free and friendly. We have met people from all over the world and really enjoyed our visits there. The suite is immaculate and totally equipped. The grounds are secure and beautiful as well as intimate and cosy. You are within a stones throw of the beach and rooms have beach chairs and unbrellas for your use. For a small resort very thoughtfully done and the best and finest for the money I have stayed in. Thanks Steve and Ron .Hope to get back in October.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    59
    6
    9
    5
See reviews for
4
121
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

This is my fourth stay at Palm Plaza -- and always feel comfortable, safe and secure . . .

A buddy of mine from high school and I met at Plam Plaza for a high school reunion -- he has been all over the world and stayed at many "star" hotels -- he was amazed how immaculate the room was!

Steve, " the manager superb" -- is wonderful and always makes his guests feel right at home -- Ron, who does the housekeeping is a sweetheart!

Like I said, "words cannot express . . . "

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

This was our second visit to the Palm plaza resort and it was still perfect just like last year.
We really like the large tropical garden with the amazing swimmingpool.
The location of the resort is very good (2 blocks away from the beach and within 10 min driving to Wilton Manors). Also a big plus is the free parking in front of the resort.
The manager Steve and his team really care about their customars and make you feel right at home from the minut you walk in.
We will definetly stay here again if we go back to Ft Lauderdale.

Wim and Ben
Antwerp, Belgium

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanreed70
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

Their service is friendly and warm and simply cannot be beat. The room is clean, bright and cheery, nothing special, bathroom is adequate, hot water was touchy and hard to adjust in shower. Kitchenette with microwave, sink, and min-fridge is a plus they also supply you with plates and flatware. The location is prime; easy walk to Sebastian Beach and easy to get around town from; you’ll want a car in Ft Lauderdale. The pool and pool area is nice, a hot tub would be a great addition, however. Other visitors were nice and all friendly. Not a cruisey place; seemed to be mostly couples and lots of European tourists. Without a doubt the friendly staff, very reasonable rates, and clean well kept facility make this a great place to stay. It is not fancy or pretentious, but I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

Found Palm Plaza through TripAdvisor and am so glad I did. Lucked into a mini studio over a very busy weekend. And later was able to upgrade to a suite.

Steve, the manager, was great -- very friendly and welcoming. Room was very clean and well appointed. The breakfast provided was a nice touch. The garden is lovely and well maintained. (It also had lots of warm, sheltered sunny spots where we could get out of Lauderdale's unseasonably cold wind this year.) Based on the rates I saw being charged at other places in Lauderdale's beach area, you can't beat the value at Palm Plaza. Would definitely stay here again.

The only caveat: don't fool yourself (like I did in a moment of temporary insanity) that you can manage in Fort Lauderdale without a car. Trust me, you can't (or at least, you don't want to). Steve recommended a car rental place within walking distance that had reasonable rates and good cars. And Palm Plaza has free parking. Problem solved!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

An ultra clean and friendly small resort in a 70's character building, just steps from the beach. It was our first visit, but most of the guests I met had stayed here before. Some had stayed at other gay establishments in Ft Lauderdale. All agreed- this is the place- quiet, clean, friendly and no barking dogs or pet smelly rooms. I did a lot of research when we planned our first visit to Ft Lauderdale- my partner was very pleased with the results of my work.
All of the staff are really nice and keep the place clean and tidy.
We'll be back.
You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

My experience at the Palm Plaza was wonderful. From the moment I talked to Steve
( manager) on the phone booking my room to the time I left. The room was bright cheery and very very clean. The bathroom ; spotless, impressive.There is afternoon sun at the pool. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They really care about you. The hotel looked just like the beautiful pictures on the website. The beach is just two blocks from your room !! I felt so comfortable staying here. I would definitely stay here again. Thank you Steve and gang. Andy from Delaware

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palm Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palm Plaza

Address: 2801 Rio Mar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly Palm Plaza Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Palm Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded, tropical, fun and frisky oasis - Perfect for relaxation, rejuvenation and romance. We guarantee you will never want to leave! Dreaming of escaping to a beautiful paradise is everyone's idea of a perfect retreat from their everyday life. Whether it be with your lover, a group of close friends or freely unattached, the Grand Palm Plaza guarantees our unique tropical paradise is perfect for any memorable affair. Here, you are not only treated like a VIP, you are treated like family. First-class service is a guarantee at Grand Palm Plaza. Our warm and friendly staff is renowned for their unique customer service and vast knowledge of the Fort Lauderdale area. No request is too small for our team of hosts. As our guest, you can sunbathe in our very private, seductive, tropical paradise; or skinny dip in our turquoise, clothing-optional, heated pool. Continental breakfast is served daily. Frozen grapes, scented cold face towels, and impromptu cocktail beverages are served pool side. If you want to experience Fort Lauderdale's famous beaches, you can take a peaceful 2 block walk to our legendary sandy beaches. We are also a few blocks away from the well-renowned gay beach located at Sebastian Street. Complimentary beach chairs, umbrellas & towels are provided. With activities like snorkeling, water craft rentals, bike rentals and more, you can enjoy all the beaches have to offer. If you want a more relaxing experience, you can dine at one our many beach front restaurants and bars. After spending the day in the sun, enjoy the best gay nightlife at one of Fort Lauderdale's flirtatious bars and nightclubs. Wilton Manors has a vast amount of night entertainment, perfect for everyone. Our resort is just a 15 minute drive from Fort Lauderdale airport and 10 minutes away from Port Everglades. There is ample complimentary and off-street parking available. Book your stay today at Grand Palm Plaza. Our courteous staff, comfortable studios, suites and nearby beaches, gay bars and night clubs will make it easy for you to escape, play or celebrate! A memorable, affordable and relaxing getaway is right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Palm Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Plaza Gay Male Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palm Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.