We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   321 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Hotel is very clean and comfortable. Staff go out ot their way to take care of you. "Stormin the Doorman" is the best first impression the hotel could give. He is unbelievably welcoming, friendly, attentive, professional, kind and bends over backwards to help his guests with anything they need. This is not oly when you first arrive but everytime you enter or leave the lobby if he is there. Love him! Location is great. Lots of restaurants within walking distance and plenty within a short drive. The concierge is very helpful with recommendations, making reservations, giving directions etc. Front desk staff are friendly and helpful. Cleaning staff do a fabulous job and always have a smile and a kind word to say. Valets really hustle to get your car and are very helpful and friendly as well. Ray the pool manager and his workers Joe, Jon and christian are remarkable. They take care of your needs before you even know you have one!! Pool area is managed extremely well and always clean. Complimentary chairs and umbrellas are also available on the beach. The poolside bar serves a light lunch. Drinks are a little pricey but Adan the bartender never forgets a face. He will make your drink exactly the way you like it everytime without being told. Hotel restaurant is a steak house. Very good but very high end. Would like to see a more budget friendly restaurant on site especially for breakfast and lunch. Overall a wonderful experience. Felt truly pampered and well cared for. This was our 3rd visit and we will be going back!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but an ocean view is worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear prendymom: Thank you sharing your glowing review with us and the rest of our TripAdvisor community. We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful experience during your recent stay at the rejuvenating Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale. We have a fantastic team of associates, who strive to go above and beyond all guest expectations! With premium outlets and beautiful accents, our beachfront property is an ideal vacation retreat for couples, families, and business travelers. We hope to see you again in the near future shall your travels bring you back to Sunny Fort Lauderdale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    718
    277
    104
    64
See reviews for
505
703
108
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The hotel was very clean - the service was very good - the only partial inconvenience is that hotel doesn't have self parking available - all hotel parking must be valet service - I understand that it must be this way because the hotel is located across the street from the beach and the parking is limited - however - for someone that is always in and out of their hotel throughout the day - it can become a bit time consuming to have to wait for your car. With that said - the concierge were all very professional, kind, and always willing to assist. Overall the hotel is very nice and I would highly recommend it- just the parking can be a little inconvenient at times.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed one night at the Westin for free, courtesy of American Express Platinum.

This hotel has valet parking only ($25), check-in was a easy and we were allocated a partial ocean view room.

The room was spacious, and had everything that would expect including a great view! However, the ceiling of the room was showing some signs of water damage or something, if I had payed the $199+tax for the room, I would be a bit annoyed by this.

The hotel is located right across from the beach, unfortunately, we arrived a bit too late to take advantage of the beach, however, we did spend a few hours relaxing around the pool which was very pleasant and the pool bar served great cocktails.

We ate at the nearby Casablanca Restaurant, which had great food and was a great venue! We bought breakfast from Starbucks which is located in the hotel itself.

This was our first stay at a Westin, whilst it was pleasant enough and I would happily stay in another Westin property if it suited my travel needs, it's 'heavenly calmness USP' didn't really get me that excited, and their signature 'heavenly bed' in my opinion wasn't anything that special.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYNJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Went primarily for the beach -- and the beach was great. Not as crowded as other parts on the same strip. No problem getting front-row seating with an umbrella ($20; the umbrella person comes out at 9am so no need to wake up early). Lots of seaweed when I was there -- it was icky at first but got used to it.

The room was fine -- a bit small but clean. The bathroom was fine -- I guess the lack of a lock on the sliding door can be a problem. Water pressure wasn't the best I've ever had but was adequate. There is no shower door -- just a partition so need to be careful not to splash too much.

My one complaint is that on Mondays, the hotel provides no showers or other facilities to wash/change for guests who check out in the morning but want to hang around the beach until their flight time. The spa is apparently closed on Mondays and the pool has no showers. And no apologies or attempt to accomodate you whatsoever on this point. Other than this, it was a pretty decent stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear NYNJ: Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent experience with us at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale. We truly appreciate your honesty and will most certainly take into consideration your suggestions. Again, thank you for your comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We have stayed at this Westin location many times over past years back to when it was known as the Yankee Trader Hotel. This hotel remains one of our favorites when visiting the Fort Lauderdale area. The close proximity to the beach, restaurants, shops and Las Olas Blvd. make it a good choice for both new and experienced vacationers traveling to Fort Lauderdale.

