We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bargain near the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palm Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palm Plaza to your Saves list
Grand Palm Plaza
2.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   2801 Rio Mar Street, 501 Orton Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly Palm Plaza Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A bargain near the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is a friendly, laid-back, relatively inexpensive place that feels out of the way but is just a few blocks west of the beach and a few blocks north of the gay stretch of sand south of San Sebastian. It's clothing-optional by the pool, which is open all day and night. The staff is very helpful and nice, and the rooms are clean. Parking is convenient. There's a tiny gym on site, and Palm Plaza guests can use the nearby Royal Palm's new gym and spa for free. Just a few caveats: the housekeeping staff seemed confused about how many—if any—people were staying in our room each day, the bed we had was much firmer than I'd like, and the facility is a bit worn around the edges. (It was recently bought by new owners, so it will probably get a few needed improvements soon.) This was our second stay, and I will happily return for another relaxing visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    76
    10
    9
    6
See reviews for
4
163
65
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

It was a nice and cosy place to stay at, not far from the beach, and the people are always friendly and helpful. They will always try to please you if there is something they can do. Also, you get some nice privacy, on top of the nice rooms and I had a rain shower!

Room Tip: Basic rooms are quite good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had a great time here. We loved the pool. Very quiet and the guests where nice. The staff was very helpful. This was the first time here and planing on going back. We rented a car and had no problem for parking. Keep up the good work.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I planned to spend a week to relax in Fort Lauderdale and I succeeded thanks to Edward and the staff of that resort who were caring about everything. Real beautiful oasis, garden and the pool was nice and clean as was my room. And since it,s really important for my bad back, the bed and matress were firm! For sure I'm planning going back there hopefully next Spring.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearwater
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Having been a guest here nine times we call this resort home. Steve and Ron will always have a special place in our hearts. Our visit this time was a comedy of errors. The pool was closed our first seven days thanks to Broward County and the change of ownership. When the pool was reopened it was beautiful and very clean, unfortunately the hurricane was now furnishing us with sustained winds in the 30 to 40 category and the north end of A 1 A was closed causing long drives to be with our friends and have dinner. That said Edward was excellent and really made us welcome.The plans to connect the two properties sound excellent and if done without killing the ambiance of the Palm it can become even better than before. I would urge the new owners to continue to offer an affordable place for poor old drama free people like me to come and make wonderful friends as we have in the past. This is not a wild party location and we have enjoyed people comfortable in their own skins from all over the world. We have lasting friendships here and many of us meet several times a year to be together and enjoy the Palm. Many thing need fixing and replacing and new ownership has really indicated that they are doing that. The old girl was getting run down and needs some work as all of us do inn old age. We love the Palm and the new staff listens and are very attentive. Congratulations Michael you will be a great asset to Edward and we love you both. Keep up the good work and please owners don't change the Palms ambiance and its wwonderful mix of people.

Room Tip: Quiet restful place to get away from it all. Love the suites as great for having friends in to visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My son and I recently stayed in this resort. Being the first female ever allowed I was somewhat apprehensive how I would be treated. Everyone was wonderful including the other guest and staff. Edward and his staff were very friendly and attentive to detail. The room was beautiful and always clean, as was the beautiful grounds and pool. I've never felt so welcomed and at ease. Although a hurricane was bearing don on us, Edward made sure all rooms had flashlight and water.Thank you Edward, his staff and all the guests
Nancy R ( Kevins mom) Newport News, Va

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pace, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We recently enjoyed a 10-day stay at the Palm Plaza Resort in Ft. Lauderdale. From the moment we walked in we were welcomed by GM Edward and Assistant Manager Michael. They helped us settle in to our roomy 1 bedroom suite. The building has that old Florida feel and lush pool and garden area made for relaxing times. The other guests were friendly and we could usually find conversation. The resort had a diverse group of international and national guests.

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and highly recommend the Palm Plaza Resort. Thanks again Edward, Michael, and the entire staff for a very enjoyable and relaxing stay.

Steve and Earl

Room Tip: Stay upstairs in one ot the one bedroom suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#26 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#8 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 733 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#3 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn
#52 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 975 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#15 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 2,894 reviews
Central Beach
Hotel Lush Royale
Hotel Lush Royale
#9 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palm Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palm Plaza

Address: 2801 Rio Mar Street, 501 Orton Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly Palm Plaza Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Palm Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded, tropical, fun and frisky oasis - Perfect for relaxation, rejuvenation and romance. We guarantee you will never want to leave! Dreaming of escaping to a beautiful paradise is everyone's idea of a perfect retreat from their everyday life. Whether it be with your lover, a group of close friends or freely unattached, the Grand Palm Plaza guarantees our unique tropical paradise is perfect for any memorable affair. Here, you are not only treated like a VIP, you are treated like family. First-class service is a guarantee at Grand Palm Plaza. Our warm and friendly staff is renowned for their unique customer service and vast knowledge of the Fort Lauderdale area. No request is too small for our team of hosts. As our guest, you can sunbathe in our very private, seductive, tropical paradise; or skinny dip in our turquoise, clothing-optional, heated pool. Continental breakfast is served daily. Frozen grapes, scented cold face towels, and impromptu cocktail beverages are served pool side. If you want to experience Fort Lauderdale's famous beaches, you can take a peaceful 2 block walk to our legendary sandy beaches. We are also a few blocks away from the well-renowned gay beach located at Sebastian Street. Complimentary beach chairs, umbrellas & towels are provided. With activities like snorkeling, water craft rentals, bike rentals and more, you can enjoy all the beaches have to offer. If you want a more relaxing experience, you can dine at one our many beach front restaurants and bars. After spending the day in the sun, enjoy the best gay nightlife at one of Fort Lauderdale's flirtatious bars and nightclubs. Wilton Manors has a vast amount of night entertainment, perfect for everyone. Our resort is just a 15 minute drive from Fort Lauderdale airport and 10 minutes away from Port Everglades. There is ample complimentary and off-street parking available. Book your stay today at Grand Palm Plaza. Our courteous staff, comfortable studios, suites and nearby beaches, gay bars and night clubs will make it easy for you to escape, play or celebrate! A memorable, affordable and relaxing getaway is right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand Palm Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Plaza Gay Male Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palm Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.