We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alhambra Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort Lauderdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alhambra Beach Resort
Save Saved
You added Alhambra Beach Resort to your Saves list
3021 Alhambra Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Best hotel on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We booked our stay based on Trip Advisor reviews of this hotel, and we could not have been happier. We were in south florida for the Dolphins-Bears game (GO BEARS!!!) and wanted to stay in Lauderdale as opposed to South Beach. I have stayed at many of the hotels in FLL, from budget to luxery, but Alhambra will be our choice from now on. Great management, always ready to help, and fantastic location. Within walking distance to all the bars/restaurants and the water taxi. Great little pool for a float in the sun. The Casablanca Cafe has good happy hour tapas menu.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    47
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
126
313
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Virginia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

This is a special, small inn - built in the 1930s - beautiful courtyard/pool area - property is well kept & clean. We had a two room suite which was very comfortable. Owner Matt and Manager Ernesto are very friendly and helpful. Location is 1/2 block from beach, close to an excellent restaurant/bar (Calypso). We will not hesitate to return the The Alhambra Beach Resort.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 181 cities Reviews in 181 cities
585 helpful votes 585 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

We booked one night here, based on Trip Advisor reviews. What a find. The location is within a 1/2 block of the ocean, and a 1/2 block of the intra-coastal waterway. We wanted to be within walking distrance of the boat parade, and it was a perfect location for that. Check-in was very quick, and they actually carried our bags to our room. How often do you get that kind of service?

The gate to the hotel grounds is locked, and you get a key for in and out. Parking is plentiful, and right outside the gate.

Our room was on the first floor, with two double beds, a dining area, very nice kitchen, small bathroom, huge front porch, and another back porch. The front porch was amazing. It included lots of tables and chairs, a laptop for guest's use, a very good breakfast laid out there in the morning, lot of towels, suntan lotion, books ... everything you could possibly want.

The pool area was really nice. Surrounded by high walls, with lots of lush greenery, plenty of lounge chairs. We didn't have time to enjoy the pool, but we will definitely be back again. They have awesome beach chairs and umbrellas for the guests to borrow. We took a couple of chairs and headed to the intra-coastal waterway for the parade.

There is a nice restaurant right at the corner. And you're within walking distance of other restaurants and a few shops. The beach here is really clean and sandy. We'll be back for a swim in the ocean here.

Overall, a fabulous experience, and I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

I have used Tripadvisor for the past couple of years when planning private trips and it has not let me down yet, so I want to let anyone reading this looking for the best place to stay in Fort Lauderdale to contact the Alhambra immediately.
Matt and Ernesto can not do enough for their guests. They run a truly excellent operation.
I booked one day in advance after a late decision to visit Fort Lauderdale for 3 days from South Beach before flying back to London. I turned up at 9 on the first morning. Not only was my room ready for me to move into immediately, but Matt kindly told me to help myself to the breakfast buffet. I availed of the complimentary beach towels and the beach chairs which you can just borrow each day.This is definitely the place to come to relax. I was alone but the other guests (families, couples of all ages) were very friendly. Matt and Ernesto were able to answer all my questions. The beautiful beach is on their doorstep. On departure day, I decided to get the train (Tri Rail) back to Miami airport to save on the cab fare. Ernesto didn't just print out a train timetable for me, he also insisted on driving me to the train station. Another example of Matt and Ernesto going beyond what was expected of them.
For someone used to staying in corporate hotels all over the world, the Alhambra Beach Resort is like a breath of fresh air. I was reluctant to write this in case I have problems booking a room next December when I hope to return!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

Most folks say they will return. We did. This review is for two stays - before and after a cruise in November. Ernesto and Matt make it like staying with family - only better. We were in #5 and the suite is just as pictured. Everything you would want - clean, well appointed, tastefully decorated, a fully stocked kitchen, if you needed it.

If you take a cab from the airport, make sure you tell the driver it is by the Casablanca Cafe. We had a very nice driver...but we had to insist - trust us, we know where we a going. The driver even called Ernesto just to be sure the tourists knew where they were going. Cab fare with tip from the airport is about $25. The location is as many others described - two minutes to Lauderdale beach - one minute to the Casablanca Cafe - yummy - loved the mahi and crab. About five minutes to a number of other places and a CVS drug store. About a $15 cab fare to the cruise terminal.

For our second stay we had arranged for a rental car. There is a Budget location just across from the cruise terminal. That location will pick you up at the cruise terminal and return you there after you return the car. Or you can make other arrangements. If you rent a car from the airport, you must return the car to the airport...then take a cab to the cruise terminal....real bummer...just a tourist game.

We did drive to Key West and back...a drive that took us five hours each way. If we were to do that again, we would make arrangements to stay in Key West for the night. Key West was cute and well worth a return visit with a bit more time. The traffic through Miami is terrible - even for folks from Southern California. We tried Sawgrass Mall outlet center and were disappointed. We have better outlet centers close to home. Matt suggested a nearby Everglades location for the air boat. We both enjoyed it, as a "once" type of adventure.

We will definitely return to Lauderdale and the Alhambra.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

We stayed at Alhambra for 5 days while we were in town visiting our daughter. The entire facility is clean and well kept. The owner made us feel welcomed with his friendly manner and cold beers. The location was perfect for us to walk to the beach and relax in the new beach chairs provided by Alhambra. They also have a great pool if you don't feel like going to the beach. We could also walk to several locations for lunch or evening meal and clubs for drinks. We found a great place for coffee at St. Barts Coffee Co. about 10 minute walk south on A!A. There's also a CVS store about a block away to the south. Look forward to staying here again and would recommend highly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

This certainly it's no 1 position. The place is immaculate and Matt and Ernesto are fabulous hosts. I heartliy recoomed this place and we will cerainly revisit on our next visit to Ft Lauderdale. We travelled with our grown up son and daughter and our accomodation was most spacious and comfortable on an upper floor 2 bedded suite.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alhambra Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Beach Resort

Address: 3021 Alhambra Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#1 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#12 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alhambra Beach Resort, your premier lodging establishment along Fort Lauderdale Beach. Our resort is neatly tucked away off A1A and is the perfect place to be within steps of Fort Lauderdale Beach without the hustle-bustle. Along with a friendly and clean atmosphere, we provide free internet access, beach towels and chairs, continental breakfast, heated pool and parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alhambra Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alhambra Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.