We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Convenient for a Day Trip to the Keys” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Dearborn, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Super Convenient for a Day Trip to the Keys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

If you are planning a day trip to Key West, this is a good place to stay. It's as close to the Keys as you can get and still be on the mainland. The drive to Key West took about 3 hours from here so you can easily make it there and back in one day and have several hours to see Key West.
Our room was very nice. We typically want an upper floor room, but had a 1st floor room due to no elevators. Center courtyard was very nice and the breakfast was excellent (cannot take food back to room) with eggs, french toast, bacon, and the usual assorted breads, cakes and cereal.
Overall a bit pricy, but cheaper than staying on the Keys.

Room Tip: Stay on ground floor unless you don't mind carrying your luggage up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    272
    109
    23
    16
See reviews for
204
298
25
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Found it on the GPS. Thougt it should be bether, because it look very good on the front side.. There was no elevator, thats a problem when the suitcase is heavy! We had a room in the pool-area, and I felt that we where looked at from all over the place. I did not feel safe there.. There was security driving around all night, but still.... And they had no restaurant... Missed that. But the room was ok, with a nice kitchen and nice bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed here for the second time the night before flying back to the UK from Miami after a two week vacation touring Florida. When trying to book in advance the best price was USD 139 which I felt was too expensive, so we did not book anything until we arrived and used a walk in coupon for 79 USD which was much more acceptable. The room was clean and spacious but we did not feel entirely secure as there were people hanging around the parking lot and we did not want to leave our suitcases in the room for long periods of time as it unnerved us a little. They may have been garden workers, but just kept staring at the rooms and did not do any work. The breakfast was very good - better than average, with bacon and scrambled eggs, and the pool area was lovely and tropical with palm trees. Would stay here again for the right price

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are more quiet and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Pleasantly surprised at how clean and spacious the room was. I left my comforter in a pile on the bed and housekeeping included it when they made the be (super nice touch). The renewed coffee after day one told me housekeeping was on their game. Nice, and very comfortable. Easy access from US1.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We choosed this hotel due to the price and the need to only stay one night after our 5 day trip in the Keys. It it the old motel style setup with direct parking and access to your room from the outside. Next time I will ask before booking if it is this style, because I prefer the newer inside access rooms. Overall, the room was ok.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Booked in here for 2 nights. Initially they gave us a room with 2 queens instead of one with a king. The manager said we could keep it if we were happy so we did. In retrospect we found out the king would have been poolside near the wifi which would have been more useful for us.
Very clean and nicely presented rooms with some wall art. Location good for seeing the Everglades.
We didn't get a chance to use the pool but we did make use of their free laundry facilities. Pay just a dollar for the soap and you can wash and dry for free.
Breakfast was very good for a motel and included bacon, scrambled eggs, sausage pattie and friench toast as well as all the normal offerings of a continental breakfast. The chocolate muffin was delicious. Breakfast finishes at 9.30 and they don't seem to replenish stocks after 9 so you may need to ask for break for toast. Coffee and biscuits available all day in the lobby where you can pick up wifi. We used the wires to connect our laptop in our room which was nore convenient for us.
A free packet of popcorn and bottle of water was put in the room each day, the first day a chocolate was also included but not the second.
We used a local restaurant which gave us discount as guests at BW.

Room Tip: poolside if you want to get wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stopped here on our way to the Keys which is oerfect because its really the last place on the mainland to stop. We had been here once before 3 years ago. It was good then so we stopped again. Very clean hotel. The desk clerks were very friendly and welcoming which was appreciated after a long day of travel. The free cookies hit the spot. We paid $70 not including tax for the room which included an above average awesome breakfast, great pool and hot tub. Very comfy bed and pillows. The grounds are well maintained and the room was very nice. We felt this was the best value in a hotel we got in a long time and rate this place very high. Not one tiny complaint. We could have stayed here all week but Key West was calling.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Address: 411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Florida City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florida City
#4 Family Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Florida City/Homestead, Florida, close to attractions such as the Everglades National Park, the Florida Keys, Miami Speedway, and Biscayne National Park. Best Western Gateway to the Keys’ guests will find friendly helpful staff, newly renovated accommodations and convenient access a variety of key area attractions. Located in Florida City, adjacent to Homestead this Southern Florida area hotel features well-appointed guest rooms, each equipped with Flat Screen LCD television, refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary hot breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, Free guest laundry, free boat and RV parking and meeting facilities. Guests staying at the Best Western Gateway to the Keys will find an array of shopping nearby at the Prime Outlet Shops, the Cutler Bay Shopping Mall and The Falls Shopping Mall. NASCAR® fans staying at the hotel will appreciate being 5 miles from the Homestead/Miami Motorsports Complex, home to a variety of racing events throughout the year. This Homestead area hotel is also located less than 10 miles from key area attractions such as the Everglades National Park, Biscayne National Park and the John Pennekamp Underwater Stone Park. Visitors our hotel will also enjoy a day of fun in the sun at the beautiful Florida Keys or at Miami Beach, just a short drive away. The friendly, helpful staff at the Best Western Park Gateway to the Keys is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Florida City, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway To The Keys Hotel Florida City
Best Western Florida City
Florida City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.