We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel in great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011 via mobile

This was a great hotel. Great staff with clean rooms. Lots of great touches. Bottle of water and snack left in room daily. Location was awesome, made our way to everglades national park, the keys, john pennecamp coral reef state park, and biscayne national park. Close eough that we went down to key largo and islamorada for dinner most nights. Definitely recommend this hotel as it was wondeful.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    273
    109
    23
    16
See reviews for
204
298
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hood river, oregon
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. They were totally full but the hotel was quiet and we slept well. The beds were comfy and the room very clean. The staff was very pleasant and helpful The breakfast crowded but well stocked. We ate on the patio by the pool and it was very pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

from the reservations assistant to the front desk clerk to the room and the departure and everything in between this hotel simply had it all. extra clean rooms super comfortalbe beds and safety and security all wrapped into one great night stay.

the price was right, hey if you want great rooms you,re gonna pay for it thats the bottom line although i thought this price was excellant. i would and will stay here every chance i get. five thumbs up. !!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon,SK Canada
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
576 helpful votes 576 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

I booked this place on short notice approaching the Presidents Day long weekend. I got gouged $110 for a room that was worth at most $75. Having said that it was a long week end in an area where there are not a surplus of rooms so they obviously charged what the market would bare.

The room was spotless. Its a two story motel, with a Mc Donalds across the street. It was well maintained. The room was spacious. Had a good TV and fridge and microwave. Internet was free but couldnt get the wireless to work. There was a hardwire connection that worked. There was a decent continental brakfast with a few hot items like microwave bacon and scrambled eggs. We got to the breakfast with 30 min left and it was picked over. The attendant noticed we were still looking to eat but didnt give 2 cents worth of care and never replenished anything. She just kept disassembling the buffet. The seating area was a good size with a nice patio with tables and shade to dine outside.

The heated pool was cool so we didnt use it. There was an out door hot tub.

The motel was cozy, clean with good beds and nothing more.I would stay here again if the price was better. I preferred it to the #1 rated travel lodge across the street as far as the rooms were concered, but staff and service were better at the TL.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

Accomodating, friendly staff, spacious and clean room, very pleasant pool and spa area, breakfast fine for a Best Western. It's a perfect location if you're going to the Everglades or Biscayne National Park. We especially appreciated that the pool area was open late so we could get back from a day of kayaking and soak in the hot tub. One day we decided to bag our planned beach swim and we just sat on the nice lounge chairs by the pool under the palm trees and banana trees instead!

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

We visited this hotel on a recent trip to the Everglades with family and friends. Check-in was quick. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Our pool side rooms were quiet and overlooked the pool/courtyard area which was a very pleasant oasis. The breakfast was good; scrambled eggs, sausage, French toast, boiled eggs, cereal, fruit, bagels and very good coffee. A great way to begin a long day in the Everglades. If you are looking for luxury this is not for you, if you are looking for a clean, safe, comfortable, great value, excellent location hotel book now.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Ann, MA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

We stayed here as we explored the Everglades and Keys. The staff was friendly, there is a restaurant within walking distance of the hotel and the grounds were well maintained. I liked the chocolate muffins available with breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys

Address: 411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Florida City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florida City
#4 Family Hotel in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Florida City/Homestead, Florida, close to attractions such as the Everglades National Park, the Florida Keys, Miami Speedway, and Biscayne National Park. Best Western Gateway to the Keys’ guests will find friendly helpful staff, newly renovated accommodations and convenient access a variety of key area attractions. Located in Florida City, adjacent to Homestead this Southern Florida area hotel features well-appointed guest rooms, each equipped with Flat Screen LCD television, refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary hot breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, Free guest laundry, free boat and RV parking and meeting facilities. Guests staying at the Best Western Gateway to the Keys will find an array of shopping nearby at the Prime Outlet Shops, the Cutler Bay Shopping Mall and The Falls Shopping Mall. NASCAR® fans staying at the hotel will appreciate being 5 miles from the Homestead/Miami Motorsports Complex, home to a variety of racing events throughout the year. This Homestead area hotel is also located less than 10 miles from key area attractions such as the Everglades National Park, Biscayne National Park and the John Pennekamp Underwater Stone Park. Visitors our hotel will also enjoy a day of fun in the sun at the beautiful Florida Keys or at Miami Beach, just a short drive away. The friendly, helpful staff at the Best Western Park Gateway to the Keys is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Florida City, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway To The Keys Hotel Florida City
Best Western Florida City
Florida City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.