We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alhambra Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort Lauderdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alhambra Beach Resort
Save Saved
You added Alhambra Beach Resort to your Saves list
3021 Alhambra Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very special experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We spent a magical Christmas holiday at Alhambra Guest Resort in Fort Lauderdale. My husband, my two sisters, and I had been on a cruise and planned to stay a while in Fort Lauderdale afterwards. We caught a cab from the cruise to the Resort and must have looked a bit frazzled (after waiting three hours to debark the ship and an hour to catch a cab) upon arrival because Matt, one of the resort owners, took one look at us and immediately offered the four of us Cokes along with large cups of ice while my husband and I registered. Sadly for my sisters, they would not be staying at the Alhambra because they had not made reservations early enough. They checked into their nearby motel and then returned to spend their time with us at the lovely Alhambra. They had asked their motel hosts to help them print boarding passes for their trip home and were put off. When they rejoined us at the Alhambra, they asked Matt if he would be willing to help them. He had their passes printed in moments even though they were not his guests.

We planned to go sightseeing but were so enchanted with the serene courtyard of the Alhambra that we spent the rest of the day enjoying the lounge chairs, beautiful warm pool, and soft music that surrounds the courtyard. This is a place where a person gets to know the hosts, Matt and Ray, as well as employees by name because every person appears to be personally invested in making the Alhambra a very unique place. We came to know Ernesto, Jimmie, Mario, and Gabi, all of whom were willing to offer help at a moment’s notice.

The evening of our arrival, Christmas Eve, we were informed that there was a family group of thirteen from South Africa who planned to have a barbecue on the patio. Matt helped them set up tables complete with table cloths and then tested the grill. When it had trouble igniting, Matt ran to Home Depot and bought a huge barbecue grill. We were so impressed that Matt gave up having his Christmas Eve at home to be sure his guests had a wonderful experience. They had told Matt they would be happy to find food elsewhere, but he insisted they have their family dinner.

My husband and I were delighted with our room, room #1. The main room was quite long with hardwood floors. The decor featured palm frond art. The room contained two very comfortable queen beds at one end and a spacious dining room table at the other. Just off the dining area was a full kitchen. On a small patio outside the door of our room was a round table with chairs, perfect for the continental breakfast, though we could also have chosen to eat at any of the several tables in the palm-lined courtyard.

On Christmas Day, after eating a filling continental breakfast with choices ranging from cereal, a variety of bagels, English muffins, sweet rolls, and fruit along with coffee, tea, and juice, we decided to spend much of the day at the beach. The Alhambra made available to us backpack beach chairs and umbrellas which we took with us on our half-block walk to the gorgeous beach.

We had wondered on our walk back to the Resort about what to do about dinner. To our amazement, as soon as we passed through the locking gate to the Alhambra grounds, Ray and Matt invited us to a barbecue dinner for all guests. They said that in the past almost all guests had checked out by Christmas Day but this year every room was full. They decided to provide a full meal to anyone who cared to join them. Every table and lounge chair was filled with grateful guests.

Our third day we planned to take the Intracoastal Waterway water taxi tour, visit nearby shops, and walk the beach. The water taxi was located only three blocks from the Alhambra, and the shops, restaurants and ocean were only a half-block away. The Alhambra location was just perfect for us. When we returned to the Alhambra, Matt was wiping down every table and chair in the courtyard even though we thought everything was already perfectly clean.

I don’t often write reviews but I felt compelled to write about the Alhambra Guest Resort. I recommend it most highly. Our experience there felt very special.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    47
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
126
315
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Read the reviews via TripAdvisor and booked a room for two nights during our stay in December. My daughter and I had a very pleasant stay. The management was professional and helpful...especially when she was stung by a jellyfish on the nearby beach. The room was clean including the pool area . I witnessed one manager painstankingly wiping down each and every patio chair, down to each rung. Management was courteous and made us feel welcomed and comfortable. Never too imposing, but sincere in making sure we were accommodated during our stay. The hotel is convenient to the beach, free parking and accessible to many restaurants and shops. Great for solo travelers, couples and families.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, or
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Our flight to DFW was delayed so we missed our connecting flight to FLL. Just to be considerate, we called the Alhambra and told them that we wouldn't be able to stay with them that night. Because of our circumstances, they amazingly said that they wouldn't charge us for the night. This on maybe 8 hours notice. Guess where we'll be the next time we're taking a cruise out of FLL.

