We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely space in a lovely place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Riverside Hotel to your Saves list
Riverside Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   620 E. Las Olas Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
San Antonio, Texas, USA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely space in a lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I had a four day, three night stay in this South Florida Hot Spot. The staff were friendly, the room was clean and spacious, and the hotel was right in the heart of the Las Olas district for shopping and food. A 2 mile run to the beach is great for exercising. The exercise room itself is kind of tiny and musty, so get outside and see the city!

Room Tip: Ask for a view that will let you see the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hi Mary,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice post on TripAdvisor! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay, the location and a chance to enjoy the beautiful outdoors. We hope to see you back soon!

Sunny Regards,

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    303
    95
    52
    32
See reviews for
116
334
60
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Maryland, USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This hotel is not my favorite. The room was musty. The whole floor was hot and I could never get the AC to a comfortable temperature. It was difficult to use the AC, so I was not able to get a good night's sleep. Although the bed itself was pretty comfortable, I probably will go for a different hotel next time.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi Judi,

Thank you so much for your feedback on TripAdvisor! Your concerns were passed along to management, we apologize for your inconvenience and are very happy you were able to get a good night's rest here at the Riverside.

We would love for you to try the Riverside Hotel again, request a room in our executive tower and possibly try the Indigo or the Wild Sea for dining!

Sunny regards,

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager at the Riverside Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We enjoyed the outdoor skating, being on las olas and the pool. However, we were overcharged for the food service at the pool, and breakfast in the hotel was fairly $$. But that didn't detract from a really great stay at this hotel -- would definitely return !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi Florida078,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor and we are thrilled you had such a wonderful stay at the Riverside and enjoyed your time on the beautiful Las Olas Boulevard. We can't wait to have you back and we encourage you to try the Wild Sea Oyster Bar and Grille on your next visit!

Have a wonderful week!

Sunny Regards,

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager at The Riverside Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Working in a hotel for several years I have experienced it all. I understand what it takes to run a hotel and what it takes to take care of your guest. I rarely make a big deal about issues because I truly understand the hospitality business and what the hotel associates have to go through. My first impression of the hotel was great! The Bellman and Concierge were very warm and welcoming as you enter the hotel lobby. The Front Desk check in experience was also wonderful. Room 1107 in the tower part of the hotel was very spacious and comfortable. Cleanliness however was an issue to me. The shower curtain clearly had blood on it, the toilet handle was broken where it made it almost impossible to use, the windows leading out to the balcony had sticky hand prints all over the windows and there was trash on the floor. I reported the shower issue to the Front Desk in the morning and there was no "guest recovery" at all! The housekeeper clearly does not know how to clean a room or has no one inspecting the room to ensure it was cleaned properly before clearing it as a vacant/ready room. Upon returning to my room the shower curtain had been replaced but the toilet handle was still broken, the windows still dirty and trash still on the floor! Very disappointing! There should never be any signs of a previous guest when a new guest checks into the room! The toilet handle should have also been reported by the housekeeper to the Engineering Department! Room Service associates were great! Meals were delivered in a timely manner! Norma was very pleasant to speak too on the phone when placing my order! Sasha could use some training in regards to customer service via telephone. All in all you have a beautiful property with some great associates but I would recommend following up with your Housekeeping Department to ensure they are following hotel standards regarding cleanliness!

Room Tip: Tower room with balcony!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello SDT11,

Thank you very much for your feedback, all of your concerns were shared with our management; we apologize for all inconveniences and we're working hard to make the necessary changes you suggested. We are thrilled you enjoyed the lovely location, our executive tower and the pleasant staff!

We truly hope to see back at the Riverside Hotel! We value you as a guest and couldn't thank you enough for your input on TripAdvisor!

