We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great home base for seeing the Everglades"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Great home base for seeing the Everglades"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

We loved our two night stay here. Nothing fancy, but our room was clean, spacious, well lit and extremely quiet. We had avoided the courtyard because we thought there'd be a lot of noise from the pool but in fact the courtyard rooms are well removed from the pool and the courtyard is surprisingly attractive. Florida City is not exactly the French Riviera but the hotel was well patrolled and we felt quite safe there. Nice, easy place to stay, and a great value for the money. The Everglades was a short and pleasant drive away and we spent several happy days there canoeing and seeing all manner of wildlife. We would have liked to stay in Florida City longer to check ou tmore of the Everglades the nurseries and some of the goofy tourist traps in the area. As far as we are concerned, this is the perfect place from which to see the Everglades!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    273
    109
    23
    16
See reviews for
204
298
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
442 reviews 442 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

Heading to the Keys for a trip over the New Years break and wanted a jumping off point for Biscayne, the Everglades ... and ultimately Key West. This place promised good, basic accommodation (Best Western quality) and good value.

Well, were we pleasantly surprised! Clean, clean, clean. We stayed two nights and there were staff constantly patrolling the grounds, cleaning up, sprucing up. Spotless. Very, very well-maintained. Hot tub was a wonderful treat, especially since we left snow behind back home.

There was a minor mixup at check-in - the room we were assigned hadn't been serviced. To start, we arrived about three hours before checkin time. Second, we learned they had been booked 100% the night before (no wonder, this place is terrific!) and room attendants were pressed.

AND, they fixed the problem by comp'ing us an upgrade to a pool-view room.

That's the way things like this should be handled!

Continental breakfast was very good, including hot. Enjoyed the breakfast out by the pool!

Very reasonable rates.

We're staying there another two nights on the return leg of our trip!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, UK
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
174 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

It' just a roadside Best Western with standard rooms and a mediocre breakfast, built behind some petrol stations and a restaurant. So why did I return a second time and like it just as much as the first visit some years previously? The answer is that I really don't know. Our room (coincidentally the same one as last time) on the ground floor looked over the central courtyard with the pool. The gardens are nice and quiet, and it's very spacious out there; smokers are not hounded into some awful corner, but they're allowed to slowly kill themselves in peace and quiet. The rooms are fresh and clean, but pefectly standard, and the grounds and carpark are maintained to a very high standard. I'd certainly stay there again en route for the Keys, and its only 30 minutes from Miami Airport, and nobody of sound mind would want to stay in Miami.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

This is a nice, inexpensive hotel that is great if you want to visit Everglades or Biscayne National Parks, the Homestead Speedway or even the Upper Keys as it is centrally located in between all of these locations. The hotel is a tad hard to find from US 1 or even Krome Avenue but otherwise it is easy to get from this hotel to any attraction nearby. The hotel has restaurants and fast food places within walking distance and is a short drive to an outlet mall. The rooms were nice in that they had a flat screen tv, two sinks (one in the bathroom, one in the room) and nice sized beds. The breakfast selection was decent.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for the second time and really enjoyed our stay. Our room was were large and clean, we got free popcorn and a free bottle of water each day. The guest laundry was avalilable for free, nothing to pay except the detergent!!! The swimming pool was nice and large enough, breakfast was good. We will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

I found this stay very successfull and happy because of the hotel which i stayed was excellent, the rooms are neat and clean, the beds are clean without any bugs, the batrooms are so good, totally happy stay!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

We stayed here on our way to the Everglades just for one night and never slept a wink. The motel is in an industrial area, so dont go there for the scenery. Our check in was fine and the reception area was clean. Our room was soooo hot , the air conditioning was switched off, we turned it on but it sounded like having a small tractor with its engine running in the room. The room itself smelt a bit musty, it was clean and most of the furniture seemed to be new but it could have done with a new carpet. We told the kids to keep their shoes on. We left the air con on and went to Cracker barrel for dinner, there we were served by the rudest person I have ever come across and the food was particularly bad.Back at the motel , the room still had not cooled down, we had to turn off the air con as we could not sleep with the noise, but then we had to turn it on again as the room was too hot. Overall no sleep was to be had. The breakfast was fine and the breakfast area very clean, the pool area looked fine too. There was a sign in the room stating that everything in the room was for sale, from the facecloths at $5 to the TV at $400 ( what was that all about?) The Everglades were fantastic though. It might be better just to stay here in the winter.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Address: 411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florida City
#3 Business Hotel in Florida City
#4 Family Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Florida City/Homestead, Florida, close to attractions such as the Everglades National Park, the Florida Keys, Miami Speedway, and Biscayne National Park. Best Western Gateway to the Keys’ guests will find friendly helpful staff, newly renovated accommodations and convenient access a variety of key area attractions. Located in Florida City, adjacent to Homestead this Southern Florida area hotel features well-appointed guest rooms, each equipped with Flat Screen LCD television, refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary hot breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, Free guest laundry, free boat and RV parking and meeting facilities. Guests staying at the Best Western Gateway to the Keys will find an array of shopping nearby at the Prime Outlet Shops, the Cutler Bay Shopping Mall and The Falls Shopping Mall. NASCAR® fans staying at the hotel will appreciate being 5 miles from the Homestead/Miami Motorsports Complex, home to a variety of racing events throughout the year. This Homestead area hotel is also located less than 10 miles from key area attractions such as the Everglades National Park, Biscayne National Park and the John Pennekamp Underwater Stone Park. Visitors our hotel will also enjoy a day of fun in the sun at the beautiful Florida Keys or at Miami Beach, just a short drive away. The friendly, helpful staff at the Best Western Park Gateway to the Keys is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Florida City, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway To The Keys Hotel Florida City
Best Western Florida City
Florida City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.