We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riverside Hotel to your Saves list
Riverside Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   620 E. Las Olas Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 136 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Clarkston, MI
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We booked this room through Hotwire and obtained a good rate. We asked for an upgrade to a tower room. The desk clerk said none would be available until later in the afternoon so we said we would take the room in the older section. Well we walked in and turned around and walked out - decided we would wait the couple of hours for a tower room. The old room smelled musty. The air conditioner was a unit under the window. The view was of a flat roof full of equipment. The tower room had a balcony with a view of the inter coastal. It was large and basic. The bed was comfortable, the bedding non descript. The bathroom was adequate. It was clean and well serviced. The room cooled quickly and was very comfortable. The pool, which is located across the street, is on the inter-coastal. It is small and old but well maintained. There are about 35 lounge chairs and a nice shaded area with tables and chairs. A bar was set up a few of the days that we were there. Other days you had to use a house phone to order food and drink - and someone delivered it from the main building. My only complaint about the pool was the size of the towels - regular bath size. The hotel has a happy hour every day from 5 - 7 which was a very good deal. Bar service was hit or miss. There is a lovely quiet outdoor space to enjoy a drink. The hotel is pet friendly ( not my thing) and I was dismayed to see a bar patron use a stool for her dogs. A comment about this to the bartender was just shrugged off. This hotel is all about location, location, location. Steps away from restaurants, bars, music and shops. A great place to stay for a getaway.

Room Tip: Stay in the tower. Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko D, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Good Day,
I really appreciate you are taking the time in writing a TripAdvisor about your most recent stay at the Riverside Hotel. It was very pleasing for me to see, that you had a great experience. In particular I enjoyed your highlight of staying in the tower and spending time at our pool, located right along the New River.

I hope to see you in the near future to returning to our lovely property.

Thank you,

Heiko

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager – Riverside Hotel
Executive Vice President – The Las Olas Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    353
    112
    60
    35
See reviews for
132
395
69
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Riverside during our recent visit to Ft. Lauderdale. Loved the view from our Tower Room, loved the balcony too!. Location was perfect for getting out and about to "all things Las Olas". Pool is relaxing and never crowded, Bar is great for late night cocktails and live music. Parking staff gets an A for Awesome!

Room Tip: Tower Room makes ALL the difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko D, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Good Day,
I really appreciate you are taking the time in writing a TripAdvisor about your most recent stay at the Riverside Hotel. It was very pleasing for me to see, that you had a great experience. In particular I enjoyed your highlight of the perfect getaway for your husband and you. You are correct that the tower units are lovely and our bar is a locals hotspot.

I hope to see you in the near future to returning to our lovely property.

Thank you,

Heiko

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager – Riverside Hotel
Executive Vice President – The Las Olas Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

As a wedding photographer, I have taken many photographs and made many visits to the RIverside Hotel. It is just beautiful ... right on the water and is close to EVERYTHING Fort Lauderdale has to offer. I have never stayed overnight here, but I can tell you that the staff, food, environment and charm of this beautiful property will take your breath away. Located right off Las Olas Blvd to the north and the New River to the south ... this hotel is close to everything. Don't wanna take a "car" taxi to the city? Jump on a water taxi instead. Simply one of the best hotels not only in Fort Lauderdale, but in nation too! You'll love it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko D, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Good Day,
I really appreciate you are taking the time in writing a TripAdvisor about your most recent stay at the Riverside Hotel. It was very pleasing for me to see, that you had a great experience. In particular I enjoyed your highlight of our romantic hotel. Our location is the best in Fort Lauderdale, as you have your playground right in front of our door step.

I hope to see you in the near future to returning to our lovely property.

Thank you,

Heiko

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager – Riverside Hotel
Executive Vice President – The Las Olas Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is an old hotel, so Google it and read up on it. I requested a room in the tower, so it is a newer section, built after 2000. The room was spacious, king bed, huge bathroom, and balcony with table and 2 chairs. I had a view of the Atlantic off in the distance, and could also view the Inter-coastal and some cruise ships in the terminal. The furnishings seem a bit older, but they fit with the theme of the rest of the hotel and I was comfortable.

The hotel is the only one located on Famous Las Olas Boulevard, and there is plenty of shopping, arts, and food all in walking distance.

I did not go to the bar or restaurant on site. There is not a spa on site.

I would stay here again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko D, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Good Day,
I really appreciate you are taking the time in writing a TripAdvisor about your most recent stay at the Riverside Hotel. It was very pleasing for me to see, that you had a great experience. In particular I enjoyed your highlight of the tower unit and the famous Las Olas Boulevard.

I hope to see you in the near future to returning to our lovely property.

Thank you,

Heiko

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager – Riverside Hotel
Executive Vice President – The Las Olas Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you stay here avoid the old section of the hotel. It is very old,dirty and very small rooms. I stay here frequently on business and asked for an upgrade but were told none were available. Too bad it is in a great location downtown.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton Manors, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The original part of the Riverside Hotel in Fort Lauderdale is truly a landmark. It's an historic building with many quaint touches and makes a great location for weddings as well. It's perfectly situated on the Las Olas Boulevard, a mecca for restaurants and high-end shopping in downtown Fort Lauderdale. It also backs up to the New River, where you can catch a water taxi to take you on a sight-seeing tour or to dinner at a restaurant of your choosing up the river. There is a fairly newly added tower of rooms adjacent that I have not experienced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, CA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I made my reservation for this hotel through Priceline, even after reading that they usually assign Priceline folks to rooms in the older wing. That was true for me, but I found the room attractive and comfortable, even if compact. I was traveling solo, so two people may feel more restricted. For instance, the bathroom was really small, with no room for toiletries.

That said, I had a fine experience, staying just overnight. Self-parking was fairly convenient ($18 a day in March 2013). Staff members were friendly. I went for a run and took a look at the riverfront pool area; it seemed very relaxing. I also used the small but adequate fitness room. My room overlooked Las Olas Drive, but was fairly set back, so noise wasn't an issue. It was great to take a stroll. The street is a center of FLL nightlife, with lots of restaurants and shops.

I'd stay there again, but would want to get a good deal.

Room Tip: I understand that the new tower rooms are larger and more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: 620 E. Las Olas Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#21 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#22 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.