We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riverside Hotel to your Saves list
Riverside Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   620 E. Las Olas Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 134 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
OHIO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

OMG !!! The Riverside Hotel is a hidden gem in the middle of the business district in downtown Ft Lauderdale. If you are looking for shopping,art,antiques, restruants, this is the place to be !! The views were fantastic (had a room with cornor balcony) .We stayed here the day befor we left on our cruise . The front desk gals were so helpful had alot of great advise on what to see in the area we walked everywhere, there is also a water taxi at the back of the hotel it will drop u at quite a few different spots all over Ft Lauderdale area.
The price was vary reasonable less than 150.00 . I can't say enough about the staff I have never been treated so well anywhere i have ever stayed and I have been traveling for many many years.The Hotel was spot on everwhere u looked it has 2 restruants a small bar an outside courtyard just wonderful.The beds were so comfey like a cloud the bathroom was large ,nice size table and chairs also a safe and a fridge with a well stocked mini bar it had everything in it. Hope u enjoy the Riverside as much as we did

Room Tip: vierw from the 10th floor was just fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Good Morning "magiemay",
I am thrilled to see that you had a perfect stay. Yes, we find our location ideal and pride ourselves giving outstanding service.

Come see us soon again.

Have a great day,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    294
    93
    51
    32
See reviews for
114
321
57
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011 via mobile

Not much to add to other reviews. Hotel and rooms are older but clean and more than adequate. We had an 11th floor room with a terrace. Nice view of the river and boats. Its the location of this hotel that's great. Access to all the bars and restaurants on busy, trendy Las Olas. Riverside also has a great outdoor dining area where you can enjoy good food, service and people watch. Great for business travelers who need access to downtown.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Good Morning "lynnsbobs",
I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed the Riverside Hotel and had a terrific view from the 11th Floor.

Please come see us soon again and enjoy all that Las Olas Boulevard has to offer.

Have a pleasant week,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Excellent overnight stay following our cruise! This classy hotel was built in 1936, but what they have chosen to update and to keep, perfectly balanced. Great historical photos in the hallway. Food was also excellent, as was the service. The bathroom was almost as large as our total cruise accommodations. :) Would definitely stay here again! The shops even have Sunday hours, which was nice. Wish we could have stayed another night, but enjoyed an evening drive down to the beach, which was not far.

Room Tip: Higher floors give you the best views of the ocean. We enjoyed watching watching the Oasis of the Se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Good Morning "irishgalforever",
thank you for such a great review of our hotel. i am so pleased that you liked our location and service.

Hope to see you soon again.

Have a great Monday,


Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Wonderful hotel, elegant, big and very courteous!
with the water taxi outside the door connecting you to beach, shopping, restaurants etc. I cannot think of a better location for a few days close to the airport.
Outside the street is full of real clothing shops, not souvenirs.
Excellent restaurants although the food at this hotel is equal or better to any other on the strip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Good Morning "ursinegrouch",
I have to agree with you in praising our location. it is the best in Fort Lauderdale, as you have everything at your doorstep. The watertaxi experience to the beach is special and memorable.

Have a lovely day,


Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We arrived late the evening before a cruise. The hotel itself is older but the rooms are clean and comfortable.

Located in the heart of Las Olas Boulevard it is an easy stroll to shops and restaurants. A cab from the airport took about 10-15 minutes and was approximately $25. A quick shuttle to the cruise port the next morning. Cost $25 for 2. Indigo restaurant downstairs for a cup of coffee in the morning where you can dine outside and people watch.

We walked to CVS pharmacy the next morning which is about 6 blocks away for a few last minute items which was very convenient. We asked the front desk for directions, but they weren't very accurate so we walked a bit further than necessary, but overall a great little hotel for an overnight.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Good Morning "jarodmom ",
I am so glad you like our beuatiful little hotel on Las Olas. We always think of ourselves as being boutique with personalized service. I am sorry about the directions given to the CVS, which I addressed with the team.

Have a great Fall and hope to see you soon again,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Location is good, situated on the famous Las Olas Blvd. Staffs are friendly, good for short getaway. Vacation package includes vouchers for free wines at the piano bar and free ice-creams across the street which is a sweet bonus! The hotel is with easy access to bus stop that takes you to the beach, but the weekday's frequency is a nightmare. I will suggest to take bus or the free trolley only on weekends. The hotel is also super close to Cheesecake factory, basically the same building which is excellent for visitors with no cars. The walk-able distance to the water taxi pier makes it a great add on feature but again the water taxi should be more frequent to serve visitors. Overall this is a very nice hotel to stay in, despite the only mosquito that wouldn't leave the room and bother us for two nights.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Good Morning "KKSAM",
I am thrilled that you had such a great time at our hotel and took full advantage of our Summer Savers Package. Thank you for writing such a nice review about our hotel.

Hope to see you in the near future again,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Didn't stay at this elegant hotel. We were walking los Olas and decided to have a drink. Just entering the hotel was soothing. We made our way to the back lobby and the small bar. Piano music, very friendly and fun group of locals who made our evening, and great drinks by a very capable bartender. Perfect interlude between Fort L. fun in the sun and an enjoyable meal at Indigo.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Good Morning,
we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Preston's Wine & Martini Lounge. The pianist Stephen Marks is a local favorite and the Riverside Hotel is glad that your exprience was so positive.

The locals know Preston's Wine & Martini Lounge as "The Place Where People Meet & Mingle"!

Hope to see you soon again,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: 620 E. Las Olas Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.