We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service to match” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Riverside Hotel to your Saves list
Riverside Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   620 E. Las Olas Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location and service to match”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed for three nights in room 901 (a corner balcony room in the tower section) from Jauary 20 to 22. We were looking for a hotel that was close to several dining options as well as being in an area that we would be able to safely do a lot of walking, and that had an easy connection to the water taxi. Being on the beach was not a priority for us.

When we arrived the taxi doors were opened, we were greeted, our bags taken, and were shown the way to the lobby to check-in. We were quickly checked in by a very pleasent young lady and were on our way to our room in no time. A great start to our stay that never changed!

The room was spacious, well maintained and functional. The king size bed was very comfortable, but could use more that just two pillows. The balcony was a bit of a disappointment in that there was a lot of traffic and air condioner noise as well as a cooking odour from the restaurants on Los Olas 9Well, I wanted to be close to dinning!). While the view to Los Olas was nice, we will request a New River view next time to get way from the noise and odour, and to a much better view. However, when the balcony doors were closed, the room was very quiet and we did not hear the street noises. This was also the first hotel room that we have ever been in where the bathroom exhaust fans actually work. No matter how long or hot the shower, the mirrors were always clear. They also use high end towels that were large, very soft and fluffy. There is a coffee maker and coffee was replenished daily.

The tower hallways appear to have been recently redecorated and a designer touch is clear. Some of the hall walls have hand painted scenes on them rather than the usual bland wallpaper. In fact, nothing could be considered bland about this hotel. It is much more of a boutique hotel than a chain hotel could ever dream of being. Elevators were consistantly very fast to arrive even though the hotel was full.

There is a very nice, heated pool behind the hotel that offers a great opportunity to just chill and watch the boat traffic go by on the New River. There have been some reviews mentioning that the pool area is small, but we never saw more than one or two people in the water at any one time. It seemed to be the right size to create a peaceful oasis away from all the Los Olas traffic and hustle and bustle. The weather was great and it was our favourite place to go and relax in the afternoon after a long walk.

The hotel is surrounded by great places to eat (including Indigo's in the hotel), is near the water taxi and other amenities, making for a perfect location.

The most impressive part of our stay was the terrific staff that they have working there - from the bell staff, front desk, restaurant, to the maids. Everyone that we meet had a smile, and time for a hello and to ask how our stay was and if we needed anything.

After six years of searching we have now found the perfect hotel for our annual pre/post cruise stays.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the tower section facing the New River
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Good Morning,
It is always special when you receive a perfect review. I am glad you enjoyed the service my team provided and that the location was enjoyable to you.

Come back soon.

Thank you,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    304
    95
    52
    32
See reviews for
116
334
60
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Ohhh. Great price on priceline.. No wonder, the room is terrible. Super dated, shower water pressure is low, and every 30 seconds it is either scalding hot or ice cold. Old stained carpet, moldy ac units, tv from 1990. Not a good experience. I'm sure the suites are much better as they are in the newer tower building, however you'll pay upwards of 400/night for them. If you're looking for a deal, be prepared for a crappy room..

Room Tip: Ensure you don't get a "traditional" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Good Morning,
thank you for your review and I am sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations. I believe your assessment was correct and you would have enjoyed the Tower Rooms over the Historic section of the hotel.

I hope to see you in the near future again.

Thank you,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, Maryland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

This is the best place to stay if you don't care about being on the beach. The hotel is a wonderful example of what we think of as old Florida, tile everywhere, open doors, lush foliage, and superb service. Plus you have all of Las Olas Blvd. with its many restaurants and shops available to you all day long. We requested a room in the old part of the hotel and were not disappointed. The room was large with a good size bathroom and a comfortable king size bed. Housekeeping was spotless. Our breakfasts at Indigo were very good but we did venture out to the crepe restaurant one day and it was also very good. We ate at other restaurants for dinner a few nights and were never disappointed and the prices were not too bad for a touristy area. We used their valet service and the car was always available within minutes. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Our only problem with our stay is that we were on the front of the building over their restaurant and on Friday and Saturday they had live music which came through our closed windows. Other street noise was barely discernible. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Good Morning,
I loved your review and how well you described our hotel on Las Olas Boulevard in Fort Lauderdale. Charming and perfect location are two of our important features. I am so pleased that my staff made your staff enjoyable.

Until the near future,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Got this through Priceline and we are used to 4 and 5 star resort hotels. We were a bit skeptical after seeing the picture of the hotel but it was just for a night. We bought 3 rooms, one for kids, one for sister and her husband and ourselves.

It was a 7$ cab ride from airport, first surprise.

Hotel is older but extremely clean, has character and the staff are wonderful. We saw the kids room which was very nice but not much of a view. We asked for an upgrade and for $30 they upgraded us to a corner balcony room overlooking the Olas River. OMG - it was magnificent! We could of just stayed on the balcony all night watching the boats and people.

You walk outside and are right in the middle of downtown Las Olas/Fort Lauderdale. 3 great bakeries within 3 blocks, tons of shopping, restaurants or take the water taxi right behind the hotel.

Our room was very comfortable - we would HIGHLY RECOMMEND and actually got a couple family members to make reservations later this year. Thank you Riverside - we WILL be back!

Room Tip: Pay the extra $ to get a corner balcony room up overlooking the river. Other rooms are fine - but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Good Morning,
I am so happy that your experience at the Riverside Hotel on Las Olas Boulevard in Fort Lauderdale was so pleasurable. We pride ourselves in provideing the best experience for our guests.

Have a delightful day,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
1,271 reviews 1,271 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 269 cities Reviews in 269 cities
679 helpful votes 679 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Stayed here recently. My room was very large and comfortable.

The Riverside Hotel is located right
downtown Ft. Lauderdale on Las Olas Blvd. It is located almost on the river, so if you get a room in the tower overlooking the river, you have a nice view of the river and boat activity on it. There is a walking path along the river. Also, hotel is about a straight 1.8 mile easy walk to the beach.

It is a great location as you can walk to many restaurants and shops and businesses located in downtown. It is only a short $20 taxi ride from the airport.

Hotel has a couple of cocktail bars, one of which is half inside and outside. Also has a restaurant with outside seating, although I didn't eat here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Good Morning,
we are so furtunate to have the Riverside Hotel of Fort Lauderdale located right on Las Olas Boulevard, known as the crown jewel of our city.

Thank you for your terrific review and I want to wish you good travels.

Come visit us soon,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

beautiful hotel. divided by old construction and new construction. stay in new rooms. I was in a wonderful room on 10th floor with king bed and balcony overlooking the river which was the best part of this hotel. Located downtown near restaurants. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Good Morning,
"GREAT" is a wonderful description to highlight the Riverside Hotel and service we provided for your stay. My team was thrilled when I shared your review.

Have a "GREAT" Day,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012 via mobile

The Riverside's perfect location and fabulous views make it the perfect spot for a sunny get away or for a pleasurable stay before boarding a cruise in Port Everglades. Rooms are spacious and have wonderful views of the city and waterways. It's locaton is perfect for strolling along the Riverwalk. We plan on staying there again before our 2013 Jazz Cruise.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Good Morning,
I appreciate your beautiful review and 5 Star Rating. We seem to be a favorite for pre- and post- cruise vacations due to our great location for shopping and proximity to the airport.

Will see you in 2013 for your Jazz Cruise,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: 620 E. Las Olas Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.