We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally....worked for us!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   321 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #35 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Generally....worked for us!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a 4-night stay. Many things that I liked - easy access to the beach via the skywalk, nice fitness room and great access to Starbucks (mainly for my coffee-addicted husband!). Very comfortable beds and quiet rooms...once inside my room, I really didn't hear anything around me. Also, very convenient in terms of accessing restaurants and bars in the area....you can walk to local spots! Room was adequately sized and clean, although the hallway carpet was a bit dirty (very old dried gum on carpet outside of our room - 842...FYI to the manager if you read these reviews!). I did find the bathroom door and sliding opening a bit weird. Even after five years of marriage, I can do without that much openness! I have to agree with another reviewer regarding the small pool and rough towels...no matter where you go, kids will take over the pool...fact of life! But we preferred the beach anyway. I wasn't thrilled about the valet parking fee, but I think that it's pretty standard in that area. FYI, there really aren't any other reasonably close options. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay...and got a decent rate off of the internet, but I may want to check out another hotel when I return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinceresfbh, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear NewJerseyLadyCB: Thank you for sharing your comments with us regarding your recent stay at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale. We are thrilled to hear you had such a great time and enjoyed everything from our outlets, to our beautiful beach and the comfort of our heavenly guestrooms. Rest assured, I have notified our housekeeping department about the gum and it will be removed right away. Again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to beautiful Fort Lauderdale Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    654
    231
    78
    55
See reviews for
438
626
104
293
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Being on a business trip meant we didn't see much of the local area, but the beach views across the street were fantastic (in North Tower). Hotel staff were great, particularly Julio in the Business Center. All the food was delicious, always very well presented and great serving staff. My only criticism would be the aggressively cold AC throughout the hotel (I was cold even wearing a jacket indoors), and the AC unit in the bedroom was very noisy.

Room Tip: Select North Tower with beach views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Facility is nice, right on the beach
I cannot say the same for the service; I was greated with an arrogant/"look how cheap this guy is" "there is no parking around here, just valet (US$25/DAY!!!)
Restaurants are way too expensive for the quality of food provided.
Swimming pool is small and gets very crowded from early in the morning.
Definitely a place I won't be back to

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinceresfbh, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear Dravizza: Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. Please accept our sincere apologies, as the service you received is unacceptable and certainly not the Westin experience we aim to provide our guests. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate your honesty. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

On a business trip, we stayed at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa in Fort Lauderdale for a week and were extremely pleased. The rooms were quite well appointed (except for lack of privacy in the bathroom - there are louvered doors for the main door and window in the bathroom and the shower is an open concept, as well.) and we very much enjoyed our stay - especially our spectacular view of the ocean from a top floor. Shula's Steakhouse was amazing, as always. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinceresfbh, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Dear Pasoporaqui: Thank you for sharing your review and taking the time to write about your hotel experience. We are delighted to hear you had such a wonderful time and enjoyed your ocean view guestroom. The views are stunning and provide for a very relaxing stay, perfect to help clear your mind from a busy day at work. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Had a great time at the Westin. Location is excellent for the kids. Just across from the beach with the pool on the level with the bridge that goes over the road to the beach. We loved getting up and walking over to the beach and then in the afternoon walking back and spending time at the pool before heading up to our room to get ready for dinner. Just a few blocks of an easy walk down to a CVS and many restaurant options. Room was nice. I'm a light sleeper and didn't have any noise issues. We stayed in the North tower on the 7th floor with a partial ocean view. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom was okay, but as many have mentioned the louvered door and window were a bit odd. Didn't cause a problem for us, though. Also went to the gym which was very nice and had an excellent view of the morning sunrise over the beach. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Just got back from a 2 night weekend stay with my family (2 adults, 2 kids under 8). Very pleased overall. The room was nice (we had a standard with 2 doubles). We were upgraded to an ocean view on the top floor due to my husband's SPG status and it was an amazing view, though we were very thankful for the sun blocking curtains in the morning! The louvered bathroom door and window didn't bother us a bit, and my kids thought the window thingy was fabulous. The bathroom and room had nice decor and were pretty clean, though there were a few icky stains on the rug. Valet and pool attendants were very kind and professional. Pool servers were polite but kind of slow and the food (not surprisingly) was overpriced and not so great. Unfortunately the front desk staff (a young lady) seemed really put out checking us in. They charged us for our free upgrade and after promising to fix it, they still charged us incorrectly, so make sure to double check your bill. As with most resorts on the South Florida beaches, there are plenty of extra fees, so be ready for $25 for valet per day, plus other stuff. Pool was nice and cold on a very hot day and my kids had a great time with other kids there, though there is no fun stuff and space is limited. Some rowdy kids and trendy wannabe young adults were a bit annoying. The hotel hallways were warm and musty and there was an all over old smell to the place. Also, the bath towels felt horrible.....like an old rug on the floor of a thrift shop or something. So rough, old and unpleasant to use. The beds were SUPER comfy and I've never slept so well in a hotel. Loved the Starbucks and their oatmeal worked great for us for an affordable, tasty breakfast. Good people watching too. The hotel was in a nice location to walk to stuff and we caught a quick bike cab back one night which was fun. We'd definitely go back despite my few complaints.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinceresfbh, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear Whitquinn: Thank you for sharing your comments with us regarding your recent stay at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale. We are thrilled to hear you and your family had such a pleasant vacation and enjoyed our outlets, guestrooms, and service at our outdoor pool. Please know we have shared your review with the rest of our team, to ensure your suggestions are addressed regarding the smell of the hallways and bathroom towels. We are always looking for ways to improve our product and appreciate your honesty. Again thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to beautiful Fort Lauderdale Beach and our refreshing beachfront retreat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed here before we left on our cruise. We had a long flight from California and wanted to head up to our room to enjoy a cocktail. When we got to the room there was no mini bar and we could only get a drink down by the lobby area. I really just wanted to enjoy getting ready for dinner with a cocktail but since this is not an option I quickly threw on a change of clothes and headed to Shula's (the restaurant inside the hotel) Shula's was amazing! You can read more about it on my Shula's review.
The room itself was nice but I have to say the bathroom had a door with a built in wooden shade so it's not a solid door. You can hear everything so modesty isn't an option, lol. The way the shower is built it gets water all over the bathroom floor and soaks into the carpet.
Overall I would stay here again but I wouldn't pay more than $200. I loved the Starbucks in the hotel and the gym was so nice. It faces the ocean and has a perfect view. I watched the sunrise while running on the treadmill, a perfect way to start my day. The staff is also nice and I love the heavenly bed!
So this travel agent will stay here again=D

Room Tip: The bathrooms do not have solid doors so modesty is not an option
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinceresfbh, Manager at The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Dear Holleyttr: Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at our resort. We are thrilled that you chose our hotel as your pre-cruise destination and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the louvered doors, we have received other reviews about this and are currently looking into options that would help increase privacy in the bathrooms. We hope you had a wonderful cruise and we look forward to your next visit to The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale

Address: 321 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#19 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#21 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront setting offers diving, sailing, fishing, or just quiet relaxation. But beachside bliss is only the start: we have a rejuvenating spa and fitness center and a serene oceanfront pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Starwood, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beach Resort And Spa, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Westin Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Beach Resort & Spa, Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.