If you choose to stay at this hotel make time for a night time walk along A1A especially if it is towards the end of the week. The atmosphere is vibrant, the combination of the mingling crowds, music, restaurants and clubs make for a memorable evening.

If time permits it is also worth visiting Shula's, a steak and seafood restaurant located inside Westin. The food and service is excellent. Shula's offers al fresco dining making it an ideal prelude to a night time stroll.

If you are a SPG member be sure to speak with the hotel directly. This past trip the hotel offered a rate lower than anywhere else including the SPG website. In addition the special package included a hotel credit, parking voucher and point bonus.

Worth mentioning the louvered bathroom door and window. Personally I believe it adds a nice accent to the room design. Physically not certain how it negatively impacts privacy.

If you are staying in the Fort Lauderdale area give this hotel a try, I doubt you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Overall I would rate my stay a 10....I rate a 9 only because of the lack of free wifi, other than that the stay was wonderful. I read a lot of reviews about how open the bathrooms were, true the bathrooms do not have regular doors, they have a sliding wooden door and window but it is not uncomfortable. The hotel smelled great from the time we entered until our departure. We called down for a toothbrush one morning and received it in less than 10 minutes, they later called to make sure the service and receipt of the toothbrush was satisfactory. Also, the other reason it receives a 9 instead of 10 is because of the thin walls. At 6:30am I could hear every word of my neighbors conversation as they were leaving to head to the beach, and asked one another why type of beer they would prefer to drink. Overall great stay and I will gladly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Satanya B: Thank you for sharing your review with us! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property and all our wonderful Westin amenities; including the smell of our signature White Tea Scent! We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful beaches and The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This was my third time staying at this Westin. Service every time has been subpar and I feel that they simply coast by based on the location.

1) In past visits, check in has been painful and checking out via the tv hadn't worked, leading to long lines at the front desk.
2) Valet service is mandatory for everyone in the hotel, but they always seem overwhelmed - no one seems to be properly herding the cars out front, leading to the front area often becoming a parking lot from all the people checking in, taxis and people trying to get out. Calling down ahead seems to do very little, as even if they do pick up the phone, you still will end up waiting for a while for your car (and again to get out).
3) Pool staff only seem to be motivated by tips and won’t lift a finger for you if they don’t see some money coming their way.
4) Most aggravating, as a gold member, we were given a voucher for a free drink up to $15. When I tried using this, we were told it was good for only non-alcoholic drinks. At first I was told that this was “starwood policy”. As a former platinum member for years, I know this is not the case. Shortly afterwards, they backtracked and said it was “hotel policy”. While the staff later made it up to us, this confrontation should never have occurred in the first place. I have the voucher still with me and am following up on it as well.
They really need to manage the hotel better. and It’s not as if it were a surprise when people arrived – they know well in advance how many rooms are full (or can estimate based on past years) and they should staff/plan accordingly. Additionally, simply making up rules to take advantage of guests is not a good practice and leaves a bad taste in my mouth.

Room Tip: North side is much less of a hike from front desk. Elevators always take a while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear GoLeafsGo0907: Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent experience with us at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale. First and foremost, we sincerely apologize for the service issues you encountered during your stay. This is certainly not the Westin we aim to provide our guests and rest assured we have shared your review with our management team to ensure our team is communicating properly. Your comments are very much appreciated, as this will help us to improve the quality and service of our product. Thank you for staying with us and informing us of your recent experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale

Address: 321 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#19 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#29 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#30 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront setting offers diving, sailing, fishing, or just quiet relaxation. But beachside bliss is only the start: we have a rejuvenating spa and fitness center and a serene oceanfront pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Groupon, Starwood, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beach Resort And Spa, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Westin Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.