We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Downtown Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Hotel

Save Saved
You added Riverside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   620 E. Las Olas Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 132 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Atco, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Great Downtown Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

When visiting Fort Lauderdale, my husband and I always stayed near the ocean. On this trip, we were looking for a place downtown near restaurants and shops where we could walk to since we would not be having a car. We found this hotel to be the perfect place. There were several restaurants and shops along Las Olas Blvd. to wander around. The hotel is old but they appear to be doing some remodeling in the main areas. A new restaurant called the Wild Sea will soon be opening. We stayed on the 12th floor of the tower which provided a great view of the river. Even though this was the newer section, I was slightly disappointed. The carpets could've used a good shampooing! Housekeeping was also disappointing. Carpets were not vacuumed and the bathroom vanity still had leftover toothpaste on it. I also could not understand why there were no glasses in the bathroom...just on the tray with the ice bucket.
Lunch in Indigo was very good. The Maine lobster roll was excellent. I wish the same could be said about the breakfasts. The first morning, my husbands poached eggs were sent back because they were hard and the second morning, my omelet was returned because they didn't make the one I requested. The pool was nice but I wish there were cushions on the lounge chairs. They became very uncomfortable after awhile.
All that being said, I must commend Dariel in Concierge. He was extremely helpful in making dinner reservations etc.
I would consider returning if housekeeping improved.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Good Day,

Thank you for your tripadvisor of the Riverside Hotel.

I am happy to read that you opted staying with us versus the beach, as Las Olas has so much to offer. I really enjoyed reading your recommendations and I have already met with my team to discuss and implement the improvements.

We hope to see you stay with us soon again.

Sunny Regards,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager - Riverside Hotel
Executive Vice President - The Las Olas Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    253
    256
    80
    48
    29
See reviews for
95
272
47
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Like other reviewers noted, great location with old (for Florida) charm, but sorely needs some modern touches. Like: riverfront position right on Las Olas Blvd., close to the upscale but mostly lily-white shops and clientele waiting for the cruise; windows that open wide, and some rooms with functional balconies. Needs: a gym commensurate with its status and a much better points program than Stash. I stayed here four weeks and got to know the staff (extremely professional) and the hotel fairly well. It's about the only viable option for daily financial district access compared to the chain hotels on the beach. Recommend for business (assuming you can forego the usual points), but having to join a rather dodgy neighborhood gym to get a regular workout? Meh.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Good Day,
I very much appreciate you writing your tripadvisor and highlighting our great location and outstanding service. I also appreciate the points for improvement, that I have shared with my team and even ownership.

We hope to see you soon again.

Have a delightful day.

Sunny regards,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager - Riverside Hotel
Executive Vice President - The Las Olas Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent small hotel - Friendly staff - near to lots of good restaurants in walking distance (my husband does not like to drink and drive!) The restaurant in Riverside is very good and they are about to open another in February along the lines of the Grill Room

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Good Day,

Thank you for your tripadvisor of the Riverside Hotel.

I am thrilled that you found everything you needed when you stayed with us and enjoyed Las Olas to the fullest.

We hope to see you stay with us soon again.

Sunny Regards,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager - Riverside Hotel
Executive Vice President - The Las Olas Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel lobby and and downstairs reception area set us up for high expectations - it was fancy, clean and upscale. Staff was very friendly. As soon as we got to our floor (6th), there was a drastic downgrade from hotel to motel. Our room was decently good size and, at first glance, very doable but then I walked into the bathroom and found ants crawling all over the bathtub. Ok, no big deal, rinsed them off. Come bath time for the little one, filled up the tub and the water was yellow. Ok, friends say it happens a lot in Florida, we'll deal with it. The shower head is one of those removeable ones so it didn't stay in the right place and you're ending up showering with one hand along with fluctuating temp changes. Toilet is a small bowl with no tank but the common public restroom lever. Lastly, there's no blacking out these rooms, the blackout curtains do not close all the way.

All in all, we had a decent night of sleep in a run-down motel disguised as a hotel in a great location. Thank goodness we got a cheap rate on Priceline. Pool across the street looked nice and was still closer in distance than other resorts we stayed in. Too bad weather didn't permit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Good Day,
I love that you love Las Olas. Our hotel certainly has a great location for the reasons that you mentioned. I appreciate your outstanding rating.

We hope to see you soon again.

Have a delightful day.

Sunny regards,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager - Riverside Hotel
Executive Vice President - The Las Olas Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is my 3rd trip to this hotel on each of the past 3 January's I cannot complain about my room on any of these trips. My rooms were in the main building and they were very spacious the complaints from the other conference attendees were numerous mostly about the small cramped rooms in the adjoining buildings. Several people told me that they attempted to upgrade the rooms but were denied. I was very pleased with my room but not sure I would pay the amount that they want for a room with a balcony but if you are traveling to the area and money is not a concern this hotel is very nice. The restaurant located in the lobby is excellent with a variety of selections all freshly prepared and reasonably priced

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Good day,
I am glad you stayed with us for your conference and enjoyed the Tower Rooms, which are larger than the rooms in the classical section built in 1936.

We hope to see you soon again.

Have a delightful day.

Sunny regards,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager - Riverside Hotel
Executive Vice President - The Las Olas Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Spent the weekend before Chritmas at the Riverside Hotel, what a great place. Great room and view, Las Olas Blvd. is a great place to eat, shop and people watch. Their are a number of excellent bakeries as well. I will post reviews on the restaurants we ate at.

Room Tip: Get a Riverview or Eastern view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Good Day,
It is wonderful to read that you had a wonderful weekend with us.

We hope to see you soon again.

Have a delightful day.

Sunny regards,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager - Riverside Hotel
Executive Vice President - The Las Olas Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I wanted so much to like this hotel, since the location is fantastic - right on the New River and in the heart of Las Olas - able to walk to all the fantastic restaurants and shops. But the issues started on check-in and continued throughout our 4 day stay - of note is that most of the issues are related to housekeeping. Let me start by saying that the hotel makes a poor attempt to retain the opulence I am sure it once had, but is is very outdated (even in the Executive Tower). Parking in the garage can be a nightmare - they rope off parking spots when having events, so you have to drive up several levels before finding an available spot - be careful of other drivers, they speed up and down the ramps, we almost got hit a few times. We checked into our room only to find that the coffee maker had not been cleaned out from the previous guests - isn't this housekeeping 101? We called for a refrigerator (charge of $10.00 per day) and they brought up a rusted piece of junk with a leg missing so it was leaning to the side (although it did work as far as refrigeration goes). The bottom sheet on the bed was not fitted, so it pulls off whenever you unmake the bed, and during the night when you sleep. There was also king sized pillows on the bed, but one pillow had a standard size pillowcase on it that did not cover the entire pillow - again, isn't this housekeeping 101? There were not enough drinking glasses - none in the bathroom to use when brushing your teeth, and they failed to replace ours one day, leaving no drinking glasses in the room at all. One morning, the housekeepers were outside in the hallway at 8:30 am, having a loud conversation right outside our room. They also failed to replace the toilet tissue one day, and the coffee for the in-room coffee maker another. I love the location of this hotel, but would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Good day,
I thank you for taking the time in completing the tripadvisor and noting our great location. I was saddened that we did not perform to our standards and this is certainly unacceptable for our side. I have taken your tripadvisor and share the information with the team to improve our performance through the implementation of specific action plans.

We hope to see you soon again.

Have a delightful day.

Sunny regards,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager - Riverside Hotel
Executive Vice President - The Las Olas Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Also Known As:
Riverside Fort Lauderdale
Address: 620 E. Las Olas Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and getaroom.com so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.