We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise ,A salvaged vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palm Plaza

Save Saved
You added Grand Palm Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Palm Plaza
2.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   2801 Rio Mar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly Palm Plaza Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
clearwater
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paradise ,A salvaged vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

After three nights of Hell at the Blue Dolphin a non gay hotel advertised as a gay male motel we met Steve and checked in here. As expected we were up tight and very stressed. Boy did that go away!!!!! Paradise on earth.I havenever had a more enjoyable vacation in my life. We knew all of the guest by first name the entire time and the friendliest place I have stayed in the gay community. We never left the property except for dinner and did not even turn the TV on the entire two weeks. The grounds are beautiful and Steve's landscaping and rooms are fantastic. Ammenities include everything for a great stay including continental breakfast placed in your fridge the night before. Great for early risers. Loved the swims in the clothing optional pool nights and just sitting and talking to new friends. I don't want to labor this but all of the guest were down to earth real people. To Steve,Ron,Jay and Jason thanks for everything and can't wait to return the end of September. Steve , you are a great manager and truly run an all male gay resort unlike some that cater to anyone with the price of a room. Thanks guys we love you. Bill and Bob.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    51
    6
    9
    5
See reviews for
4
102
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Relaxation, private, lush gardens and private pool area. This property is like your own private resort, great relaxing, private pool area. Rooms are comfortable and clean, staff was amazing. It's an older property but has been kept up well.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo Frio R.J.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

We have now completed our third stay. Palm Plaza is now our "official" home when we visit the states. We have a B&B in Brazil, as such we judge others by our standards. Steve and his staff do an excellent job. We look forward to our next stay in 2011.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

This was our second stay at the Palm Plaza. We plan on stay there again next year.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

The Palm Plaza is a hidden little gem that will surprise even the most hard-nosed of travelers. It's hard to beat the friendliness and efficiency of the staff (Thanks Steve and company). The rooms are well kept and pleasantly decorated. The more than ample continental breakfast delivered to your room's refrigerator is a very welcome amenity. This hotel delivers all the amenities (including a welcome toiletry kit) for a fraction of the price of nearby guesthouses. We will we return again to our "home away from home".

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

My friends and I made the Palm Plaza our home away from home during my FLL vacation last week. I couldn't have asked for a better experience. The service was great, and the rooms were wonderfully comfortable and tidy.

It is evident that Steve, the manager, takes great pride in the facility. While the building is a little older, he and his staff have gone to great lengths to make the facility warm and inviting. The grounds and foliage are absolutely gorgeous.

The resort is conveniently located to almost anything, and is within easy walking distance to the beach and Sunrise Blvd. For future trips, I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

I stayed at the Palm Plaza for 1 week. It's exactly as pictured & described on their website. The room was very clean & the bed was very comfortable. The grounds & pool were well kept and the staff was great. I would definitely stay there again as well as recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in Ft. Lauderdale. The Palm Plaza exceeded my expectations!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Palm Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palm Plaza

Address: 2801 Rio Mar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly Palm Plaza Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 Specialty lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Palm Plaza 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED, Exclusive all gay male resort. Tropical, casual, relaxed. Clean, comfortable rooms. Grand Palm Plaza blends the best elements of guesthouse services with sincere, friendly staff to offer a gay haven. Ideally located, just steps to the Fort Lauderdale beaches with magnificent views of the intra-coastal on a quiet street. Simply beautiful gardens, Clothing optional heated pool, beautiful tropical gardens and new high speed WiFi system come together to assure that you always have something to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Grand Palm Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Plaza Gay Male Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palm Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.