We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food and quirky place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mexican Cantina

Mexican Cantina
2870 East Sunrise Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
954-565-3839
Improve this listing
Ranked #458 of 1,111 restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice food and quirky place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Don't be deceived by the exterior. Inside is a great little restaurant with great food, great service and excellent drinks... try a huge marguerita.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    15
    29
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Stay away, dishonest people. They steel from you.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Just return from a visit at the restaurent. Had two margeritad, the waiter thinks I am drunk. When I asked for the cheque, I receive a total of 14 $ more than . should be and I could not get a specification. I asked for the menu to see the prices and thereafter an explanation, but at that time the waiter, who claims to have worked there for 20 years, was disappered. I have seen similiar scam in Africa but have not excepted it in US. Stay away if they are dishonest about the bill, they are dishonest about the food. I can document the above..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stockport
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Ate here one Sunday evening. Food was OK and service reasonable. Quite a wide ranging menu, but Steaks and obviously Mexican food are the specialities Good value for money.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherfordton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Appearances are deceiving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I love Tex-Mex, but when we walked in the door, I was a bit turned off. The restaurant is musty smelling and decor is very outdated. However the food was good and hit the spot for a quick, reasonable priced meal. The salsa was very good - which to me is always the tell-tale sign of a good Tex-Mex restaurant. My husband had one of the Chicken salads which had very tasty Ancho seasoning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“giant margaritas!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Food was your standard fare, they burned my food once, and the 2nd time we ate there they brought my friend the wrong thing, However, i would go back. I like Tex-Mex, they have a decent bartender so the drinks are good, and location is conveinient to my timeshare.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexican Cantina also viewed

 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 

Been to Mexican Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mexican Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.