We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than expected!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palm Plaza

Save Saved
You added Grand Palm Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Palm Plaza
2.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   2801 Rio Mar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly Palm Plaza Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“More than expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I planned to spend a week to relax in Fort Lauderdale and I succeeded thanks to Edward and the staff of that resort who were caring about everything. Real beautiful oasis, garden and the pool was nice and clean as was my room. And since it,s really important for my bad back, the bed and matress were firm! For sure I'm planning going back there hopefully next Spring.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    42
    6
    8
    7
See reviews for
4
87
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
clearwater
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Having been a guest here nine times we call this resort home. Steve and Ron will always have a special place in our hearts. Our visit this time was a comedy of errors. The pool was closed our first seven days thanks to Broward County and the change of ownership. When the pool was reopened it was beautiful and very clean, unfortunately the hurricane was now furnishing us with sustained winds in the 30 to 40 category and the north end of A 1 A was closed causing long drives to be with our friends and have dinner. That said Edward was excellent and really made us welcome.The plans to connect the two properties sound excellent and if done without killing the ambiance of the Palm it can become even better than before. I would urge the new owners to continue to offer an affordable place for poor old drama free people like me to come and make wonderful friends as we have in the past. This is not a wild party location and we have enjoyed people comfortable in their own skins from all over the world. We have lasting friendships here and many of us meet several times a year to be together and enjoy the Palm. Many thing need fixing and replacing and new ownership has really indicated that they are doing that. The old girl was getting run down and needs some work as all of us do inn old age. We love the Palm and the new staff listens and are very attentive. Congratulations Michael you will be a great asset to Edward and we love you both. Keep up the good work and please owners don't change the Palms ambiance and its wwonderful mix of people.

Room Tip: Quiet restful place to get away from it all. Love the suites as great for having friends in to visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My son and I recently stayed in this resort. Being the first female ever allowed I was somewhat apprehensive how I would be treated. Everyone was wonderful including the other guest and staff. Edward and his staff were very friendly and attentive to detail. The room was beautiful and always clean, as was the beautiful grounds and pool. I've never felt so welcomed and at ease. Although a hurricane was bearing don on us, Edward made sure all rooms had flashlight and water.Thank you Edward, his staff and all the guests
Nancy R ( Kevins mom) Newport News, Va

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pace, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We recently enjoyed a 10-day stay at the Palm Plaza Resort in Ft. Lauderdale. From the moment we walked in we were welcomed by GM Edward and Assistant Manager Michael. They helped us settle in to our roomy 1 bedroom suite. The building has that old Florida feel and lush pool and garden area made for relaxing times. The other guests were friendly and we could usually find conversation. The resort had a diverse group of international and national guests.

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and highly recommend the Palm Plaza Resort. Thanks again Edward, Michael, and the entire staff for a very enjoyable and relaxing stay.

Steve and Earl

Room Tip: Stay upstairs in one ot the one bedroom suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I recently stayed at Palm Plaza, it was absolutely a wonderful place. The GM was a peach!! Very quiet and relaxing. We came in as " Sandy" was passing thru. The GM left flashlights in all of the rooms and was very attentive to all of our needs. The property is gorgeous with heated pool and plenty of lounging areas. Our room, ( we had a mini kitchen ) was tastefully decorated, a very comfortable bed ( with multiple pillows ), a spacious bathroom, and fully furnished kitchen with fridge. We never felt more at home!!

Kevin H. Newport News, Virginia

Room Tip: All rooms are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Three minute walk to the beach, location, location, location. The luxurious garden gives you a graet vibe the minute you walk in. The room was big and had all the amenities you need to make a meal. Very clean and confortable. In august with the humidity, the pool was very refreshing and clean. Early in the morning they make sure that everything is clean in tidy. The room hasn't been renovated lately but was very confortable !

Room Tip: The place wasn'nt busy so very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Thanks to the staff of the Palm plaza rsort we had a wonderfull stay at their resort. The minute we entered the garden, there was this ambiance and relaxed atmosphere. we hope to visit FL and the Palm Plaza Resort again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Palm Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palm Plaza

Also Known As:
Palm Plaza Gay Male Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Palm Plaza Gay Male Hotel
Address: 2801 Rio Mar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly Palm Plaza Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 Specialty lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Palm Plaza 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED, Exclusive all gay male resort. Tropical, casual, relaxed. Clean, comfortable rooms. Grand Palm Plaza blends the best elements of guesthouse services with sincere, friendly staff to offer a gay haven. Ideally located, just steps to the Fort Lauderdale beaches with magnificent views of the intra-coastal on a quiet street. Simply beautiful gardens, Clothing optional heated pool, beautiful tropical gardens and new high speed WiFi system come together to assure that you always have something to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Grand Palm Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palm Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.