We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Florida motel used to be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of By Eddy Motel

Save Saved
You added By Eddy Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
By Eddy Motel
1021 NE 13th Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 134 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Rome
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“What a Florida motel used to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a double bed huge room with kitchenette( almost a real one) and very large bathroom. It is simple and spotless but it makes possble to have a sunny vacation at at a very nice price. The owner is very accomodating and always asking everybody about their needs. Regarding the tile floor, personally I think that in a seaside place is much better than carpet!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    21
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
53
81
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

After a lovely cruise even though we had to dodge Hurricane Sandy this Motel was a great relaxing find. Handy to shops to stock our little kitchenett, lovely to sit on the balcony outside our room overlooking the pool sipping a nice cool wine, and most of all extremely helpful and very pleasant owners. This was a delightful way to finish off our very eventful holiday before we returned back home to New Zealand .I would highly recommend this little Motel which is tucked away but well located.

Room Tip: We had a room on the upper level as there are only 2 levels, I think this was a better option than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

All of the reviews I read about this place are accurate. Very friendly owners with large clean rooms. Great value to stay here. We stayed one night prior to our cruise leaving Ft. Lauderdale. They made great recommendations on where to eat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

By Eddy provided a quiet, comfortable retreat in a busy city. The courtyard was lovely and the manager very accommodating. The rooms were very large and well equipped for cooking.
We did rent a vehicle as we were further than walking distance from the beach and other sights.
The morning coffee was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at By Eddy before leaving for a cruise last week. The room was an excellent value, which is why I give it a rating of "Excellent". True, it does not have the amenities of a luxury hotel...but it had everything we needed and it was affordable. The room was large and clean. The owners were friendly and accommodating. I originally booked a room on the second floor not realizing that they didn't have an elevator. When we arrived with 5 large bags, the owner was happy to switch us to a room on the first floor to make it easier. We walked a short distance to the Galleria mall, which also has restaurants and we saw a movie at the movie theater just a few blocks away. It felt safe to walk back to the motel at midnight when the movie ended. It is in a great location. I have previously stayed just a few blocks away for 3 times the price, and the places I have stayed were NOT 3 times more luxurious. I will happily stay here again when I visit Fort Lauderdale!!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor if you have lots of luggage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, Oregon
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at By Eddy on both ends of a trip to Key West. The rooms are spotless, adequately furnished and comfortable. We enjoyed talking with the management team, they are friendly and had some good suggestions for us. The pool area is really nice and there is a bbq for use by guests. Each room has a kitchen or kitchenette and a dining area. The property is especially suitable for longer stays. The beach is about 2 miles away and easy to drive to. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

What can I say about my stay if this is helpful! I have stayed at this motel for a few years and it just gets better every year! The last stay in January was excellent the rooms are clean the people running the motel were such sweethearts and if anything was needed they were there! Pricing was reasonable especially how expensive some of these motels/hotels can be around fort lauderdale. You are only a 7 minute drive to the beach and great shopping around the neihborhood! There should not be any negative reviews because honestly this has been one of my favorite place to stay! All around this a superb place to stay especially how expensive it is southflorida! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to By Eddy Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By Eddy Motel

Address: 1021 NE 13th Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#32 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very clean,large rooms,some with kitchen, heated pool, washer dryer, free Wifi internet. Walking distance of shopping, grocery store and restaurant. It is a cozy garden with touch of luxury, in the very heart of Fort Lauderdale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your By Eddy Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By Eddy Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage By Eddy Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.