We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quieter Week at Beautiful Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palm Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palm Plaza to your Saves list
Grand Palm Plaza
2.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   2801 Rio Mar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly Palm Plaza Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quieter Week at Beautiful Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Enjoyed my first visit to both Grand Palm Plaza and Fort Lauderdale. Keith and the entire staff were most helpful, my room was clean and bright, and the grounds were very well kept and beautiful. I would definitely stay at Grand Palm Plaza again, as it's a short walk to the beaches including the gay beach

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Grand Palm Plaza, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Grand Palm Plaza for your most recent stay in Ft Lauderdale. Capturing new guest and retaining our regulars is our number one goal. We're glad you enjoyed the close proximity to the gay beaches as well as how clean our housekeepers attend to the rooms .Keep in mind our summer rates are now in effect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    59
    7
    9
    5
See reviews for
4
122
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We had a terrific time at GPP for the Memorial Day weekend. Nice and quite although completely booked up. Edward was gracious and very helpful after we had a small accident with the truck lid of our car and my
hubby's head.
The apartment was large clean and well appointed. Kind of minimalistic with a lone black and white portrait of Rock Hudson. Must say that if you have an inner ear problem beware that the floors in the apartment are not level. Sometimes it was like walking through an Escher painting but I got used to it quickly and found it kind of charming.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edwoz, General Manager at Grand Palm Plaza, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Grand Palm Plaza for your vacation plans. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you with us again in the future. Be sure to check back at our website for future specials and events. All the best, Edward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a grand time!!!! This was our 2nd visit and oh my land, property has been transformed into a piece of art, that is, retro meets modern. When booking a place for a short vacation, a fully-equipped kitchen is a must. We enjoy cooking breakfast and make deli at lunch time after spending our morning either by the pool or at the beach). Beach/restaurants/shops are within walking distance. Staff was amazing and we felt like we are home away from home. Hats off to Keith, Edward, Rick & Michael for making our visit memorable and enjoyable! We def did get all much needed down time!

Also, note that parking pass is not only limited to the property but now extended to all designated parking areas in the "entire neighborhood"!!! That is a new change....now its easier to park (to quickly grab pizza/coffee/deli from the bistro, etc especially in hot weather). So happy that businesses within that beach village came up with that idea.. more convenient for travelers!

We'll come back soon!

J & C

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edwoz, General Manager at Grand Palm Plaza, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Grand Palm Plaza for your vacation plans. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you with us again in the future. Be sure to check back at our website for future specials and events. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Staff super friendly and accommodating. Rooms had plenty of space. Newly remodeled and cutely done. Would remodel the bathroom. Place was a short walk from beach yet was an oasis of tropical relaxation away from the bustle of a1a. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edwoz, General Manager at Grand Palm Plaza, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Grand Palm Plaza for your vacation plans. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you with us again in the future. Be sure to check back at our website for future specials and events. All the best, Edward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had a quick 2 night stay at the Grand Palm Plaza. What a nice surprise. The grounds were beautiful, the room was clean and pleasant. Everything in the room was new, LOVED THAT! Keith and the guys are super friendly and could not have been nicer. A little piece of paradise!

Loved my stay at the Grand Palm Palza. Will return soon.!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edwoz, General Manager at Grand Palm Plaza, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Grand Palm Plaza for your vacation plans. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you with us again in the future. Be sure to check back at our website for future specials and events. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

That's what we needed, no other place than here, quiet, nice, cosy...few steps to the beach and Beach Place where you can find shops, dining, entertainment place.
The staff is very nice and you can have a full breakfast included.
We'll return no doubt.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edwoz, General Manager at Grand Palm Plaza, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Grand Palm Plaza for your vacation plans. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you with us again in the future. Be sure to check back at our website for future specials and events. All the best, Edward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This was our 7th visit to the property, and we love the changes...(and some more changes to come)...the décor in the room was very modern and yet retro at the same time with some really nice touches....As always, the staff was great...thanks to Edward, Keith, and Chris during our stay...always feel welcome here.....the only drawback I would say is that our room used to have a sink in the kitchen area, and we really did miss that amenity...a little noise from our upstairs neighbors, but that can be expected anywhere....we will be back again next year!!

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room if you are a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edwoz, General Manager at Grand Palm Plaza, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Grand Palm Plaza for your vacation plans. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you with us again in the future. Be sure to check back at our website for future specials and events. All the best, Edward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palm Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palm Plaza

Address: 2801 Rio Mar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly Palm Plaza Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Palm Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded, tropical, fun and frisky oasis - Perfect for relaxation, rejuvenation and romance. We guarantee you will never want to leave! Dreaming of escaping to a beautiful paradise is everyone's idea of a perfect retreat from their everyday life. Whether it be with your lover, a group of close friends or freely unattached, the Grand Palm Plaza guarantees our unique tropical paradise is perfect for any memorable affair. Here, you are not only treated like a VIP, you are treated like family. First-class service is a guarantee at Grand Palm Plaza. Our warm and friendly staff is renowned for their unique customer service and vast knowledge of the Fort Lauderdale area. No request is too small for our team of hosts. As our guest, you can sunbathe in our very private, seductive, tropical paradise; or skinny dip in our turquoise, clothing-optional, heated pool. Continental breakfast is served daily. Frozen grapes, scented cold face towels, and impromptu cocktail beverages are served pool side. If you want to experience Fort Lauderdale's famous beaches, you can take a peaceful 2 block walk to our legendary sandy beaches. We are also a few blocks away from the well-renowned gay beach located at Sebastian Street. Complimentary beach chairs, umbrellas & towels are provided. With activities like snorkeling, water craft rentals, bike rentals and more, you can enjoy all the beaches have to offer. If you want a more relaxing experience, you can dine at one our many beach front restaurants and bars. After spending the day in the sun, enjoy the best gay nightlife at one of Fort Lauderdale's flirtatious bars and nightclubs. Wilton Manors has a vast amount of night entertainment, perfect for everyone. Our resort is just a 15 minute drive from Fort Lauderdale airport and 10 minutes away from Port Everglades. There is ample complimentary and off-street parking available. Book your stay today at Grand Palm Plaza. Our courteous staff, comfortable studios, suites and nearby beaches, gay bars and night clubs will make it easy for you to escape, play or celebrate! A memorable, affordable and relaxing getaway is right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Palm Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Plaza Gay Male Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palm Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.