We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a travelers oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
caledon, ontario, canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“a travelers oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stopped here to visit the Everglades and also on our way back from Key West. Poolview rooms best option. Away from traffic noise and you can walk out and sit by the pool and relax. Nice big pool area with tables, chairs and loungers. Rooms were clean and good size. Breakfast was more than ample and fresh. Coffee and juice available at all time and the coffee was good. My only negative would be the girl that checked us in each time. No smile, no eye contact. Did her job but with zero warmth. The rest of our stay made up for the cool reception.
There is a great seafood restaurant next door. Good food, service and reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    247
    101
    20
    15
See reviews for
184
275
22
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed her on our way to the keys and arrived very late. The staff was just as nice as had we checked in anytime. The room was clean and bed were comfy so we got a good nights sleep. We ate breaky there and it was adequate, except the powdered eggs..........Ended up back there super late the next day because of a nightmare experience at our reserved hotel in marathon key. The front desk agent was very nice and apologized for our experience since we were not going to get one from the place we left. This room smelled like fruit and was nice and comfortable again. It was really the top of line service at 1am in the morning that gave me to give it the extra dot!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilbert, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We spent three nights here on our way back to Wisconsin from the Keys. We used this as our base as we visited the sites in the area. The price was very good thanks to a Hotelcoupon.com rate. The hotel was very clean, the breakfast was excellent, and the pool area was very spacious--a great place to relax after a day of exploring. The pool was very cool--maybe too cool for some. They also had free washers & dryers for guests to use. We would definitely stay here again. It is not a new facility but is a great value!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endicott, Ny
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Please explain why the industry has gone away from normal pillows to these oversized marshmallow type that are totally inadequate. They are not comfortable. Appearance seems to be more important than comfort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I had an afternoon flight into Ft. Lauderdale. We were headed for the lower keys. I decided that I did not want to drive all the way in one shot. Florida City looked like a good alternative for an overnight stay. I was either going to stay at the Best Western or the Travel lodge across the street. Since the Best Western was on our side of Route 1 as you head south that was our choice. The entrance off of Route 1 is tricky. You need to slow down when you see the sign, get in the right lane, and get your directional on lest you get rear ended by the cars behind you. You cannot see the hotel from the road as it is set back pretty far from the road. Check in was a little slow as there were people ahead of us and there was only one person working the desk. We got a room on the 2nd floor facing the pool. This is nicer than a room facing the parking lot in my opinion. It was nice to see that the pool was being used by the younger set. The room itself was perfectly adequate. For whatever reason the wifi signal did not reach our room. You needed to go to the lobby area to pick it up. The bed was comfortable and we got a good nights sleep. The breakfast in the morning was a good one. They had scrambled eggs and plenty of bacon. The lady taking care of the buffet works very hard. As soon as things need to be refreshed they were. We walked to the nearby seafood restaurant for dinner. Check out did take on the long side however. They do need to improve it.

Room Tip: rooms facing the pool give you a better view, but there may be an issue of more noise if children ha...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I am really impressed by the room in this hotel. It is large, has nice furniture with lots of storage, a large closet, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, complimentary soap and shampoo, alarm clock, telephone, concierge notebook listing activities, restaurants in the area, private bathroom with tub, and a sitting area with a couch AND a table with 2 chairs. Flatscreen tv with cable channels, free wifi and plenty of lighting. There is free parking in their private lot right in front of your room and some of the lot is shaded. The bed is comfortable and the quilt on the bed is white.....you can see that it is clean. No questionable stains hiding in a flowered quilt! The ONLY negative I have is that the floors are carpeted and the room had a funky odor, as if the carpet got wet at some point. I should have brought my can of Lysol and that would have taken care of it. All told, I am pleased with this hotel and would definitely recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: My husband and I stayed in room 125.....first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Six Mile, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had limited time here on the way to the Keys but enjoyed our stay. The courtyard pool area is lovely. Our room was large by any standards and very clean. The seafood restaurant around the corner was very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Address: 411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Florida City/Homestead, Florida, close to attractions such as the Everglades National Park, the Florida Keys, Miami Speedway, and Biscayne National Park. Best Western Gateway to the Keys’ guests will find friendly helpful staff, newly renovated accommodations and convenient access a variety of key area attractions. Located in Florida City, adjacent to Homestead this Southern Florida area hotel features well-appointed guest rooms, each equipped with Flat Screen LCD television, refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary hot breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, Free guest laundry, free boat and RV parking and meeting facilities. Guests staying at the Best Western Gateway to the Keys will find an array of shopping nearby at the Prime Outlet Shops, the Cutler Bay Shopping Mall and The Falls Shopping Mall. NASCAR® fans staying at the hotel will appreciate being 5 miles from the Homestead/Miami Motorsports Complex, home to a variety of racing events throughout the year. This Homestead area hotel is also located less than 10 miles from key area attractions such as the Everglades National Park, Biscayne National Park and the John Pennekamp Underwater Stone Park. Visitors our hotel will also enjoy a day of fun in the sun at the beautiful Florida Keys or at Miami Beach, just a short drive away. The friendly, helpful staff at the Best Western Park Gateway to the Keys is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Florida City, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway To The Keys Hotel Florida City
Best Western Florida City
Florida City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.