We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Florida City
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our group was on our annual trip - this year being a bus trip - and stayed here on our way to and from Key West. Very well located to make that drive short without paying the big bucks that are charged in the Keys. Overall stay was okay. Price was very good compared to other places that we stayed. They did, however, give me a big hassle about the two puppies I had along that are being trained as service dogs. Almost as much as one place that I cancelled. I understand that they have a no dog policy. However, the manager had okayed this. They are the only place I have ever stayed where they were demanding papers showing they were service dogs. These are not issued until training is completed as some just don't make it. Breakfast - ok, nothing special. It is only the second place we have ever stayed that had outside doors. Would I stay here again? Yes. It's good but doesn't have anything particularly exceptional to talk about. Slow to get a reservation confirmed, so if you have a large group, start early. Front desk staff could be a bit more personable as well.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    230
    98
    20
    15
See reviews for
163
269
21
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Beautiful hotel, clean and nice rooms! Friendly and check in. Breakfast lady was outstanding! Besides being near to the Keys, the Florida Outlet and the East side of the Everglades there is not much to see in the neighboorhood.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The room are spacious, well-equipped, clean with pool-view. Breakfast is rich and delicious. The yard is bid with a pool, jacuzzi,pool-chairs and tables. coffee,tea and tasty cookies are available 24/7. Hotel staff including the wonderful manager, Alex Salem, are very courteous, attentive and ready to assist with anything anytime!! Great location with fast access to the Keys and Everglades. We highly recommend the hotel and will not hesitate to come and stay there anytime we are in Florida

Room Tip: Room with a pool-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at this hotel and were very dissappointed that it isnt what it appeard to be in all the pictures. We couldnt get into our door because of key problems. The room was plain and dark. We got up early for breakfast and the one person in charge of breakfast had car problems and so they had no idea when breakfast would be. It's amazing that only one person handles this job. They had cereal out from the day before but couldnt give you any milk. I tried several times to get the manager to call me to see about a credit because I didnt get part of what I payed for and never heard a word from him. I don't think he ever worked because he was never in and all I could do was leave messages. They never gave me a chance to rate them, I had to go to trip advisor to do it .I truly believe that the ratings are not true based on my experience and I travel alot.

Room Tip: Room by pool. It was the only pretty thing about this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GATEWAYBW, Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
I apologize for the issues you had. The key machine was broken and took a couple days for the new system to be built and come in. We apologize for the breakfast. Our times are from 630 to 930am but as a courtesy to our guest we try to get it out earlier than our normal business times when possible.. We were unable to do that, the morning of your stay due to some vehicle problems that the staff had. I am really sorry and hope you will come back and give us another try. Send us an email at gatewaybw@aol.com if your back so that I can offer you something better.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stained couch....mold/mildew on floor under bathroom sink. Hair under bath mat....etc..etc.....bedding/room did not look inviting...

One clerk at the front desk seemed very uncaring. I explained to her that I specifically put the DO NOT DISTURB SIGN on the door only to have housekeeping banging at the door early the next morning. I had already been awakened by the constant slamming of the doors that housekeeping were cleaning. The front desk clerk said OH..THATS WHAT THEY ARE SUPPOSED TO DO. My question is.....WHY HAVE THE DO NOT DISTURB SIGNS????
Checkout time is noon and I wish I could have gotten more sleep. This location is one where you will not get it!!!!! I will pass on this location and staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GATEWAYBW, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
I'm really sorry to hear about your experience our hotel. I will let housekeeping know of your issues and we will address it immediately. They currently start work after 10am and we will take that into review to address our guests needs. If you need anything else please contact to hotel for further assistance. Thank you for taking the time and letting us know ways we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

I tryed to leave a customer survey a few days ago to see if management would care about anything I wrote about privately. But no reply at all! The first eve the was good; comfy bed, security on premises, nice hotel clerk and she even told us there were no rooms available without letting security let u in(6/2/13). Key cards didn't work. So we decided that the first eve stay was good that we went back. BAD MOVE the lady at desk,Yessimia looked at us like I'm busy why are you bothering me and spoke the same words...what can I help you with(attitude included). I wanted to leave, but it was late we accepted her aweful attitude, and kindly called after getting in the room to ask for a wakeup call...in which we NEVER received and I had an important meeting to attend. I would give a good 4 stars but if that's the help they allow, many people won't return no matter how nice the property is. That would be my clientele included. I'm convinced by reading other reviews and mine included they expect help to go where management won't, & that's a shame cause its a nice location on decent property!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GATEWAYBW, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
I'm apologize about your experience with the front desk. We did have issue with the key card machine during your stay which was a big inconvenience for our guests. I am sorry and the front desk issue will be addressed promptly. If you need anything else please contact to hotel for further assistance. Thank you for taking the time and letting us know ways we can improve. I really hope you come back and give us a chance to show you that we are better than what you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We spent one night here before going down to Marathon on the keys for a week. We returned to the hotel and stayed five nights so we could visit the Everglades , Miami , and other parts of the area. The room was clean and well serviced. The air con was a bit noisy to leave on at night. Nice breakfast included in the room rate. The pool was always clean and tidy. Staff were attentive and friendly. Overall a great place to stay at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Nice fish restaurant just waking distance from the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Address: 411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Florida City
#3 Business Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Florida City/Homestead, Florida, close to attractions such as the Everglades National Park, the Florida Keys, Miami Speedway, and Biscayne National Park. Best Western Gateway to the Keys’ guests will find friendly helpful staff, newly renovated accommodations and convenient access a variety of key area attractions. Located in Florida City, adjacent to Homestead this Southern Florida area hotel features well-appointed guest rooms, each equipped with Flat Screen LCD television, refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary hot breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, Free guest laundry, free boat and RV parking and meeting facilities. Guests staying at the Best Western Gateway to the Keys will find an array of shopping nearby at the Prime Outlet Shops, the Cutler Bay Shopping Mall and The Falls Shopping Mall. NASCAR® fans staying at the hotel will appreciate being 5 miles from the Homestead/Miami Motorsports Complex, home to a variety of racing events throughout the year. This Homestead area hotel is also located less than 10 miles from key area attractions such as the Everglades National Park, Biscayne National Park and the John Pennekamp Underwater Stone Park. Visitors our hotel will also enjoy a day of fun in the sun at the beautiful Florida Keys or at Miami Beach, just a short drive away. The friendly, helpful staff at the Best Western Park Gateway to the Keys is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Florida City, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway To The Keys Hotel Florida City
Best Western Florida City
Florida City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.