We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm a Believer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alhambra Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort Lauderdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alhambra Beach Resort
Save
You added Alhambra Beach Resort to your Saves list
3021 Alhambra Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Lafayette, IN
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“I'm a Believer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

After reading all the reviews for this hotel on Trip Advisor, and seeing the #1 rating, I decided to take a chance and book a stay there (I had been bitten previously by the ranking of a hotel that was anything but "premier" and I was a bit nervous). However, The Alhambra Beach Resort was GREAT! Half a block to a great stretch of beach that was never crowded; we figured we would have had a longer walk to the beach if we were in one of the big hotels along the beach. There are no highrise hotels on that one block-long section, so the big crowds were to the right and left of us. Saturday was the most crowded day, and I counted 12 people, including us.

The owner and manager were both wonderful. We were met at the gate as the cab pulled up, shown to our room and greeted with a friendly smile (and sometimes a beer) everytime we saw them. They had Tommy Bahama umbrellas and beach chairs to use for free and a free continental breakfast. Room had a fridge and a microwave. We were in the smallest room they had, but found it to be cozy and comfortable.

On the Friday afternoon we were there, they had a cook-out for all the guests and did hamburgers and hotdogs to order, plus sides, drinks and beer. For FREE! This is FLL, where it costs you $5 for a moldy sandwich out fo the CVS cooler (we know, because we bought one. Yuck!).

I would highly recommend this hotel. Nothing "fancy", but clean, comfortable and friendly, in a great location, with beautiful landscaping. And Matt and Ernesto will do everything to make your stay enjoyable. We can't wait to get back to Fort Lauderdale so we can stay at the Alhambra Beach Resort!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    60
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
142
367
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
phoenix, az
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

You are making a mistake if you don't stay at the Alhambra. It is difficult to make a positive statement that has not already been made regarding this property and its proprietors. I don't believe that "charm" is a word I use in daily conversation, but I couldn't help thinking what "charm" this place has every time my wife and I walked "home" from the beach or a meal. And what a bargain considering the fact that you have free beach parking, a nice free breakfast, free loan of floats , beach chairs and umbrellas, AND you couldn't get on the beach any faster when you consider elevator time in one of the high rise, much higher priced neighboring hotels. The rooms with a kitchen are extremely handy, and although there are only queen size beds, they were very comfortable This is a can't miss deal, and you wont find more pleasant hosts than Matt and Ernesto. The location feels safe, and within walking distance you have plenty of restaurants, a CVS pharmacy that carries all the necessities (in 6 and 12 packs), and at least a half million souvenir shops. Thanks for a great stay !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Spent a wonderful week by the beach in this non-pretentious, yet delightful home. Had the "back room" for 4 of my 7 nights, maybe the smallest, but also a bargain! Then, moved to a spacious suite on the second floor, a little higher price but absolutely worth it.
Every detail is well taken care of: breakfast choices are great, coffee is first quality, gardens and pool are immaculate, clean and comfortable linens, free parking, beach chairs & towels (free) and wi-fi (also free)... superb location, you name it! But above all, the icing on the cake are the human beings behind this picture-perfect operation.
Gabi, Allison, Ernesto and Matt are so friendly and courteous, always ready to help in any possible way. Thanks to you all! This is the kind of place I want to stay at, more than once...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Ernesto flew out of the little office to warmly greet us and show us to our room. He pointed out certain amenities, such as the beach umbrellas, chairs, and towels that we could take with us to the beach (a half a block away). The pool is available 24 hours/day to guests, and it is surrounded by beautiful flowering bushes and trees. The atmosphere is so charming and the personal attention from the staff is so friendly that it seemed to envelope the guests in a warm and fuzzy fog of conviviality (kept shaking hands with people every time we left our room, and our new friends weren't even wasted!). We appreciated everything from the bug spray and sunblock, to the towels that weren't starched to cardboard, and the good coffee at breakfast. If for no other reason, the desire to try each of the Alhambra's accomodations and be spoiled by Ernesto's hospitality will bring us back to Ft. Lauderdale again and again. Well, and maybe the ceviche at the Casablanca Cafe...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange City, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

I read all the reviews about the Alhambra Beach Resort and the website does not do this place justice! We pulled up and Ernesto met us in the parking lot. He introduced himself and greeted us by name. Gave us a tour and told us about the hotel and led us to our room! The room was like a cabana with a ceiling fan and absolutely spotlessly clean! The bed was comfortable and the room was ice cold!
We went in the pool everyday and fell in love with the clear water and socialized with other guests of the hotel. I hate to write this amazing review because the "No Vacancy" sign was up the whole time we stayed. The breakfast in the morning was great! This is customer service taken to the highest degree and the cost is truly reasonable! We will come back and visit again, but make reservations early because the word is out!
The Alhambra beach resort is amazing!

Room Tip: If you only have one or two people than go for the standard hotel rooms like 2 and 6, but if you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegna, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

a small jewel between highrise hotels. nice terrace and swimmingpool. a 1 minute walk to the beach. breakfast included! nice choice of food. owner and employees very nice and available. towels, chairs and umbrella for the beach. eventhough you are close to the restaurants and shops, it is very quiet. a great place to be for going on trips in the surroundings. we, a couple and two teenage sons, had a great time and would certainly come back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Monte, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

This is by far the BEST hotel I've ever stayed in. I booked a night's stay in this hotel as part of my boyfriend's surprise birthday weekend and I can't tell you how amazing the service was. They had a 12-pack of beer + balloons in the room ready for our arrival. Ernesto greeted us at the front when our cab arrived and was incredibly welcoming. All the guests were friendly as well. We stayed in Room #3 and it was clean and spacious - just perfect for the two of us. I love that it's just a few minutes walk to Casablanca Cafe where we had his birthday dinner and to the ocean. Good walking distance to beach bars and CVS Pharmacy (open 24 hours!!). Matt was SO nice and helped us figure out how to get to Miami the next day. Both Matt and Ernesto went the extra mile to make sure we had the best time.

My boyfriend is probably the PICKIEST and high maintenance guy ever, and even he raved about how amazing this place was. This is definitely the place for you to stay if you want great service, perfect location, and a stress-free vacation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alhambra Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Beach Resort

Address: 3021 Alhambra Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#17 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alhambra Beach Resort, your premier lodging establishment along Fort Lauderdale Beach. Our resort is neatly tucked away off A1A and is the perfect place to be within steps of Fort Lauderdale Beach without the hustle-bustle. Along with a friendly and clean atmosphere, we provide free internet access, beach towels and chairs, continental breakfast, heated pool and parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alhambra Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alhambra Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.