We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Florida City
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

It served our intention to visit the Everglades park, so the location for us was great. The service is good and the rooms are spacious and clean. The breakfast was ok.
The stay should be much better if you can use the pool as it is nice and inviting.
Virtually there is nothing nearby, some fast food restaurants and gas station.
The price was very convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    237
    100
    20
    15
See reviews for
176
272
21
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We are repeat visitors to this motel. It is at the right spot to visit the Keys, Homestead Fruit and Spice Park and the Everglades. We spent four days on our recent visit. The motel grounds and public areas are well kept. The room was clean, bright and comfortable. The room had wired internet which worked well and the lobby also has a wireless internet service. There was a small sink beside the microwave and refrigerator making meal preparation convenient. Breakfast is ready early and that is a must for us. The motel is well staffed at all times. We always get a room where we can have the convenience of parking outside our door. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Location is very convenient for visiting the Everglades and the Keys, and the price is very reasonable; also within short driving distance to restaurants and shops in the Florida City/Hempstead area. Hotel is clean and pool is well-maintained. Nothing special, but a good value for a convenient location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Family of 4 stayed here for 3 days while visiting the Everglades. I was very happy with the hotel and the value. Loved that there was a sink outside the bathroom; it was super convenient. The beds were extremely comfortable (was not too soft). It is located only 1 mile from Walmart and had many dining choices. Only downside is that the internet in the lobby, but we all had internet access on the phone so it did not matter. Also, breakfast is included!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pace, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Family stayed here for 3 nights while visiting the Everglades and Miami. Was very happy with the hotel and the value for the price we paid. Personally, I thought the beds were the most uncomfortable that I have ever slept on so I would choose not to stay here again but if you like a super hard bed you won't have a problem. Furniture was older but bedding was all updated and everything was very clean. Pool area was nice, unfortunately it was way to cold to swim when we were there. I felt safe even though the area did seem a little rough. There is just not much in Florida City, due to this we would probably not stay in this area again but I would suggest this hotel if you were staying in Floriday City. It is a great place for visiting the Everglades.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

After bailing out of an ill-fated stay at another local hotel, we found a welcoming oasis at this Best Western. The room was large, clean, comfortable, well-lit and reasonably priced. The bathroom was spacious, and the staff was helpful. Internet connection in the room was hard-wire only, which may or may not present a problem for you. WiFi availability was problematic during the duration of our Florida trip, which covered 9 hotels. One very nice bonus here was that there is a free-laundromat available. If we return to the area again we will stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Address: 411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Florida City/Homestead, Florida, close to attractions such as the Everglades National Park, the Florida Keys, Miami Speedway, and Biscayne National Park. Best Western Gateway to the Keys’ guests will find friendly helpful staff, newly renovated accommodations and convenient access a variety of key area attractions. Located in Florida City, adjacent to Homestead this Southern Florida area hotel features well-appointed guest rooms, each equipped with Flat Screen LCD television, refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary hot breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, Free guest laundry, free boat and RV parking and meeting facilities. Guests staying at the Best Western Gateway to the Keys will find an array of shopping nearby at the Prime Outlet Shops, the Cutler Bay Shopping Mall and The Falls Shopping Mall. NASCAR® fans staying at the hotel will appreciate being 5 miles from the Homestead/Miami Motorsports Complex, home to a variety of racing events throughout the year. This Homestead area hotel is also located less than 10 miles from key area attractions such as the Everglades National Park, Biscayne National Park and the John Pennekamp Underwater Stone Park. Visitors our hotel will also enjoy a day of fun in the sun at the beautiful Florida Keys or at Miami Beach, just a short drive away. The friendly, helpful staff at the Best Western Park Gateway to the Keys is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Florida City, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway To The Keys Hotel Florida City
Best Western Florida City
Florida City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.