We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - stayed many times” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Durham, NC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place - stayed many times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

The BW Gateway to the Keys has been my hotel of choice in Florida City for almost 10 years now. It's very conveniently located at the tip of mainland Florida, convenient to both the Everglades and to the Keys. The reason I only gave it a 3 on location is that it's hidden behind a restaurant, which could make it hard for a newcomer to find. Also, if you enter from the "back," off Krome Avenue instead of US 1, there's no sign showing where it is. The area around it is very commercial but once you enter the hotel grounds, it's lovely and tropical, especially the pool/hot tub area. Most of the employees are very helpful but one older lady needs to learn to smile - this is a service establishment, remember? Rooms are average for a chain motel but the pool and hot tub area is really pretty and well kept. The price was very good, considering we were there over the holidays.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    250
    102
    20
    15
See reviews for
187
276
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

The hotels in general in Florida City are surrounded by an industrial area. Not very attractive. Asked for a room change and told it was impossible. Everything was sold out. Despite the fact that the parking lot was empty at arrival and the next morning there were obviously other empty rooms this request could not be accomodated. NEVER experienced this before. The beds were like sleeping on a trampoline. Very springy and noisy. Television reception was substandard. Interference experienced on most channels. The swimming pool and hot tub were dirty although the pool area was inviting. If a clean room were your only requirement then you might consider staying here.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft.Myers FL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

We have stayed here a couple of time - have gotten the senior rate - the rooms are nice and the staff are great.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

I recently had a reservation for this hotel for August but cancelled when my travel plans changed in December. Even though I have a cancellation number and cancelled this 8 months prior to the stay the hotel still charged me for a no show. After calling the hotel directly I still have not received credit. I have called and left voice mails for Felix the manager and have not heard back. I also called Best Western corporate and they are unable to help me as well. They told me that since Best Western's are all locally owned and managed the property manager is the only person that can issue a credit. I have opened up a dispute with my credit card company and am sure I will get credited after the investigation but I should not have to do that. This is not the first time this has happened at a Best Western either. The Best western in Lone Pine, CA did the same thing 2 years ago. I am really disappointed in Best Western and will most likely not stay at these properties again.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

This hotel was a good value. We stayed a total of one night and then another two nights after we returned from Key West. The rooms are clean and well maintained. In fact, the entire property appears well maintained. The hotel is located well between attractions that are easy to reach by car such as the Everglades, Key Largo, Key Biscayne. The breakfast offered is generous and well done. I am very impressed with how well this budget hotel is run.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

When I booked this room, I was unaware that it had no elevator and we would be on our own schlepping our luggage upstairs. After a long day of travel and checking in about 7:00 pm, the lack of help with our luggage was no big deal until we realized there was no elevator. I think they should have brought this up at check in. I have a heart condition and carrying things upstairs is a challenge for me. Thankfully, my husband did the heavy work. I know I could have gone back to the reception desk and asked for a room on the ground level, but we were all so tired we just wanted a quick dip in the pool and a good nights sleep. The room was too small to accommodate the roll away bed we had requested and smelled like mildew. The breakfast was just OK and several items (like bagels) were gone at 7:30 the next morning when we came down for breakfast. Again, my husband carried all the bags down the stairs and were able to leave Florida City and the Best Western behind.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reims
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

first night before evergleades, keys very nice people, cosy room and nice warm swimming pool

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Address: 411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Florida City
#3 Family Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Florida City/Homestead, Florida, close to attractions such as the Everglades National Park, the Florida Keys, Miami Speedway, and Biscayne National Park. Best Western Gateway to the Keys’ guests will find friendly helpful staff, newly renovated accommodations and convenient access a variety of key area attractions. Located in Florida City, adjacent to Homestead this Southern Florida area hotel features well-appointed guest rooms, each equipped with Flat Screen LCD television, refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary hot breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, Free guest laundry, free boat and RV parking and meeting facilities. Guests staying at the Best Western Gateway to the Keys will find an array of shopping nearby at the Prime Outlet Shops, the Cutler Bay Shopping Mall and The Falls Shopping Mall. NASCAR® fans staying at the hotel will appreciate being 5 miles from the Homestead/Miami Motorsports Complex, home to a variety of racing events throughout the year. This Homestead area hotel is also located less than 10 miles from key area attractions such as the Everglades National Park, Biscayne National Park and the John Pennekamp Underwater Stone Park. Visitors our hotel will also enjoy a day of fun in the sun at the beautiful Florida Keys or at Miami Beach, just a short drive away. The friendly, helpful staff at the Best Western Park Gateway to the Keys is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Florida City, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway To The Keys Hotel Florida City
Best Western Florida City
Florida City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.