We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Florida City
Florida City, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clean & friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at BW Floriday City. It was clean and the staff was professional and friendly. The breakfast was fantastic. Having the worry taken out of breakfast with our kids is something we can always count on with Best Western. It's a great way to start each day of our vacation. This was a nice stop on our way to the Keys.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    202
    88
    21
    15
See reviews for
139
233
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel is nicely situated at the beginning of the keys. It is nearby Everglades National Park and The Florida Keys Outlet Center. The staff was so friendly. Annie and Natasha pleasantly presented us with a "lootbag" with a bag of sweet and salty popcorn and a bottle of water. The rooms are a bit outdated, but there is a new flat screen TV which was much appreciated. There were some mystery hairs in the bathroom and on my pillow (a long blond one and I am a brunette). Breakfast was your typical Best Western fare. The pool was a nice bonus.

Room Tip: WiFi signal is intermittent. There is a business center which was really helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel was the best. Only problem was internet not working. This is OK if you are trying to get away from that. All employees that I spoke with were kind and courteous. My stay was for relaxation and I was able to do that. Thank you everyone for the pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I'm thinking this hotel was recently redone since it was very clean and updated. The rooms were excellent. The hotel was fully booked since it was lobster season but the check in and out went very smoothly. The only issue I had is the breakfast bacon could not be eaten. It was extremely chewy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed for a night so that we could visit Keys and Everglades.Mostly I read reviews and fix the hotel.But I guess it was my ill luck...My stay was totally disappointing .The room was in bad shape the toilet flush system was poor and overflowed,the morning we vacated .Informed the front desk ,but they did not seem surprised.This was the only negative factor in my Florida visit.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GATEWAYBW, Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Im really sorry to hear about your problem with the toilet. I hope you informed someone when the problems occurred so that we could have fixed it immediately. We are constantly trying to improve ourselves and the rooms. Your feed back will be taken very seriously. If you come back please email me directly at gatewaybw@aol.com and we can work something out for your next visit to Florida. If you have any other comments or questions please feel free to contact me.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niceville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

hotel is right off the pike on rt 1 and the last stop before the keys. the pool is great for kids. the hotel is off rt 1 far enough not to hear the road noise. quite rooms are on the side away from the pool area and pool traffic routes. breakfast becomes a battle for food and a table later in the am as kids and parents arrive and a line forms to get at the food. we found the kids. every one of them. to be polite and respectful...thanks parents!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We staid at the Best Western coming from Key West going into the Everglades. Our main criteria was location and this is just about as good as it gets. From the hotel the main entrance to Everglades National Park is pretty much "down the road", its about a 10min drive. Otherwise it's conveniently located on US-1 where you can find a wide range of shops, restaurants, gas stations etc. just going up the road towards Homestead. Good roadside location! When you're approaching the hotel on US-1 be sure to watch for the sign - you will not be able to see the property from the road, but there is actually no need to turn off of US-1 as my GPS suggested, there is a small road leading directly to the hotel. The good news about this location: absolutely no road noise at the hotel, it's extremely quiet - there are empty lots/fields on two sides.
We found the price to be highly competitive, especially for a Saturday night - the property itself is a classic roadside model. While the lobby and entrance area suggests a higher hotel class, the rest of the property is your typical model: 2-story building, outside corridors. The buildings are arranged in a U-shape around the pool area. Palm trees make for a nice perspective from the room into the courtyard if you have a room facing the inside. The room was in good, it seems to have been renovated not all to long ago and was clean. We had some trouble with the A/C - it had been fittet with a thermostat, but apparently the electronic had crashed and it simply wouldn't shut down. Unfortunately the A/C was rather loud and we had to eventually unplug it to get some rest (which also seemed to solve the thermostat problem when we plugged it back in).
The hotel Wifi collapsed some time in the evening and had not been restored until we checked out the next morning - we didn't complain to the lobby but apparently they didn't notice either. We tried the business center as an alternative and found an uncomfortable, windowless room with an old laptop (also without internet at the time).
The front desk staff was not very nice, didn't ask about the quality of our stay focusing on the billing process only.
Overall: basic motel, good value, expect nothing fancy. Great location if you're on your way to the keys but can't make it down or into the Everglades, personally I wouldn't spend more than a night, but return for the same reasons I came this time. I'd rate this hotel 3.5 if I could, but only because I feel that 'very good' is not an adequate description. It was 'good', no real complaints, all OK. But then again, I don't want to trash their average ratings just because of some minor glitches.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway To The Keys Hotel
Best Western Gateway To The Keys Hotel Florida City
Best Western Florida City
Florida City Best Western
Address: 411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Florida City/Homestead, Florida, close to attractions such as the Everglades National Park, the Florida Keys, Miami Speedway, and Biscayne National Park. Best Western Gateway to the Keys’ guests will find friendly helpful staff, newly renovated accommodations and convenient access a variety of key area attractions. Located in Florida City, adjacent to Homestead this Southern Florida area hotel features well-appointed guest rooms, each equipped with Flat Screen LCD television, refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary hot breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, Free guest laundry, free boat and RV parking and meeting facilities. Guests staying at the Best Western Gateway to the Keys will find an array of shopping nearby at the Prime Outlet Shops, the Cutler Bay Shopping Mall and The Falls Shopping Mall. NASCAR® fans staying at the hotel will appreciate being 5 miles from the Homestead/Miami Motorsports Complex, home to a variety of racing events throughout the year. This Homestead area hotel is also located less than 10 miles from key area attractions such as the Everglades National Park, Biscayne National Park and the John Pennekamp Underwater Stone Park. Visitors our hotel will also enjoy a day of fun in the sun at the beautiful Florida Keys or at Miami Beach, just a short drive away. The friendly, helpful staff at the Best Western Park Gateway to the Keys is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Florida City, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Best Western, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.