We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, well managed.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Florida City
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great value, well managed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

This hotel was a good value. We stayed a total of one night and then another two nights after we returned from Key West. The rooms are clean and well maintained. In fact, the entire property appears well maintained. The hotel is located well between attractions that are easy to reach by car such as the Everglades, Key Largo, Key Biscayne. The breakfast offered is generous and well done. I am very impressed with how well this budget hotel is run.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    239
    100
    20
    15
See reviews for
178
272
21
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

When I booked this room, I was unaware that it had no elevator and we would be on our own schlepping our luggage upstairs. After a long day of travel and checking in about 7:00 pm, the lack of help with our luggage was no big deal until we realized there was no elevator. I think they should have brought this up at check in. I have a heart condition and carrying things upstairs is a challenge for me. Thankfully, my husband did the heavy work. I know I could have gone back to the reception desk and asked for a room on the ground level, but we were all so tired we just wanted a quick dip in the pool and a good nights sleep. The room was too small to accommodate the roll away bed we had requested and smelled like mildew. The breakfast was just OK and several items (like bagels) were gone at 7:30 the next morning when we came down for breakfast. Again, my husband carried all the bags down the stairs and were able to leave Florida City and the Best Western behind.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reims
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

first night before evergleades, keys very nice people, cosy room and nice warm swimming pool

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

The reception area was attractive, clean and comfortable with coffee and biscuits available. The staff very friendly and on our arrival our request to move up a floor presented no problem. The stairs were clean as were the corridors and the room was very comfortable with a small kitchen area, dining table and chairs. We rang reception to request an extra towel which was speedily dispatched and delivered with a smile.
The complimentary breakfast was very poor indeed with little on offer which was very disappointing as we felt we had paid over the odds for a hotel in this location.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

comfortable room, with all amenities we required. Short drive to Miami, longer drive through the keys. Tourist info close by. Did the whole " spice route",( local tourist spots)
enjoyed ALL of them without fighting traffic. Good location to see Miami and surrounding area if you prefer to stay out of the city and into a more rural setting. Breakfast was adequate and fresh if a bit crowded.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, KS
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

My husband and I booked this hotel on the advice from the website and we checked out early so we wouldn't have to spend another night in this gross hotel. The carpet on the floor was disgusting--probably has never been cleaned before. There were stains on the floor and on the couch in our room. The shower curtain looked new but that was the only thing in the bathroom that did look new. Also, the community where this hotel is located is VERY scary. We did not feel safe and when we woke in the morning we were glad to see our car was not broken into. Also, the free breakfast was to laugh at! It was so busy we had no where to sit let alone able to get any food because the attendant they had was taking food away at 8:30 am. Overall, this hotel was dingy and not kept clean. I would not recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

Staff was rude when checking in. They had a fire alarm check for maintenance at 8:00 am the next morning. It was excruciating on the ears and impossible to get any work done. The rooms are very thin walled and one can hear every word of conversation next door. We had to check out immediately or lose our hearing to the shrill of alarms!!! No comfort or privacy!! Complaints fell on deaf ears. There are plenty of other motels in the area, that are very nice, which will get our business from now on..........we frequent the area on business. We will never stay there again

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GATEWAYBW, manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, responded to this review, May 6, 2009
We are sorry to say that we did have an unexpected fire alarm test done by our local county. I also must say that the alarm testing did not actually start to 10 am and many of the guests were suprised as we were of the bells going on and off for 20 minutes. This test was out of our hands, so I wouldn't want any future guests to feel that complaints fall on deaf ears. We do all that we can within our powers. As far as the walls being paper thin, I have to tell you that this hotel was built after Hurricane Andrew. All our walls our poured solid concrete. Our doors and windows are rated category 3 hurricane safety. We are the choice for many locals when a hurricane decides to visit. We are currenlty installing a 275,000 watt generator so our guests will have power during and after a hurricane's visit. Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Address: 411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Florida City/Homestead, Florida, close to attractions such as the Everglades National Park, the Florida Keys, Miami Speedway, and Biscayne National Park. Best Western Gateway to the Keys’ guests will find friendly helpful staff, newly renovated accommodations and convenient access a variety of key area attractions. Located in Florida City, adjacent to Homestead this Southern Florida area hotel features well-appointed guest rooms, each equipped with Flat Screen LCD television, refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary hot breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, Free guest laundry, free boat and RV parking and meeting facilities. Guests staying at the Best Western Gateway to the Keys will find an array of shopping nearby at the Prime Outlet Shops, the Cutler Bay Shopping Mall and The Falls Shopping Mall. NASCAR® fans staying at the hotel will appreciate being 5 miles from the Homestead/Miami Motorsports Complex, home to a variety of racing events throughout the year. This Homestead area hotel is also located less than 10 miles from key area attractions such as the Everglades National Park, Biscayne National Park and the John Pennekamp Underwater Stone Park. Visitors our hotel will also enjoy a day of fun in the sun at the beautiful Florida Keys or at Miami Beach, just a short drive away. The friendly, helpful staff at the Best Western Park Gateway to the Keys is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Florida City, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway To The Keys Hotel Florida City
Best Western Florida City
Florida City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.