We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IMAX-Tastic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Discovery and Science

Museum of Discovery and Science
401 South West Second Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33312
+1 954-467-6637
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Museum of Discovery and Science like an insider
Top Rated
$59*
and up
Fort Lauderdale Segway Tour
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: There is always something new happening at the Museum of Discovery and Science. Spend a day of discovery exploring hundreds of interactive exhibits including the new EcoDiscovery Center. Visitors can take a ride on the Everglades Airboat Adventure, experience hurricane force winds in the Storm Center, dig for fossils alongside a giant prehistoric megalodon, get close to a confrontation between a saber-toothed cat and an Imperial mammoth, and enjoy the playful antics of North American river otters in their two-story indoor/outdoor habitat. See exciting science demonstrations, and presentations by community experts. Discover the amazing Everglades in the Florida EcoScapes exhibit. Hang out with bats, turtles and sharks. Meet an alligator and be charmed by a 6-foot-long snake. Take a ride to Mars or soar through the skies in an FA-18 cockpit simulator or take a ride in the 7D simulator. And immerse yourself in a five-story-high film adventure at the newly renovatede AutoNation(R) IMAX 3D Theater, home of the BIGGEST screen in South Florida. Whether you're two or 82 visit the Museum of Discovery and Science and enjoy a full day of family fun.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“IMAX-Tastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I love a good IMAX film.. And I always loved this museum, having come at least 453 times for various school trips. The collection is fun and serves as a great day out for the family!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    166
    62
    19
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
fort lauderdale
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place for the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

It is a great place for the kids or the adults to play and learn. There is alot to do and see. very hands on.....

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Where Were the Rocks and Minerals?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Fish tanks, a simulated Everglades ride and a "trip" to Mars, lots of hands-on activities, medically used lazers to heal the human body, and airplane cockpits to get into and "pilot" but....no gems, rocks and minerals? I was disappointed! I'll give the Museum of Discovery and Science a chance to include them before returning. I'll call first!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“First timer no Second timer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I bought tickets to take my family to see "The Amazing Spider Man". When I called to make reservation, the operator asked if it was my first visit at the Museum. I told her it was! She included free passes to the Museum with my movie ticket purchase. It does cost to go into the Museum, so if you are visiting for the first time I suggest you let the staff member know, this way you might get a discount or free entrance to the Museum with your Imax movie ticket purchase. Once at the Museum, there was lots of cool stuff, such as the live weather forecast that you can act out a scene. There is also an airplane where you can sit in the cockpit and take pictures. It also has all the instrumentation as a real airplane. Then there is the simulator ride that takes you to outer space, but even though we did had fun there was not much you can do. It is good to visit for the first time only.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great museum for kids and adults”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a really good hands-on science museum for kids 4 and up (our daughter is 10 and loves science centers). There is a play and discovery center on the first floor for smaller kids. The exhibit on Florida's ecology, including the river otter environment, is the highlight of the place. Unlike some reviewers, practically all the exhibits were working. It all seems just a touch run down, and it gets really noisy (could use some carpeting rather than the hard floors), but all in all it was pretty cool. We spent about 3 hours there and did not see a movie; with a movie 4 hours or so would be appropriate. I'd like to see the fees be a little more reasonable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Discovery and Science also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Discovery and Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Discovery and Science, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.