We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel, good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Average Hotel, good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This hotel is a fairly typical Best Western that hasn't had any updates since the 1990's. The rooms were reasonably clean. We checked for signs of bed bugs after seeing another post at this hotel with pictures of them, but we saw no signs of them under the mattress or head board. Bathrooms were clean, and carpets were clean.

The couches in the rooms really need to be vacuumed, especially under the cushions, and the couches in the lobby are quite dirty and need to be tossed out -- bad first impression.

The rate was a little high but it was a holiday.

The location is fantastic if you are using it to visit the southern glades, or are planning on heading out to the keys and don't want to pay keys prices. Either way a car is a must for anything you do in this area.

Check-in process was fine, however there was only one lone staff member and about 6 guests waiting to be served. I never understand how hotels function with so few staff. However, she was quite polite and did a great job handling the large crowd!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GATEWAYBW, Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
I would like to start of with we have ZERO tolerance when it comes to bed bugs. We have never had a real incident with bed bugs. We use Ecolab and Shield pest control on a monthly basis to ensure that our rooms are at the highest standards when it comes to pest control. Our housekeeping checks thoroughly on a daily basis all areas of the rooms to make sure this is not an issue at our hotel.This incident you are referring to was a guest that stayed with us for a time and tried to get out of the bill and wanted extra compensation on the last night. We take these accusations very seriously but TripAdvisor allows attempted extortion. The guest contacted us several times after for compensation to remove everything. We have shown proof from pest companies that showed nothing was found and the claim was completely false but false claims doesn't fall into TripAdvisors integrity and guidelines. If any guests have any questions about this, please email us at gatewaybw@aol.com or call 3052465100 and we will reply back to any concerns you may have. This is daily fight and we work hard to ensure the safety and health of our guests and we take this very seriously.
I would also like to thank you for your review. We take all your feedback seriously and appreciate any thoughts you may have. I will let housekeeping know about your concerns on the couches in the rooms. I really hope you enjoyed your stay here in South Florida. We are a Florida Keys themed hotel and our décor represents that of the area.The hotel has gone a full renovation in 2010 with updated flat screen televisions and Wifi that did not exist in the 90s, mini fridges, microwaves, and more. I hope you had time to enjoy our hot breakfast with eggs, bacon, waffles and several pastries. Or sat pool side in our tropical courtyard and relaxed under the sun. The theme and look of the hotel is the Florida Keys and is the only hotel in the area with this unique style. For any future reservations please call directly at 305-246-5100. We really recommend booking directly with us for no hassle cancellations/modifications and the best rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    273
    109
    23
    16
See reviews for
204
298
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We always stay at this hotel when we are in Florida City. It's reasonable and convenient. The people are great and the rooms are comfortable. It's convenient to Everglades National Park. and a good stopping off point before going to the Keys.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, NY, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Excellent hotel experience, didn't want to stay in Key West, although a 2.5 hour ride from Key West it was a pleasurable trip and the cost savings where absolutely worth it. Hotel staff and rooms where more then expected for the cost

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bg Ky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is a very lovely hotel and the staff provides great customer service by having a positive attitude when dealing with their customers. The rooms are very comfortable and they provide a very enjoyable breakfast. Will most definitely stay here when traveling to the area again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Chile
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

The walls are so thin you can hear everything from the room next door - pack your earplugs!
No Lift for Level 2, so if you have any issues with stairs, you need to request Ground Floor!
Room was OK, Pillows lumpy, bed was Nice, decor dated. Breakfast was good!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on our journey down to Marathon, didnt have a reservation but as it was Sunday we got a room ok. Helpful Reception girl on checking in. Very nice large room overlooking the pool area, very clean, furnishings in good condition and lots of towels in the bathroom. Fridge in room as well plus coffee maker.Swimming pool looked lovely, but a little chilly as not heated. Breakfast next day was excellent with everything you needed. Some restaurants close by over the busy road for eating out. Would definately recomend this hotel and stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for one over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed for 1 night,
Room was a very good size with 2 queen beds also a table and chairs in front of the window. It also contained a small kitchen area with Fridge,Microwave and Coffee maker.
The air-con was very quite and efficient.
We didn't use the pool but the pool area was very nice with hot tub.
The breakfast was nice but the only problem is that the seating area just isn't big enough to accommodate a full hotel. but the offering was good bacon,scrambled egg 2 waffle machine and plenty of breads cereals and pastries.

Would stay here again if in the area

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Address: 411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Florida City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florida City
#4 Family Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Florida City/Homestead, Florida, close to attractions such as the Everglades National Park, the Florida Keys, Miami Speedway, and Biscayne National Park. Best Western Gateway to the Keys’ guests will find friendly helpful staff, newly renovated accommodations and convenient access a variety of key area attractions. Located in Florida City, adjacent to Homestead this Southern Florida area hotel features well-appointed guest rooms, each equipped with Flat Screen LCD television, refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary hot breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, Free guest laundry, free boat and RV parking and meeting facilities. Guests staying at the Best Western Gateway to the Keys will find an array of shopping nearby at the Prime Outlet Shops, the Cutler Bay Shopping Mall and The Falls Shopping Mall. NASCAR® fans staying at the hotel will appreciate being 5 miles from the Homestead/Miami Motorsports Complex, home to a variety of racing events throughout the year. This Homestead area hotel is also located less than 10 miles from key area attractions such as the Everglades National Park, Biscayne National Park and the John Pennekamp Underwater Stone Park. Visitors our hotel will also enjoy a day of fun in the sun at the beautiful Florida Keys or at Miami Beach, just a short drive away. The friendly, helpful staff at the Best Western Park Gateway to the Keys is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Florida City, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway To The Keys Hotel Florida City
Best Western Florida City
Florida City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.