Warm Regards.
Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Spent a couple of nights here fin the first weekend of October. Right in the heart of Las Olas with its great array of restaurants, bars and shops, beautiful 10th floor room in the new part, with a great view down to the sea. Around 3 miles from the sea, but plentiful ways of getting there and even taxis are cheap. Wonderful service from the staff, free wifi was included. The "inhouse" restaurants did great breakfasts with helpful servers, and we had one dinner at the seafood restaurant next door which I thoroughly enjoyed, the seafood was really fresh and tasty. The water taxi trip around the canals is a must, and very good value at $20 per person, you can ride all day for that price. Lots of stunning houses and yachts to see, and a good running commentary from the captain about who lives where. Had one evening at the hotel too where they had live music with a great musician and his daughters..boy could they belt it out, foot stomping stuff.
Was a little dissappointed with the beach itself, it seemed to be full of very drunk youngsters, and the bars along the front (with the exception of the Ritz Carlton) were to my mind a little cheap and tacky, clearly aiming for the young crowd. Had a meal at the Ritz Carlton, surprisingly good value and some really good servers too. Las Olas itself was a very pleasant and friendly experience, great restaurants all around, clearly for the "upmarket" crowd.

Room Tip: Personally I liked the higher floors and rooms with balconies, some stunning views. Be warned, the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you BritLithcouple for your feeback!


We truly appreciate you taking the time to write in TripAdvisor about your most recent stay at the Riverside Hotel. We could not be happier you had such a pleasant time, the 10th floor view is definitely my favorite in the city and the Wild Sea restaurant is delicious - great choices!

Thank you again for such positive remarks and I hope to see you return soon to our lovely property.

Warm Regards,

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager – Riverside Hotel and The Las Olas Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Excellent choice for a couple of nights stay. Set on classy Las Olas with easy access to the bars, shops and restaurants although there is everything you need in the hotel itself if you don't want to explore.

Rooms are modestly sized but perfectly acceptable and clean with comfortable beds and good bathrooms. As with the majority of hotels in the US there is free wifi that actually works throughout. Throughout the hotel there is a traditional Spanish feel and ambience.

Food is excellent, spent a very pleasant evening sat outside watching the world pass by whilst tucking into the best club sandwich ever. The omelette I had for breakfast kept me going until dinner. There are a couple of bars to choose and plenty more in the vicinity.

The pool is set across the street and is excellent with the pool itself a good size and plenty of loungers and fresh towels. Pools can often be fairly functional in the US but this one is well thought out and surrounded by palm trees.

Overall a very pleasant stay in a nice hotel with good facilities, amenities and attentive staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Good Morning!

I really appreciate you taking the time to write in TripAdvisor about your most recent stay at the Riverside Hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed our lovely hotel as well as the vibrant and convenient location!

We can't thank you enough for such positive reviews and we hope to see you back very soon!

Warm Regards,

Kristi

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager – Riverside Hotel and The Las Olas Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is our ONLY choice in Ft. Lauderdale! We usually stay for one or two nights prior to a cruise vacation in January. It is very convenient, clean, and "classic Florida" to us escapees from the Michigan snow of January. I am sorry to note concern from another reviewer about cleanliness. I can only believe that is was a most unusual occurance. We have stayed here a number of times and have always been pleased. I, too, bring Clorox wipes to wipe down the doorknobs, light switches, bathroom handles, etc. I have not experienced the wipes getting dirty at all after using them at this property. (Also, you should wipe of the tv remote) In any case, the rooms are spacious enough for us and luggage, to relax, the bar/lobby is nice and the restaurant is also very good. Los Olas Blvd is just out the door with numerous boutiques, Rocos Tacos, Italian and French food right there for the choosing. The staff is always polite, efficient and helpful and you can grab a cab....do NOT bother with those multiple-person shuttles,..and zip over to the port and your ship..Perfect start to a "no think" escape!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Good day!

I really appreciate you taking the time to write in TripAdvisor about your most recent stay at the Riverside Hotel. We were thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your stay. We passed along your kind praises to our management and were happy you got to enjoy your time here in lovely Fort Lauderdale!

Again, we are thankful for your feedback/great tips and we hope to see you return soon!

Warm Regards,

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: 620 E. Las Olas Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.