We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent jumping off point for the Everglades” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Florida City
Olympia, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent jumping off point for the Everglades”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed 4 days in December. We were surprised at how low the price was for such a nice hotel. The hotel is beautifully kept, comfortable, and has very friendly staff. The breakfast is comprehensive and delicious. The rooms are great, and they allow you to fill out a card about how much cleaning you want each day--so that you can say just empty trash and refresh towels but don't bother to change sheets (if that's what you prefer) or you can get full service for the room. There is a lovely courtyard and pool area. Free washing machine and dryer!! I don't think there are any hotels closer to the Everglades. The hotel is also situated on a road that goes straight to the Florida Keys. Restaurant choices in Florida City/Homestead are somewhat limited. I would not recommend the seafood restaurant that is walking distance from the hotel. But there is a superb Mexican restaurant, Rosita's, just a few blocks away. Atmosphere funky, but food home cooked and delicious. We also ate at a Cuban restaurant in Homestead, Mario's, that was quite good.

Room Tip: We had a ground-floor room on the outside rather on the courtyard. It was quiet. I'm sure the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    237
    100
    20
    15
See reviews for
176
272
21
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Port Richey, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed at the Best Western Florida City in early December. This is one of the cleanest hotels
ive ever see. The Staff is very friendly. Breakfast in the morning was good and someone was
on duty in the dining room the whole time to keep up with things. This was the perfect location
for our day trips to the Keys one day and to South Beach the next. Also the pool deck was
kept up in very good condition, no broken chairs, tables etc and grounds were impeccable.

We'll be back again! Thanks

Room Tip: SIngle queen facing the pool includes a wet bar, fridge and micro
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, IN
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our tour of Forida while we spent the day out on the Florida Keys. A good location for doing so. Nice clean place, well maintained, very comfortable and clean. Nice breakfast included too. I would stay here again without question, and would recommend it to others. Staff was very helpful with our questions about getting about the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The FACTS: I did not extend my stay by one more day as I intended (forgot the morning of the last day before going out & about). I had a valid credit card on file at the front desk. The management said they where shocked at the conduct of their employees. The management compensated me less than $100 dollars for all my stolen goods. The management said this is all the owner (local) can do for me in this situation.

What HAPPENED: I came back to my room (late afternoon) on last day of my stay thinking about extending one more day, assuming I'll take a hit for late checkout, this hotel had vacancies. I swiped (I was able to get into my rm) my key & entered my rm only to find it COMPLETELY clean and vacated. Shocked, I thought I accidentally entered the wrong rm, but I didn't. Toiletries- GONE, suitcase & hung clothes- GONE, shoes-GONE. I walked to the front desk where the girls said I had checked out, I proved them wrong by replying I would have taken my luggage if I did! they knew it was in their storage rm but didn't know why. These girls at the desk just came on shift and quickly rebooked me. They called the manager who didnt (my opinion) seem like it was a big deal & said he'd handle it the next morning, oh, the anger that raged inside-but I kept a strait face. The next day I met the manager in a quick exchange who seemed apologetic but not concerned! and reimbursed less than $100 and said that was all the owner (local) can do. The manager said "I dont' know what to say, I can't explain it". In the end I lost all food in the mini fridge, had my shaving cream (really!), and (later realized) cologne- STOLEN, peaceful night sleep on a business trip- STOLEN. Careful folks, I called corporate and they responded well, this location's management did not. The girls behind the desk that evening did a good job reestablishing my reservation. Mgt has no control over product here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I chose the best western based on the reviews on trip advisor. Nothing seemed too good in the area so I had to choose between best western and the # 1 rated Travelodge. I was skepitcal about the travelodge and I'm glad that I chose best western over the travelodge. Two women came in while I was checking in and asked if they had availablity. BW said yes and the women asked if they could see a room. They seemed pretty desparate and then they said they just came from the travelodge and it was horrid and they had to find another place. I said "really, they are number 1 on trip advisor" the women seemed very unhappy and worried. So glad I didn't pick travelodge.

The best western room was clean and spacious. wish we had of gotten a room that overlooks the pool area though. As the view out our window nothing great. Sheets were hard and and starchy and bed a tad firm but all in all it was ok.

The area was a bit on rough side so I don't know that I would choose anything in this town again. Maybe cause it was rainy so that could add to the uneasiness but next time I may stay in Key Largo. but if I did stay in Fla City - would prob stay at the Best Western.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool area. better views and probably quieter. Heard traffic along rt 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My Husband and I went to the Ocean Reef Club for the day and needed someplace to stay before heading home the next day. The room was clean, it had a small fridge and microwave in it. Breakfast was so-so, cereal, coffee, scrambled eggs, mystery bacon, danish and bagels.
The pool area looked inviting and well kept. Our room was on the busy street side but was quiet enough not to disturb sleep although it is the east side so it's nice and bright in the morning!
If we ever need a room in Florida City we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Book a room looking at the pool which looks tranquil compared to the parking lot (unless you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Smart ,clean ,and helpful staff . Good value. Restaurants near by. Pool and hot tub in grounds hotel.smart functional rooms. Just pleasantly surprised! The one down side is that there is no safe in the room to use.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Address: 411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Florida City/Homestead, Florida, close to attractions such as the Everglades National Park, the Florida Keys, Miami Speedway, and Biscayne National Park. Best Western Gateway to the Keys’ guests will find friendly helpful staff, newly renovated accommodations and convenient access a variety of key area attractions. Located in Florida City, adjacent to Homestead this Southern Florida area hotel features well-appointed guest rooms, each equipped with Flat Screen LCD television, refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary hot breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, Free guest laundry, free boat and RV parking and meeting facilities. Guests staying at the Best Western Gateway to the Keys will find an array of shopping nearby at the Prime Outlet Shops, the Cutler Bay Shopping Mall and The Falls Shopping Mall. NASCAR® fans staying at the hotel will appreciate being 5 miles from the Homestead/Miami Motorsports Complex, home to a variety of racing events throughout the year. This Homestead area hotel is also located less than 10 miles from key area attractions such as the Everglades National Park, Biscayne National Park and the John Pennekamp Underwater Stone Park. Visitors our hotel will also enjoy a day of fun in the sun at the beautiful Florida Keys or at Miami Beach, just a short drive away. The friendly, helpful staff at the Best Western Park Gateway to the Keys is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Florida City, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway To The Keys Hotel Florida City
Best Western Florida City
Florida City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.