We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay over on way to Keys” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Davenport, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stay over on way to Keys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on our journey down to Marathon, didnt have a reservation but as it was Sunday we got a room ok. Helpful Reception girl on checking in. Very nice large room overlooking the pool area, very clean, furnishings in good condition and lots of towels in the bathroom. Fridge in room as well plus coffee maker.Swimming pool looked lovely, but a little chilly as not heated. Breakfast next day was excellent with everything you needed. Some restaurants close by over the busy road for eating out. Would definately recomend this hotel and stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for one over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    273
    109
    23
    16
See reviews for
204
298
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed for 1 night,
Room was a very good size with 2 queen beds also a table and chairs in front of the window. It also contained a small kitchen area with Fridge,Microwave and Coffee maker.
The air-con was very quite and efficient.
We didn't use the pool but the pool area was very nice with hot tub.
The breakfast was nice but the only problem is that the seating area just isn't big enough to accommodate a full hotel. but the offering was good bacon,scrambled egg 2 waffle machine and plenty of breads cereals and pastries.

Would stay here again if in the area

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on two occasions at the beginning of February. After landing at Miami airport we drove the 35 miles and spent the night. Then drove the next day to Key West for four days. We then returned to Florida City for three nights to visit the Everglades.
The first night we stayed we were there a 6PM and left about 9Am. Room was clean shower was great. Beds were comfortable. The room was missing the second vanity though, and pipes were sticking out of the wall. No big deal but rather unseemly. Breakfast was adequate, waffles, eggs, fruit, ect. No complaints there.
The second stay is when things went wrong. After returning from a visit to the Everglades Park at 4:30 in the afternoon discovered out room wasn't cleaned and there were contractors installing a vanity. Annoyed, we went out to an early dinner returning at about 5:30 to find the room had be straightened up but smelled terribly of adhesives and chemicals. We immediately registered a complaint and were given a different room, naturally requiring us to move all our belongings.
The next day we visited the Everglades again returning to the motel about 3:00. The room looked like it had been hastily cleaned, carpet hadn't been vacuumed, bathroom floor had dirty boot prints on it, table had stains on it from a leaky coffee cup and beds were made very quickly. But the real problem was the room again smelled of adhesives and chemicals and the vanity had clamps holding it together. The smell was not as bad as the previous day but still very noticeable. We just said the heck with it and sat around with a couple of drinks airing out the room for awhile. We left the next morning.
I find it difficult to understand how this motel operator could allow maintenance people, from a private company, to enter an occupied room to work. In my opinion this is an unacceptable practice. They should really take a look again at working on a room that has been rented.
This motel is in an excellent location to visit the Everglades Park and there a many restaurants located nearby. It's too bad it ended up such a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duncannon, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

good location to explore the glades and homestead/florida city.Clean ,Quiet , no road noise ;-D don't skip Robert Is Here fruit stand on your wyt to the glades... Coral Castle allso a must see. Try Sonnys BBQ , and the Mutinneer . If you go to the Walmart , avoid crowds ,go early , befor 10 AM

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

As always, after reading reviews, looking at maps and wondering about a place where we have never been - we were very much surprised at the location, properties conditions, etc.

The Best Western Gateway to the Keys is a VERY WELL KEPT hotel!!
The Entrance and Main Check-In area well clean and welcoming!
The Front Desk and Check-In could use some improvement, check-in was VERY SLOW, but the front desk clerk handled the situation nicely considering she had more than 5 in line waiting to check in at the same time.
The rooms were fresh and clean, beds were comfy, as were the fluffy pillows.
The bathroom was clean and had products at hand if you forgot yours.
Breakfast area was small and had the typical 'free' breakfast assortment, toast, waffles, cereal, pastries, etc. My only complaint about this area was they should keep up with the guest flow and clean up MORE OFTEN. Tables were sticky, counters were messy, etc. But not so bad that you did not mind grabbing that bite to eat before you hit the road.
Although we did not use the pool - that area was clean and VERY TEMPTING (lack of time hindered us) with loungers, tables and chairs.

On a side note - the hotel is making wonderful improvements as well, granite counter tops in the bathrooms for one example!

I would highly recommend this hotel for location, cleanliness and most important its low price in comparison to other area hotels.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms looked temping but were pricey! We had a first floor room just adjacent to the lobb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This hotel is in a great location for the Everglades main entrance, without getting onto Homesteads main road. You also go past the excellent 'Robert is here' stall'. The big problem with this hotel however, is the woefully inadequate breakfast area, considering the number of rooms. It is a very small area, today we tried twice to find a table with at least 45mins in between, the second time was at 09.10 and people were queuing to sit, I also noticed most of the food was gone and the staff just standing around, had they run out with 20 mins to go? We gave up.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We based here for exploring the Everglades National Park and Upper Keys and had no complaints. Our room was an average motel room with great beds and pillows and very quiet surroundings despite being next to a staircase. The fridge was a nice addition and the shower worked well. The AC required a little attention at times as it alternately got a bit too cool or warm but not a big deal. Very clean. Breakfast was better than most although the greasy and limp bacon was virtually inedible. The next remodeling ought to have more outlets for computers and cell phones in the light fixtures. Just about the southernmost hotel on the mainland so you can be on US 1 or the Card Sound Road (alternate road to Key Largo) in less than 2 minutes from the motel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Address: 411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Florida City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florida City
#4 Family Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Florida City/Homestead, Florida, close to attractions such as the Everglades National Park, the Florida Keys, Miami Speedway, and Biscayne National Park. Best Western Gateway to the Keys’ guests will find friendly helpful staff, newly renovated accommodations and convenient access a variety of key area attractions. Located in Florida City, adjacent to Homestead this Southern Florida area hotel features well-appointed guest rooms, each equipped with Flat Screen LCD television, refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary hot breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, Free guest laundry, free boat and RV parking and meeting facilities. Guests staying at the Best Western Gateway to the Keys will find an array of shopping nearby at the Prime Outlet Shops, the Cutler Bay Shopping Mall and The Falls Shopping Mall. NASCAR® fans staying at the hotel will appreciate being 5 miles from the Homestead/Miami Motorsports Complex, home to a variety of racing events throughout the year. This Homestead area hotel is also located less than 10 miles from key area attractions such as the Everglades National Park, Biscayne National Park and the John Pennekamp Underwater Stone Park. Visitors our hotel will also enjoy a day of fun in the sun at the beautiful Florida Keys or at Miami Beach, just a short drive away. The friendly, helpful staff at the Best Western Park Gateway to the Keys is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Florida City, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway To The Keys Hotel Florida City
Best Western Florida City
Florida City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.