We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exploring the everglades” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Certificate of Excellence
duncannon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“exploring the everglades”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

good location to explore the glades and homestead/florida city.Clean ,Quiet , no road noise ;-D don't skip Robert Is Here fruit stand on your wyt to the glades... Coral Castle allso a must see. Try Sonnys BBQ , and the Mutinneer . If you go to the Walmart , avoid crowds ,go early , befor 10 AM

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    360
    131
    25
    19
See reviews for
264
382
31
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

As always, after reading reviews, looking at maps and wondering about a place where we have never been - we were very much surprised at the location, properties conditions, etc.

The Best Western Gateway to the Keys is a VERY WELL KEPT hotel!!
The Entrance and Main Check-In area well clean and welcoming!
The Front Desk and Check-In could use some improvement, check-in was VERY SLOW, but the front desk clerk handled the situation nicely considering she had more than 5 in line waiting to check in at the same time.
The rooms were fresh and clean, beds were comfy, as were the fluffy pillows.
The bathroom was clean and had products at hand if you forgot yours.
Breakfast area was small and had the typical 'free' breakfast assortment, toast, waffles, cereal, pastries, etc. My only complaint about this area was they should keep up with the guest flow and clean up MORE OFTEN. Tables were sticky, counters were messy, etc. But not so bad that you did not mind grabbing that bite to eat before you hit the road.
Although we did not use the pool - that area was clean and VERY TEMPTING (lack of time hindered us) with loungers, tables and chairs.

On a side note - the hotel is making wonderful improvements as well, granite counter tops in the bathrooms for one example!

I would highly recommend this hotel for location, cleanliness and most important its low price in comparison to other area hotels.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms looked temping but were pricey! We had a first floor room just adjacent to the lobb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This hotel is in a great location for the Everglades main entrance, without getting onto Homesteads main road. You also go past the excellent 'Robert is here' stall'. The big problem with this hotel however, is the woefully inadequate breakfast area, considering the number of rooms. It is a very small area, today we tried twice to find a table with at least 45mins in between, the second time was at 09.10 and people were queuing to sit, I also noticed most of the food was gone and the staff just standing around, had they run out with 20 mins to go? We gave up.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We based here for exploring the Everglades National Park and Upper Keys and had no complaints. Our room was an average motel room with great beds and pillows and very quiet surroundings despite being next to a staircase. The fridge was a nice addition and the shower worked well. The AC required a little attention at times as it alternately got a bit too cool or warm but not a big deal. Very clean. Breakfast was better than most although the greasy and limp bacon was virtually inedible. The next remodeling ought to have more outlets for computers and cell phones in the light fixtures. Just about the southernmost hotel on the mainland so you can be on US 1 or the Card Sound Road (alternate road to Key Largo) in less than 2 minutes from the motel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed here one night on a visit to the Everglades. The desk staff was efficient, but not too friendly. The room was clean and had a fridge, microwave, etc. Air conditioning unit was noisy. Continental breakfast was better than average. We did not use the pool, but it looked inviting and the area around it had lots of tables/chairs to enjoy the sunshine. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GATEWAYBW, Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
I would like to apologize that we only served your needs and did not excel in your expectations during your stay at our hotel. We work hard to assure that our guests have the best experience possible during the vacation to South Florida. We offer a long list of amenities, free wifi, and the largest pool area in town. Our pool area and hot tub is greatly enjoyed by our guests. I will look into your A/C issue immediately and get that changed out. Im glad to here you enjoyed our FREE breakfast that consists of eggs, bacon, waffles, muffins, cinnamon rolls, fruit and more. For any future reservations please call directly at 305-246-5100. I really recommend booking directly with us for no hassle cancellations/modifications and the best rates. Don't get tricked into using other sites at a higher rate. Get the best discounts and packages at bestwestern.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The room had a weird empty corner where the electrical outlet was dead and broken faucets were sticking out of the wall. Probably took out a sink and did not bother to cover or replace. Tub was clogged up so water would fill up while taking a shower. Reported to the front desk but did not repair so 2nd night still had a pool of water.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laughlin, Nevada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Great location to go to the Keys. Walking distance to local restaurants. Drive up and park in front of your room. Rooms were spacious and the bed was comfortable. Out side was muggy so the A/C ran all the time. It was surprisingly quiet. The breakfast was great!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Address: 411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florida City
#3 Family Hotel in Florida City
#6 Business Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Florida City/Homestead, Florida, close to attractions such as the Everglades National Park, the Florida Keys, Miami Speedway, and Biscayne National Park. Best Western Gateway to the Keys’ guests will find friendly helpful staff, newly renovated accommodations and convenient access a variety of key area attractions. Located in Florida City, adjacent to Homestead this Southern Florida area hotel features well-appointed guest rooms, each equipped with Flat Screen LCD television, refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary hot breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, Free guest laundry, free boat and RV parking and meeting facilities. Guests staying at the Best Western Gateway to the Keys will find an array of shopping nearby at the Prime Outlet Shops, the Cutler Bay Shopping Mall and The Falls Shopping Mall. NASCAR® fans staying at the hotel will appreciate being 5 miles from the Homestead/Miami Motorsports Complex, home to a variety of racing events throughout the year. This Homestead area hotel is also located less than 10 miles from key area attractions such as the Everglades National Park, Biscayne National Park and the John Pennekamp Underwater Stone Park. Visitors our hotel will also enjoy a day of fun in the sun at the beautiful Florida Keys or at Miami Beach, just a short drive away. The friendly, helpful staff at the Best Western Park Gateway to the Keys is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Florida City, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway To The Keys Hotel Florida City
Best Western Florida City
Florida City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.