Oh yes, and prior to that, they had been very responsive to our emails about certain aspects of our anticipated brief stay as it was in the midst of a longer trip and we had questions about various logistics surrounding the hotel and services in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Stayed here the beginning of December. Room was spacious and well appointed. Staff was friendly and there was a nice continental breakfast. Location is well suited to walk on the beach or to local dining. our only complaint was it was a very windy time and we had a corner unit that had excessive wind noise.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

All the other positive reviews are right on. This was a terrific place. We had a pretty small room with 3 of us jammed in it, but we didn't go there to stay in the room. And we had a balcony right outside the room. Also spent a lot of time in the little courtyard with the pool. Leisurely breakfast - simple but perfectly fine. People were terrific, accommodating - moved furniture in and out of the room for us, perfect location. They have beach chairs, umbrellas and towels to take to the beach, within easy walking distance of lots of beach stores and restaurants. All good.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We were lucky enough to be able to spend three nights pre-cruise at the Alhambra Beach Resort and I wish we missed the ship and spent the following week here instead! Don't get me wrong - we loved our cruise, but we were so sad to leave the Alhambra and the wonderful, friendly staff! There are numerous reviews stating all the great things that make this the number one hotel in Fort Lauderdale, I just wish I could explain with words how this place - and the wonderful people who run it - makes you feel.
All I know is that I can't wait to return!
Kudo's to the Alhambra.
We can't wait to see you again!!

Chris & Leah Carlson

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

A year ago I found the Alhambra Beach Resort Hotel on line and I received such a nice reply to my email I knew right away this was going to be a wonderful place to stay and I was right. Ernesto answered my first email and before long we were emailing back and forth and he always had answers to my questions. My sister and I were taking a 10 day cruise out of Ft. Lauderdale with Royal Caribbean and this hotel was the perfect location. It is only a few steps to the magnificent Fort Lauderdale Beach, around the corner from the wonderful Casablanca Cafe which offers a great menu and good service. There are all kinds of shops and sidewalk cafes and restaurants within a few blocks of the Alhambra. The hotel has 10 rooms with two large two bedroom suites with kitchen, dining area and living room. These units also have two bathrooms. This is the unit we had during our four day stay and it gave us plenty of room. The one bedroom units have lots of space, balcony and private bathrooms. Each morning Ernesto or Matt, who is one of the owners, prepares a great continental breakfast of juice, hot coffee, muffins, cereal, fruit, and a variety of English muffins and bagels for toasting. There is also a good supply of granola bars for a mid morning snack. Breakfast is included in the price.
The hotel is located on a beautiful property with lots of shade palm trees, flowering shrubs and lots of flowers. A heated pool surrounded by lounge chairs makes the property a wonderful place to relax.
The hotel is exceptionally clean and well kept. The grounds are constantly looked after and each night a cleaner arrives to make sure all the lawn furniture is prepared for the next day.
Alhambra Beach Resort is the place to stay if you want a quiet vacation but close to all the action which is only one city block away.
My husband and I made a trip this November to Ft. Lauderdale and of course Alhambra was the place to stay.
Again we went on a cruise and it is only a 10 minute taxi ride to Port Everglades and about 20 minutes to the airport...There are also wonderful shopping malls only a short drive or by the local bus which is 400 feet away. There is also the Hop On-Hop Off buss right at the corner near the Casablanca Cafe. There is also a stop by the sightseeing water taxi tour only a block away. You can buy your water taxi ticket at the Alhambra and spend the day on the intercostal waterways seeing the magnificent homes and yachts. The water taxi is also a hop on and hop off operation with plenty of restaurants and shops along the way.
The sunrise at the beach is magnificent and if you are up to it, you can join the dozens who walk and jog along the wide sidewalk near the beach. They usually start around 6:30 a.m. and you can join them any time of the day.
Alhambra is in a five star location and offers five star service. It is a true treasure. When you are out all day at the beach, sightseeing or shopping, coming back to the Alhambra is like coming home.
The Alhambra is a great place for us. As far as we are concerned it is a five star experience. We will be back again that is for sure.

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alhambra Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Beach Resort

Address: 3021 Alhambra Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alhambra Beach Resort, your premier lodging establishment along Fort Lauderdale Beach. Our resort is neatly tucked away off A1A and is the perfect place to be within steps of Fort Lauderdale Beach without the hustle-bustle. Along with a friendly and clean atmosphere, we provide free internet access, beach towels and chairs, continental breakfast, heated pool and parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alhambra Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alhambra Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.