We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palm Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palm Plaza to your Saves list
Grand Palm Plaza
2.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   2801 Rio Mar Street, 501 Orton Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly Palm Plaza Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
lansing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved this resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I loved this resort. This is the first gay resort I been to I was greeted with a very friendly staff and they were willing to help out any way possible. I came to Ft Lauderdale looking for a seafood buffet and come to find out they don’t even have one. Edward told me about a local seafood restaurant. I went and it was great. Being gluten free it is normally hard to find anything on the menu that I could eat besides salads. I can’t wait to see the new look. I went to the sister property the Royal Palms for lunch. I was VERY unhappy with the service there. After 5 minutes I grab my own menu and another 30 minute before some came to get my food and drink order. The food was over price and was tasteless and drinks were overpriced. I work in the hospitality field so I know what service is about and how food should look and taste. I probably won’t go back to the Royal Palm for drinks or food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    76
    10
    9
    6
See reviews for
4
162
63
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This was booked for months, but NO mention until the day of arrival that the pool was closed, and that there was recent change of ownership. The public spaces were filthy, looked like nothing had been cleaned for a long time. Manager, was friendly but made excuses for everything, and the staff was ridiculous, as in lazy and did not follow up to do as they said the would. Will never return to this hole.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandPalmPlaza, General Manager at Grand Palm Plaza, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
I am very sorry that your experience with us in October was not a pleasant stay. We did try our best at the time to accomodate you with the challenges that faced our property. Unexpected pool repairs were needed immediately and we could not notify guests in time.

In October 2012, we became a part of The North Beach Village Group, owners of mutliple resorts in the area. We work closely with our new company to provide excellent customer service and provide unsatified guests other lodging options when occurrances like this happen. Every day we are making improvements such as new linen and food services to housekeeping staff and property maintanence.

I do not make excuses for our mistakes, but provide factual information to the best of my knowledge. Each day is a learning experience and I sincerly hope you consider staying with us again in the future.

Best Wishes and Happy New Year,
Edward, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkley, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I was hesitant to book at Palm Plaza because the prices were lower than others within the same area and I only has pictures to guide me. It was the best vacation decision I made. The staff was welcoming, informative and very interested to please. The other guests became friends. Half the rooms are awesome, the other half is needing some minor upgrades. The grounds are private and in a great location. I'm hesitant to write this because I'm afraid Fort Lauderdale's best kept secret might get out. But I would like others to be able to make the same memories I did. I booked another week before I left.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is a friendly, laid-back, relatively inexpensive place that feels out of the way but is just a few blocks west of the beach and a few blocks north of the gay stretch of sand south of San Sebastian. It's clothing-optional by the pool, which is open all day and night. The staff is very helpful and nice, and the rooms are clean. Parking is convenient. There's a tiny gym on site, and Palm Plaza guests can use the nearby Royal Palm's new gym and spa for free. Just a few caveats: the housekeeping staff seemed confused about how many—if any—people were staying in our room each day, the bed we had was much firmer than I'd like, and the facility is a bit worn around the edges. (It was recently bought by new owners, so it will probably get a few needed improvements soon.) This was our second stay, and I will happily return for another relaxing visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

It was a nice and cosy place to stay at, not far from the beach, and the people are always friendly and helpful. They will always try to please you if there is something they can do. Also, you get some nice privacy, on top of the nice rooms and I had a rain shower!

Room Tip: Basic rooms are quite good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had a great time here. We loved the pool. Very quiet and the guests where nice. The staff was very helpful. This was the first time here and planing on going back. We rented a car and had no problem for parking. Keep up the good work.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I planned to spend a week to relax in Fort Lauderdale and I succeeded thanks to Edward and the staff of that resort who were caring about everything. Real beautiful oasis, garden and the pool was nice and clean as was my room. And since it,s really important for my bad back, the bed and matress were firm! For sure I'm planning going back there hopefully next Spring.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#27 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#8 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 712 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#3 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 2,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#5 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale
#39 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,622 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard by Marriott Fort Laude...
#42 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palm Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palm Plaza

Address: 2801 Rio Mar Street, 501 Orton Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly Palm Plaza Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Palm Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded, tropical, fun and frisky oasis - Perfect for relaxation, rejuvenation and romance. We guarantee you will never want to leave! Dreaming of escaping to a beautiful paradise is everyone's idea of a perfect retreat from their everyday life. Whether it be with your lover, a group of close friends or freely unattached, the Grand Palm Plaza guarantees our unique tropical paradise is perfect for any memorable affair. Here, you are not only treated like a VIP, you are treated like family. First-class service is a guarantee at Grand Palm Plaza. Our warm and friendly staff is renowned for their unique customer service and vast knowledge of the Fort Lauderdale area. No request is too small for our team of hosts. As our guest, you can sunbathe in our very private, seductive, tropical paradise; or skinny dip in our turquoise, clothing-optional, heated pool. Continental breakfast is served daily. Frozen grapes, scented cold face towels, and impromptu cocktail beverages are served pool side. If you want to experience Fort Lauderdale's famous beaches, you can take a peaceful 2 block walk to our legendary sandy beaches. We are also a few blocks away from the well-renowned gay beach located at Sebastian Street. Complimentary beach chairs, umbrellas & towels are provided. With activities like snorkeling, water craft rentals, bike rentals and more, you can enjoy all the beaches have to offer. If you want a more relaxing experience, you can dine at one our many beach front restaurants and bars. After spending the day in the sun, enjoy the best gay nightlife at one of Fort Lauderdale's flirtatious bars and nightclubs. Wilton Manors has a vast amount of night entertainment, perfect for everyone. Our resort is just a 15 minute drive from Fort Lauderdale airport and 10 minutes away from Port Everglades. There is ample complimentary and off-street parking available. Book your stay today at Grand Palm Plaza. Our courteous staff, comfortable studios, suites and nearby beaches, gay bars and night clubs will make it easy for you to escape, play or celebrate! A memorable, affordable and relaxing getaway is right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Grand Palm Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Plaza Gay Male Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palm Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.