We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an event” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale

Save Saved
You added The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   321 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #26 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What an event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

The hotel was very welcoming. Much better than when it was the Sheraton Yankee Trader. The rooms are clean and spacious. The pool is refreshing and has a fantastic pool bar. Michelle from the pool bar is very friendly and a great host. Her personality makes your stay much more enjoyable. A credit to the staffing team. A great day / evening can can spent around the pool.

The only criticisim is the music around the pool is played 24 hours which is a shame as it spoils the sound of the ocean at night. I would recommend the music is turned off at night.

The hotel is right next to the ocean with great views. The beach beds and umbrellas are also available and organised by Johnny, who is also very friendly and helpful.

All in all, a great holiday and very friendly staff who will make your stay as pleasant as they can.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,622 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    732
    577
    200
    64
    49
See reviews for
385
554
90
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

My stay was incredible! The staff...Jorge,Michelle,Otto, and Everyone in Shula's were the best. From the time of check in til the time of departure....my stay was fantastic like visiting family for r&r. Every day I had breakfast with the Shula family and lunch at Wave's with my new friend Michelle. This hotel is located in the perfect spot...not too far... not too close...shopping, dining, sightseeing, mingling, and nightlife.
I loved going to sleep & waking up to the sound of water splashing against the shore. Peaceful runs in the morning along the beach or evening workouts in the well equipped Westin Workout. The water taxi was the best...I learned new and interesting facts, met new friends, walked the River Walk, and shopped in Los Olas.
I can't wait to come back to the Westin Beach Resort in Fort Lauderdale! I would recommend this hotel...Each and everyone one of you touch my life and help to make my vacation wonderful.
*One downside...my housekeeper did not do the best job in cleaning my room.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Westin for a week in late May/early June 2009. We used to stay here all the time when it was the Sheraton Yankee Trader. The staff is much friendlier now (in our opinion). The rooms were updated and very comfortable. I really have nothing bad to say about the hotel other than the price of the mandatory valet parking-more than a bit ridiculous at over 25/day! The shuttered doors in the bathroom were a little odd too. There is no privacy in the restroom with a shuttered door......

Please go see Michelle at the pool bar. She is a complete sweetheart and very fun to talk to. My father-in-law was in the hospital during our stay, and she always asked how he was doing. She even offered to pack us a picnic lunch to share with my in-laws on our visit to the hospital.

Tip: Free wireless internet is available in the lobby of the hotel, so take your laptop downstairs to check your mail instead of paying the fee each day.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
augusta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

We had a problem with the thermastat and Associate Adrain Graham with the Maintainance Dept. was quick to respond and fix the problem. Thanks! Very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

This hotel is a new renovation of an older starwood property. They are not totally finished with the renovation, but nearly complete. Check-in was quick and easy. We got there early and a room wasn't ready, but they called me when our room was available. The room was very clean.

The pool area is nice. I saw the staff come around with cool towels for the pool guests, which is a nice touch. The beach is across the street from the hotel, but they do have a sky-bridge to take you from the pool deck to the beach to avoid crossing A1A. The fitness room is also clean and well-equipped for a hotel with ~6 treadmills, 3 elliptical machines, several bikes and free weights and a few weight machines.

We had lunch next to the pool and we ordered room-service for breakfast one day. Both meals were good and the service was good too.

The only con that I can think of was that the walls were a little thin. We were in the South Tower - maybe it is different in the North Tower.

We did valet our rental car. The cost is $25/day, but worth it if you are going to be going out and using the car. The valet was quick to get the car and always friendly.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONNECTICUT
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

The rooms are clean, and the location is great. The staff will not go out of their way for you(except the doorman) and check in and check out are PAINFULLY slow. Having said that, the beach across the street was better than Miami Beach--soft sand, clear, clear, water...and the pool at the hotel is not enormous, but good enough. The new spa is lovely--although except for the person doing your treatment, no one there is going to go the extra mile for you. The fitness center looks out on to the ocean. We had a problem with noisy neighbors, but it's a risk in any hotel.
It's worth walking a few blocks down the road for breakfast, our favorite place was H2O. There is a cute dinner place called Casablanca about a block away, as well.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

We stayed at this hotel from 8/1 thru 8/7. Upon reading the reviews on this hotel, I knew what to expect as most reviews are right on. I did ask if any upgrades were available at check-in and was told only at a cost of an additional $40 a day. I politely declined this. We were given a King bed guestroom that overlooked the parking garage, however it did have a view of the river that runs behind the hotel. We were worried initially because our room was right next door to the elevators. To our surprise, we never heard a thing the entire week of our stay. The hotel itself is nice. Obvious that it has been remodeled. Our room was clean. The bed and bedding was excellent. The HD flatscreen on the wall was awesome. The furnishings and decor were also nice. The bathroom was also remodeled and nice. As we did not have children, the tiled walk-in shower was awesome, clean, and had great water pressure. As far as the negatives, like the other reviews, the lack of bathroom privacy due to the type of door, the cost of parking and internet, were the only drawbacks. Concierge was helpful, but often had people waiting in line. Could have used 2 on hand during the evenings. The pool was nice, with plenty of seating options and the poolside bar was convenient. Service while at the pool was lacking, for the most part, you had to go to the bar to put in a order and then they would bring it out to you. The beach access is also great, and they do have an attendant at the beach to help you with chairs. You are given 2 chairs per room on the beach at no cost, but have to pay $20/day for an umbrella. Overall, great trip, nice hotel, great value for what we paid for our room, convenient location, and good restaurant on site in Shula's!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale

Address: 321 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#19 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront setting offers diving, sailing, fishing, or just quiet relaxation. But beachside bliss is only the start: we have a rejuvenating spa and fitness center and a serene oceanfront pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Amex, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beach Resort And Spa, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Westin Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.