We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in Florida City.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Florida City
BCape
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good choice in Florida City.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We got this hotel last minute for 1 night while touring the Everglades. First off, Florida City is not the greatest, but it is a great jumping off point for some early morning Everglades excursions. This seemed to be one of the better hotels in the area. Several other hotels have barbed wire fences around them and while this one didn't I'm not sure if I should be glad it didn't or worried?

Check-in was kind of strange. The woman at the front desk told us that hotel.com had booked us in a handicapped room and asked if it was OK or if we wanted another room. When I asked if I could have another room, she said no there weren't any. Why did you ask then exactly?

Our room was first floor with an outside entrance. Bedding was nice and there was a nice flat screen in the room. We found our stay to be very quiet with no disruptions.

There are lots of food options in the area including a Krispy Kreme donut shop nearby for breakfast.

One big issue for us was that they did not have wireless internet in the room, only in the pool area. In the room you have to plug in and they provide directions for connecting in that way.

Overall a good place in this city. I felt safe and was happy to have a clean place to stay for the night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    232
    99
    20
    15
See reviews for
167
269
21
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BEDFORD
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed in the Best Western, after reading the Trip Advisor reviews. The service and rooms were very good, though after dark it's not very well lit and could do with an illuminated entrance and car park lighting. Breakfast is served behind the reception area and includes cooked eggs, bacon, sausage, if you don't fancy the cereals option. During our 2 stays, we had rooms on both the ground and 1st floors and both were equally acceptable, with coffee making facilities, fridge and microwaves. Not the cheapest accommodation in the area, but worth the extra. Florida City itself is nothing to get excited about, but it is convenient if you want to visit the Everglades National Park and the Everglades Alligator Farm. It's also a good stop off point if you are heading down to The Keys. Food is pretty much burger based, unless you seek out some of the restaurants away from US1. Azteca on Palm Drive was reasonably priced and offered a good range of Mexican, Cuban and American meals.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We wanted a hotel near the Everglades and booked two rooms through the Southwest Airlines website. This hotel eventually charged $35 each room more than the advertised price on Southwest, claiming a 13% tax (FL tax, county tax, whatever). We stayed at three other hotels in Florida during our Christmas vacation. All charged exactly the advertised price. Why do't they?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GATEWAYBW, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
I am sorry you had to experience that with the website you booked with. We have seen in the past that some online companies show rates far lower than our actual rates. We always recommend calling the hotel directly or visiting the franchise's website directly. This is the best way to one make sure that you are getting the latest discounted rates and special offers.

What you experienced was misleading by that company. We wouldn't do any of the sorts.

I hope to see you again, and this time please feel free to call me directly.

Thank you again,

Felix Camacho
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloha
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Six of us arrived here approximately 5:00 PM for 2 nights. I had reservations for 2 rooms made online 7 to 8 months in advance (1 King and 1 Queen). My son-in-law had made his own reservation on-line for 1 king. We were assigned rooms on the 2nd floor. We all asked if it would be possible to get rooms on the first floor as there were six of us with a lot of luggage and 1 person with a bad back, another with a bad hip. We were informed nothing was available. The next 2 mornings the parking lot was almost empty. I talked with the assistant manager the morning of our check-out and asked about the occupancy rate the last 2 nights. She informed me we should have been told "there were rooms available on the first floor for an additional charge of $4 or so more". We would gladly have paid this if it had been offered. She also informed me if back in area to check with her and she would try to make some adjustment for us. Yeah, right! How often do we get to Florida, City from Portland, Oregon?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GATEWAYBW, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
First of all thank you for the review. I reviewed the dates of your stay and did see that we were installing new beds and bathroom fixtures on the first floor. I know the hotel looked empty, but I assure you that we didn't have the readily available. I also spoke to my Assistant in reference to the $4 charge, she was trying to explain that there were some poolside rooms available, just a few, that would have been $4 or $5 more.

Needless to say i apologize for any misunderstadings, and hope to see you again when your in town.

Felix Camacho
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011 via mobile

Booked two rooms on short notice just before Christmas. Very clean, nice flat screen tvs, decent breakfast and good location for visiting area national parks. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here after a day in the Everglades and the hotel was great. Our room was really large with a comfy bed and a tv, fridge, mini kitchen etc. There was a nice pool and free wifi. Breakfast was good and included cereals, bagels and bacon/eggs etc. it was overly cheap but with a limited choice in the area this was a pleasantly nice find

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardiner, Montana
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

The room was a basic hotel room with a kitchenette. I asked for a quite room and it was not very quite. The bed was very uncomfortable and in the morning I told the manager and he said that, "oh yes, we know the beds need replacing but we do not know when they will be replaced". WOW, great response!!! I slept terrible!
I would not recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel for a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Address: 411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Florida City
#3 Business Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Florida City/Homestead, Florida, close to attractions such as the Everglades National Park, the Florida Keys, Miami Speedway, and Biscayne National Park. Best Western Gateway to the Keys’ guests will find friendly helpful staff, newly renovated accommodations and convenient access a variety of key area attractions. Located in Florida City, adjacent to Homestead this Southern Florida area hotel features well-appointed guest rooms, each equipped with Flat Screen LCD television, refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary hot breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, Free guest laundry, free boat and RV parking and meeting facilities. Guests staying at the Best Western Gateway to the Keys will find an array of shopping nearby at the Prime Outlet Shops, the Cutler Bay Shopping Mall and The Falls Shopping Mall. NASCAR® fans staying at the hotel will appreciate being 5 miles from the Homestead/Miami Motorsports Complex, home to a variety of racing events throughout the year. This Homestead area hotel is also located less than 10 miles from key area attractions such as the Everglades National Park, Biscayne National Park and the John Pennekamp Underwater Stone Park. Visitors our hotel will also enjoy a day of fun in the sun at the beautiful Florida Keys or at Miami Beach, just a short drive away. The friendly, helpful staff at the Best Western Park Gateway to the Keys is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Florida City, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway To The Keys Hotel Florida City
Best Western Florida City
Florida City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.