We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met Our Needs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Florida City
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Met Our Needs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My Husband and I went to the Ocean Reef Club for the day and needed someplace to stay before heading home the next day. The room was clean, it had a small fridge and microwave in it. Breakfast was so-so, cereal, coffee, scrambled eggs, mystery bacon, danish and bagels.
The pool area looked inviting and well kept. Our room was on the busy street side but was quiet enough not to disturb sleep although it is the east side so it's nice and bright in the morning!
If we ever need a room in Florida City we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Book a room looking at the pool which looks tranquil compared to the parking lot (unless you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    229
    98
    22
    15
See reviews for
161
267
21
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Smart ,clean ,and helpful staff . Good value. Restaurants near by. Pool and hot tub in grounds hotel.smart functional rooms. Just pleasantly surprised! The one down side is that there is no safe in the room to use.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in 2007 and thought it was ideally located for the Keys, Miami and Everglades National Park.
In November 2012 we stayed here for another couple of nights during our road trip and were not disappointed. In fact, it was better than before.
It is well located at the bottom of the Florida turnpike and the top of the Keys.
We made our reservation direct with Best Western and found a spacious double room on the second floor overlooking the pool as requested in our booking. We were pleased to see the motel had been re-furbished since our last stay. It was immaculately clean, offered free Wi-Fi and hot breakfasts. Wi-fi and hot breakfasts being new since we last stayed. Check in was quick and the motel provided us with a gratis safety deposit box in reception. The rooms were well equipped for all the travellers needs, fridge, kettle, coffee maker and gimme's . The bed was huge and very, very comfortable. The air con/heater was quiet and efficient. There is also an on site Laundry room.
There is ample parking close to and within sight of most rooms. It is patrolled throughout the day and night. It is close to numerous eateries and a large Wal-Mart. It is about 10 minutes to the Alligator Farm and air boat ride and the Everglades National Park. It is about 40 minutes to Key Largo and 2 hours plus to Key West.
The seafood restaurant at the end of the drive (2mins), known on TA as Captain's Restaurant and seafood market but signs outside call it Stone Crab or Captain’s table, was as good as we remembered it last time. We caught Maine lobster night for $15, which was a treat! We ate here both nights and it allowed us both a few drinks and a short walk to our room!
Extremely good value, clean and secure motel.
Highly recommended for the second time of asking!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here overnight on the way back from the keys before going to the everglades. Standard western, great value for money. Book online directly on the site bestwestern to find the best rate! The hotel's surroundings are nothing but that if you use it only for sleeping is a great way to save money. Breakfast ok.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Everything about this Best Western is excellent. Very clean, from the lobby to the rooms, and the parking lot. Good spot to see the Everglades NP and then drive drive down the Keys. 4 out of 5 stars ★★★★

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We tried to book this hotel a few months before we left for our Florida vacation but the rooms were very expensive at over USD 180 so we booked elsewhere. On our way back from the keys we called in to see if they had rooms and we managed to get in with a walk-in coupon for USD 79 so we cancelled the other booking. The hotel has been refurbished since our last stay in November 2011. The rooms are lovely and bright, clean with fluffy duvets, and the lighting was wonderful - not like so many dingy hotels where you can hardly see anything in the room!! There was a complimentary pack of popcorn and a bottle of water which was a nice touch. The breakfast was truly wonderful with crispy bacon and scrambled eggs. The pool area is lovely with ample sunbeds covered in a lovely thick comfortable pad and surrounded by palm trees. We will definitely be back if we are in this part of Florida again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We just came from Key west and need a place to stay before going to the Everglades I think this is a very good best western we loved the hot tub but the pool could be heated but still great had a full breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Address: 411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Florida City
#3 Business Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Florida City/Homestead, Florida, close to attractions such as the Everglades National Park, the Florida Keys, Miami Speedway, and Biscayne National Park. Best Western Gateway to the Keys’ guests will find friendly helpful staff, newly renovated accommodations and convenient access a variety of key area attractions. Located in Florida City, adjacent to Homestead this Southern Florida area hotel features well-appointed guest rooms, each equipped with Flat Screen LCD television, refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary hot breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, Free guest laundry, free boat and RV parking and meeting facilities. Guests staying at the Best Western Gateway to the Keys will find an array of shopping nearby at the Prime Outlet Shops, the Cutler Bay Shopping Mall and The Falls Shopping Mall. NASCAR® fans staying at the hotel will appreciate being 5 miles from the Homestead/Miami Motorsports Complex, home to a variety of racing events throughout the year. This Homestead area hotel is also located less than 10 miles from key area attractions such as the Everglades National Park, Biscayne National Park and the John Pennekamp Underwater Stone Park. Visitors our hotel will also enjoy a day of fun in the sun at the beautiful Florida Keys or at Miami Beach, just a short drive away. The friendly, helpful staff at the Best Western Park Gateway to the Keys is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Florida City, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway To The Keys Hotel Florida City
Best Western Florida City
Florida City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.