We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big old Florida Bug” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   553 NE First Ave., Florida City, FL 33034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Florida City
Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Big old Florida Bug”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Ok, The Bug was one of the big roaches found in the south. It may have just got in. But I didn't like it running under my bed and got it with my hairspay....
But the coffee pot had not been cleaned after it was used. Everyone can miss something once in a while when cleaning a room. Might deserve the next middle rating??

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    17
    18
    10
    10
See reviews for
19
24
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lakelamd, FL
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The rate was high, but the bed was so comfy! I felt swindled but I promise the bed made up for it. the Shoney's was close by, the Wal-Mart was close by, and the highway was close by too. Good enough for a weekend! OOh and the room was on the inside so I felt safe not like some random person could come knock on my door and kill me especially because I was travelling solo, and there was a nice window so I could see my car and that made me happy too. I just wish the room wasn't so expensive it's really worth about 89.99 a night vs the 120.00 I paid. But again THE BED WAS SPECTACULAR I ACTUALLY OVER SLEPT IT WAS SO COMFY.

Room Tip: the room was clean and comfy and I felt totally SAFE because the room was inside the building and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
458 reviews 458 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Rooms were clean. Night manager was very helpful. Kind of interesting trying to get into the entrance from the north, especially at night. We didn't use the pool, but it looked inviting.

We got our money's worth.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I got what I expected for $62.99. It was clean, and great for a 1 night stay. We didn't use the pool, but it looked pretty good as well. The breakfast didn't look that great, but we were kind of late. It was a typical, cheap, continental breakfast. There are a ton of restaurant options in the area. There is also an outlet mall nearby with Nike, Coach, and more. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I went to this hotel for mother's day, I went inside to check in with my dad and Patel the general manager was at the counter, he ask me for a credit card, I told him that I was going to pay cash. I work for the same hotel chain and he told me that if I was sure that I work for the chains hotel and if that was the case I didn't know what I was doing, he told me that I was cheap and if I was not happy staying there, he will refund my money, I didn't want it argue with him, I asked him and how there suites are, he replied better than your money, my dad and I didn't want it stay there after the way I was treated, after couple of minutes I returned to the front desk and I told him that I was to take his word for it and I want it my money back, he said to bad you ain't get in it. One's again I didn't want it argue with him I left the room keys on top of the counter and walked out, thinking if I called the company that I work with, I'll get my money back, they called the hotel directly and Patel lied to them saying that I was not get in my money back because I tried to check in with more people that was originally in the reservation

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankford, DE
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Clean, nice facilities, comfortable, great breakfast, great location, great staff!! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: We stayed in the very back row, which was the quietest, and they had picnic tables right outside so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This is acceptable hotel - clean, renovated, nice staff. Location is fine - there are Walmart and Premium Outlets next to the hotel. The only inconvinience is the breakfast time -till 9 am, definitely too early, and the price could be lower.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Also Known As:
Econo Hotel
Econo Hotel Florida City
Econolodge Florida City
Econo Lodge Florida City
Florida City Econo Lodge
Address: 553 NE First Ave., Florida City, FL 33034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Florida City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.